Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

rm

by Eskoala - Compo Entry

This is a game about being a synthetic life form who is suddenly attacked with An Unconventional Weapon.

It's written in Inform. Source and .gblorb provided. By far the easiest way to play is to use the web interface enabled by iplayif.com's install of Parchment. See "Web". You can do that in an iFrame right here on the page!

If you really want to play another way - http://inform7.com/if/interpreters/ has a massive list.

I'm opting out of Graphics and Sound!

The snapper is not a fish! It is a silly name. Look at the snapper and it will tell you what it is. This is the future, stupid names are in fashion.

Useful commands include "look", "get", "n" "s" "e" "w" for compass directions, "go through", "say", "z" for wait a turn, and for other things read the descriptions of the objects for a clue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#662Mood2.80
#705Humor2.43
#837Overall2.86
#905Theme2.81
#931Innovation2.50
#969Fun2.44

Comments

tompudding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Struggling to find the right verbs to interact with things felt strangely appropriate for this game :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Pretty good. I feel like some people won't have the patience for a text based game, but I think those that do will find it rewarding. Much less frustrating than Zork.

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Sorry, text adventures arent really my thing. What I can say is the level of detail you put into the room is immense. I had a hard time finding verbs as well.

Dagatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

I like text adventures, and sure am happy to see people still like making such games. Kudos for you!

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Same with the words but I really enjoyed the story and text-based game. Nice work.

Eskoala says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:38am

Thanks for the comments so far, it is quite clear what the first improvement should be, but your words are encouraging nevertheless!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17am

Out-there text adventure with good detail. It may have been better to lay the rooms out a little more over multiple areas rather than fit everything in. Good to see the usual vocabulary of commands (especially inv) are supported.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:30am

my legs don't work anymore.. I want to crawl west.. but it doesn't understand. At that point, I give up.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:51am

It's as frustrating as it was in the old days. It is just like the real thing. I got as far as the bank, had nothing in my inventory, and suddenly realized that unlike the old days, I couldn't go asking my mates for advice.

The writing is very good. I just wish I could have progressed further.

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

Maybe adding some images to the text would be a great idea !

reheated says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

Excellent writing! I liked the world you created and the story. I like how the synths are people just like you or me but sexless... calling someone "it" seems so alien. I also struggled with the right verbs but I got through it - I know there is a subtle hint for the final action but maybe it could have been repeated in the object description? I don't know, maybe that then makes it too easy.

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:59am

Loved the writing, as well as the setting. Nice to see that text adventures haven't died completely out yet :-)

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

It seems well written, but like others said, can't seem to use the right verbs, and it's not a kind of game I enjoy.

rburema says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:12pm

thoughts:
- The mood is excelent, the writing seems (almost?) profesional. As far as I can tell anyway, since English is not my first language.
- I, too, had the 'guess-the-verb' thing going on, but I've played only very, very few traditional text adventures where that wasn't the case.
[SPOILER: The only way I got the tramp to carry me was by remembering that often, transit in text-adventures is handled 'underwater' as vehicles ... so I fed the command 'enter tramp' into the parser. That worked.]
- It reminds me both of '9:05' (a very short game by Adam Cadre) on one side, but also of some short-form SF I read recently.
- [possible SPOILER:] In one playthrough I had the description of the 'snapper' say that the message from my friend was still present, despite having pressed X.

acro says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Nice to see an old style text adventure. I had difficulty thinking of usable verbs but pretty cool overall.

pixzleone says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Cool to see a text based game! Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]