Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Improv Corp

by jdselsor - Jam Entry

<b>THIS GAME DID NOT RUN A LAUNCH DON'T SCORE PLEASE LEAVE COMMENT SAYING WHAT IT WOULD SCORE SORRY ABOUT THAT THANK YOU FOR YOUR FEED BACK.</b>

You play Chet a hipster working for the Improv Corp and the headquarters AI malfunction and he has to get out. There is one problem he has no way to fight the evil puffins with exception of his phone's app that fires a laser beam but that take up 1/5th of his battery. There are cute puffins that he can throw at the evil ones that will make them both fade out existence for a little bit. Chet must make it to the top of the Improv Corp HQ to escape.

This is one of the hardest things my team and I have worked on and we did not finish it to the extent we wanted but I proud of the effort that we put in on it and I plan on continuing it and add the things we wanted to add but ran out of time. Thank you for playing and Press 'I' to use your phones app and 'U' to throw cute puffins. I think that this was a good first Ludum Dare entry. We ask that you rate this project as honestly as you can please do not hold anything back. We want to find out ways to improve this game and better our skills.

This game need Java 1.7 to play. It was made with the LWJGL and Slick2d. The music is by Alexandr Zhelanov, https://soundcloud.com/alexandr-zhelanov found on opengameart.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#511Audio(Jam)2.77
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#577Graphics(Jam)3.17
#640Humor(Jam)2.60
#661Theme(Jam)3.15
#722Mood(Jam)2.76
#725Innovation(Jam)2.73
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

dopplerdefekt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30am

I can't run the game! =(

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: res/backgrounds/titlemenuspritesheet.png

Running Java 1.8 on Windows 10 Build 10041.

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57am

It's the same for me, can't launch the game.
It's seems like you named your images with capitals in their names but you're calling them without capitals in your code.

I hope you'll fix it, because every game deserves to be played.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:26am

It closes when I open it :(

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:32pm

I am going to work on a fix today sorry about that.

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

I fixed it sorry I really hope it works. Sorry about.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Runs for me! Nice theme.

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Works for me too! The monsters are really fast though, which makes it hard to play sometimes. Also the character doesnt properly "stick" to the moving platforms, which is frustrating sometimes. I also figured out that jumping and running away are very effective :) perhaps this was not intended. Overall good job, feels very close to finished. Bloody hipsters.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Make a linux jar man!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I was able to run the game. Fun little platformer while it lasted. I was killed by an enemy three times before it closed on me. Also was tricked by the glowing tiles that fall down once you stepped on it, was pretty neat.

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Not bad man! These Jams are hard, doing all this by yourself is impressive. I get the whole thing with bugs. It happens, don't sweat it!

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:57am

This game is pretty good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]