Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Savior

by CarlsonAndPeeters - Compo Entry

Savior: On the Advantages of Unconventional Weaponry in Combating the Zombie Apocalypse

A cure for the Zombie Virus has been found, but Zombies still roam. Worse, they've infested the lab where the cure is being made! Find the serum and save everyone inside. The Zombies aren't your enemies, they're your friends! Kind of...I mean they'll try to eat you, but they'll feel bad about it.

A stealth/platformer/puzzle game. Short, sweet, and somewhat silly. There's a twist at the end, so try to make it all the way through!

--Controls--
Movement: Arrow Keys or A/D
Jump: Z or J
Use Syringe: X or K (must sneak up on Zombies from behind)
Hide / Go through Doors : SPACE
Restart Level: R
Mute: M

---------------------------------------

Thank you for all of the wonderful feedback! I've put together a quick post-compo revision to the physics that should make things feel a bit less slippery. Let me know what you think!

I also made a walkthrough video, which you can watch here if you so desire: https://youtu.be/njBUSi3lLH0

---------------------------------------

This has been my third Ludum Dare, and my second time finishing. I'm pretty happy with the result! Please leave any feedback you might have, and if you find any bugs, let me know and I will tackle them as soon as possible.

Linux/Mac builds have not been tested since I only have Windows. Let me know if there are issues. Best enjoyed in 1080 through download links.

Engine: Unity
Code: C#
Art: Adobe Flash CC
Background Music: FakeMusicGenerator and Audacity
Sound Effects: bfxr

Bugs/Fixes: Made a minor change post-compo to fix a bug at the end of the game and to add an additional tutorial message to clear up gameplay rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Humor3.90
#126Mood3.59
#144Overall3.68
#172Fun3.60
#237Audio3.26
#249Graphics3.62
#363Theme3.57
#616Innovation3.02

Comments

ambi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

The third stage where you have to stab the zombie coming your way, after hiding in the cabinet proved a bit too difficult for me. Nice game!

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice work, graphics are simple but get the job done, and I liked to turn zombies back to normal for once. Keep it up!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Lovely art style, looks very pleasing and funny, also the silent movie soundtrack adds to the charm. Personally, I found the controls (as usual) a little unconventional, I'd be happier with Space = Jump, up = hide, ctrl = use cure, but again that's my usual inability to go with something out of the ordinary I guess.
The jumping physics felt a little mushy to me, like moon gravity with icy platforms. Also, the room with the SOS/BBQ (hah!) people was too hard for me, the zombie always got me, despite me having the cure pointed at it. The sound effects clash a little with the silent-movie atmosphere, it would have been fun, if they were also piano-notes or something.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Fun little platformer; controls felt a little floaty but not necessarily in a bad way. Thanks for the game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:50pm

You have to hit the zombies from behind in order to heal them. Sorry if that was unclear. I might add an additional tutorial message to the game if that's confusing to people.

babilounet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31pm

One of the best I tested till here? everything is good, congrats !

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48am

@CarlsonAndPeeters: Aaaahhh! Mind blow! That explains it :)

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37am

Nice platformer, never knew about FakeMusicGenerator :D The control scheme is a little weird to me, I would expect space to jump.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37am

"not research, just cute" <- best line of LD32 :)

alangamebot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

Neat little game. I like the cute graphics and music. The slide platforming bummed me out a bit.

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46am

Great game, loved the graphics. Controls a little more floaty than I like, but I laughed all the way to the end.

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12am

::gross sobbing:: so sad! My only complaint would be that the controls make me feel like my character weights 600 pounds and is covered in butter. I'm impressed with the number of levels, and the humor is. . . humorous. Good job!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34pm

The player needs more friction! It's like I'm on ice! I really like the art style though, and it fits the theme as well.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Could benefit from tighter controls, but a nice game overall.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Like the style, interesting game. Could use some more puzzles that require thinking outside the box - maybe they come later didn't play that many levels!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Loved this. Fun game, nice stealth, great art, music wasn't overpowering, and nice to see a game where you have to cure zombies instead of blasting them to bits.

morazor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Tons of style, good game design and humor. Really a good job :D

Yvanor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Wow cool and funny game, great job ! :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Nice game, I really like the simplicity of the art. The jumping felt good but when you landed it carried some momentum from before the jump so it felt very slippery to control. Other than that, well done!

Hammers says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Really like you art style. Could have maybe done with the hint that you can only cure them from behind a few screens earlier! But overall it's a nice idea :)

laxeot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I really like this one! I thought the flash graphics were a nice touch.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Movement needs to be way tighter. Sliding across floors is not fun unless it's an ice-skating game xD
Aside from that, sfx were great, music was ok, graphics were very, very good. Concept is pretty cool as well and it makes good use of the theme. Good luck!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Art is really good on this one.Well made animations and overall game.The main character is very adorable!Very good level design.Congratulations!

steboots says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I felt like a twinkie Zoro sliding with a needle.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Great job! I really like the handmade-style graphics. The control scheme seemed weird to me, but I enjoyed playing it. The physics seemed a little floaty to, but it helps with the feel of the game. Also, it may not be intentional, but the fact that you can stab zombies while hiding in a cabinet really helps. ;)

lunkhound says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:58am

Very nice! Was entertained until the end.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Great humor. Quite fun to play. Controls are very sluggish and not responsive but it didn't stop me playing it till the end. Awesome ending by the way :)

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I like the concept, actually curing the zombies. The ending was great too. The controls were a little slippery, but manageable. Fun game, nicely done :)

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:09am

Awesome job, guys!
Really enjoyed the levels, simple but well–thought–out. They were not only "run to end while stabbing everything".
The humor was also a strong point. I really dislike the sound effects :(
Great entry!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:04am

Do not write a comment here <=== Okay ;)

Had a good fun playing it. The jumping sound effect gets irritating after a while, but that's OK. Long enough to keep entertained, well done!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06am

Oh, another comment: the Linux binary DO work on Linux :). Thanks for looking after us Linux users :D.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:50am

Awesome job! Loved the graphics and the music! The game is fun, a bit frustrating though because (like many here) of the physics (slippery movement and kept hitting the platforms sideways) and the unusual control scheme. Nevertheless great game and ending! xp

Blobo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:17pm

amazing game! loved the twist ending!

HeXoT says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:24pm

good game but i hate the character seems to be walk on ice

strong99 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Nice game! I like how the main character moves around and jumps, nicely done!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Great work, I liked the graphics and music but the movement is like walking on ice
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very well made and enjoyable to play through! The art style was very nice and the funny, blood scrawled messages alone could keep you playing till the end.

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Great game! Shame about the ending ;_;

grillaface says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Great!!! Excellent level design, music, and mood. I might have put the "can only stab in back" advisory with the first enemy but thats a minor gripe. Physics too floaty, sure. But I love how there are multiple ways to defeat many levels and the overall mechanic feels awesome. Reminds me of "Elevator Action". Great ending, well done!!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:46pm

A bit too floaty for a platformer, but lovely feel and art.

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:25am

A very enjoyable game! I loved the wall text!

The puzzle where you had to ignore the first zombie in order to cure both, was a nice twist on the level design from the other levels.

The controls felt a bit imprecise.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Thank you for all of the wonderful feedback! I've put together a quick post-compo revision to the physics that should make things feel a bit less slippery. If you feel like revisiting it, let me know what you think!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Pretty good, and nice use of humor! Honestly though the gameplay kind of gets boring quickly. More variety would be nice.

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:15am

Awesome game! Funny, simple, and good use of the theme. The gradual lesson of the controls was much appreciated. Only hang up is slippery controls after jumping.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:45am

Neat idea and lots of levels. Cute graphics with all the pickle zombie scientists.

Sound balance note, the jump sound effect is super loud compared to the (cool!) music.

Landing seems to have a delay before you can use a syringe, which can lead to some frustrating deaths. Just think of all the sweet, radical airborne jumping syringe stabs you could pull off!

I don't like the ending. :(

Crowbeak says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:50am

:D I'm generally not a fan of zombie things, but I appreciate this take on them. Unconventional, indeed.

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:36am

Despite not being a stealth, I really appreciated the puzzle elements you've put into the game that really distinguishes it from other stealth games. It was neat to see that certain zombies has to be taken over in a very specific order. Cool stuff!

I also like Scott Pilgrim and Beyond Good & Evil, too!

May 9, 2015 @ 6:07am

One of the best so far. Great idea!

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:31am

Thank goodness that I played until the end! What a plot twist!
At first I got some trouble with the physics and the controls, space to open doors? Really? But then I got used.
I also loved the graphite on the walls, they are very silly, but that's what makes them so enjoyble! xD
Good level design! It was very pleasant to play! :)

k0j0 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:49am

Very well done! I like how you have to acquire weapons in a level before you can use them. I also like sliding to use the syringes. That ending though....dude

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]