Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Selfie Stick Heroine

by lintfordpickle - Compo Entry

Help!
While our heroine was on holiday taking photos with her selfie stick, aliens have attacked!

Controls:
TAB to insert coins for continues
Arrows to move
Space to attack

== entry ==
I used Java and LWJGL3/GLFW.

As previously, I wanted to take this opportunity with LD to see if I could implement a game from scratch with LWJGL, including the supporting classes needed for openGL (as I don't usually get to play with texture loading etc). To that end, I spent a good amount of time on the first day writing the supporting classes and utilities to get the basics of rendering and a mini game framework, and by the end of the day I could render the levels and characters.
The second day was spent working more on the game content and actual playable stuff.


The first thing which came to mind for 'An unconventional weapon' were the old Japanese arcade games which used parasols and rainbows to attack, and so I decided to try and emulate that. I tried for a Japanese style of bright colors and cute graphics, reminiscent of Bubble Bobble and RodLand.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#422Humor2.96
#537Graphics3.08
#664Fun2.93
#672Mood2.78
#912Overall2.75
#955Theme2.68
#1035Innovation2.21

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Props on including an exe for us lazy non-java-updators.
My biggest issue with the game is the lack of theming. The weapon is a selfie stick, the enemies are aliens, and you're picking up fruit. I realize you're going for a retro arcade aesthetic, but it's not appealing to me. It'd be nice to at least have the collectibles be smartphones or photographs, and the enemies grumpy anti-selfie people, or something along those lines.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

I disagree from amras. For me it looks intentional the non-related things, because it WAS like this the old arcades.
Crazy names, themes and enemies and get fruits, always the fruits...
The idea of the "selfie stick" as a weapon was very smart in my opinion, made the game more funny.
Good job guys! :)

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

Guy* forgot that was comp xD'

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58am

Impressive for the amount of time spent.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41am

This is cute little game.. I liked the simple graphics which were also something which I aimed for. :)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

I liked that it emulated a rarely emulated type of game, and the cheery pro-selfie atmosphere.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Sorry, not related to the gameplay itself, but the Japanese characters make no sense. :( And the second Japanese character after ma doesn't exist.

I can't run all 3 versions of the game. I'm on Windows 8.1 pro.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Fun and has cute graphics, nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:05pm

@ranmaru90, I'd be very surprised if the Japanese did make sense :) I took two random characters(words?) in the hope it wouldn't make sense so I don't offend anyone ..

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:42am

LOL. Try ☆ニャー~! Btw, selfie is 自分撮り(ji bun do ri) in Japanese.

I still can't run the game, both the x64 and x86 JAR and the exe. Nothing happens when I double clicked on them.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:31am

@ranmaru90, thanks for the translation :)
About the program, the only thing I can think to suggest is to check your Java version. The game will need 1.7 or higher.
You can check from the command prompt (cmd.exe) by typing : Java -version
If the command doesn't work, then you'll likely need to install a JRE.

Kazura says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:28am

I can't play it, there's a crash after I start a game. Otherwise it seems to be fun to play !

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:41pm

@Kazura, Hi, thanks for giving it a try.
If you tried one of the jars, did it leave a crash message?

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I managed a double KO :-) Fun little game. Liked the arcade style start screen. Clean crisp graphics. A little hard to time the attacks but that was some of the appeal.

duck says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:17am

I had the same problem as ranmaru. Tried the exe and both jars, none of them would run. Windows 7, Java 1.8

Shame, it looks pretty good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]