Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

It started with the rain

by Rother Games - Compo Entry



I want to tell you a Story...
A story about the things we did wrong...
A story about the moments, which changed us forever...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#337Mood3.19
#406Audio2.97
#580Fun3.00
#651Humor2.54
#700Graphics2.82
#763Overall2.94
#823Innovation2.70
#950Theme2.70

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

Game is crashing for me :(

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21am

Please notice that your game does not fit in a 1280*1024 screen, as the storage house, and the hoffice with green stuff does not display (but the mouse can go under.

It misses some goal, I've stopped after reaching 100.000 dollz.

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Well it Looks interesting - couldn't get it to run though. Crashes Twice upon launch. Not quite sure how it even does that, but yeah.

Juin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I felt really overwhelmed when the game first started you had like 10 things to build and no idea what any of them really do, some form of tutorial introducing things one by one would've been nice. And also there was no clear goal (maybe there is none) i was just getting more and more money but not really knowing why.

Zayron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

This was fun. It took a bit of time to understand everything but after that the money was pouring in!

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I can't run this game. The screenshots look appealing, but I can not score an unrunnable game.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Just keeps crashing. Win 7 64 bit.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Was pretty fun. I got into chapter 4 and was expanding like crazy when the game crashed. I would like to have seen the end.

dallonf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Crashing for me immediately on starting the first level, Windows 8 64 bit.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:41pm

I was really looking forward to something more in a strategic direction, but sadly as soon as I start to move the camera the mouse becomes unusable (can't really move it, it just shakes a little).

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Sorry, forgot to add: Windows 8.1 64-bit, in case that helps you pin it down.

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I really enjoyed this game and can see its potential. My notes as I played were:

- Took me far too long to realise that I needed to buy new beds to be able to hire more workers. I thought that 'quarters' was referring to a quarter of a year and that I had to wait.
- Since there's no way to tell how many workers can work in a lab, or how utilized that lab is, I just had to guess and buy a bunch of labs just in case.
- I'm not sure if there actually is an end goal, since there was no number specified, but I definitely got to the point that my numbers were skyrocketing.
- The one thing this game is missing to me is conflict. There's nothing to drive you to the goal other than the goal itself. It would be nice if there were some kind of measure of progress against an AI or something. This could be faked of course, but it would add some tension and it could be a race to get off the planet first.
- I liked seeing the uranium barrels fill up. Nice touch.

rburema says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Wouldn't start (Win7 64-bit), on top of that, BitDefender detected the .exe as 'infected' (just after I tried a compatibility profile). It might be fine, but i'd rather not take the risk, sorry :-/

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:20am

Didn't seem to be much strategy to it, but it all worked when you figured out the rules.
Reminds me of this entry from LD29: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=5862

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Nice touch on the intro and the story. I loved the sayings - the one from Albert Einstein. The music is very playful too.

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

Win 8.1 x64, 8GB ram, crash.

Exolun says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:57am

Worked fine for me. I enjoyed it, though wasn't sure if I got to the end (assume not). Nice atmosphere with the text, quotes, and soundtrack.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:18am

Nice game. The goal of each mission should be always visible, not only during the story text.

oakus says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:50am

Good game, I got stuck on it trying to make most money so it is definitelly catchy. It would be nice though if I could see the status of the worker, where and why is he going there and also status of the facilities as I wasn't sure if there is some time needed for usage. Just some UX stuff, the core design is good and fun! :)

RARoadkill says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Took me a minute to get the hang of it. but I really enjoyed it. I had issues with the mouse not wanting to move. which made things kind of annoying. but other than that no issues

randoman says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Don't see much of this genre around here. I think it lacks a more detailed tutorial but overall is a very nice game. After a while I got hang of things and started understanding what exactly I hd to do. Good entry!

xandy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Game crashes immediately after a black screen. Windows 7 64bit

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]