Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sevastopol

by GravityScore - Compo Entry

Sevastopol is a top down action game. You must fight for survival, escaping the doomed space station.

The idea is a mix between Hotline Miami and the original Alien series (hence the name), featuring film-noir, Blade Runner-esque CRT monitor style art.

Controls are fairly simple:

* WASD to move
* Click to kill
* Mouse to aim
* Hold shift to look around

I really enjoyed making this! First game I've actually finished in an unreasonably long time. I'd love to know what you think, and thanks for playing it!

You might notice a few collision detection bugs, especially with the AI. The code is absolutely awful. I'm nervous about making it public because it's so damn awful. I didn't go about 5 minutes without copy and paste.

The game was written with [Love2D](https://love2d.org/) (using Lua). The source is on [GitHub](https://github.com/GravityScore/Sevastopol).

P.S. It'd be great if someone could tell me if the Windows version works. I unfortunately don't have a machine to test on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#39Mood3.95
#295Audio3.18
#348Graphics3.40
#504Overall3.22
#664Fun2.93
#842Humor2.12
#948Innovation2.46
#1024Theme2.49

Comments

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

Great Mood, reminded me of teleglitch a lot. The game is simultaneously both too hard and too easy though - it's like super easy thoughtless until I barely mess up and then have to do the whole level over.

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

Great game, love the mood and feel. You can get past almost everything by just spamming the attack, and at some points even knife enemies through walls. (Windows version works :P)

Smiley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17am

I loved the spooky sound and the shader effect :)

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24am

Fantastic atmosphere! I really like the restrained, minimalist approach to your design choices. One thing I personally felt was slightly awkward was the motion control. I feel that it may have been better to map the motions to respond to the direction that the character is facing, as opposed to the 4 compass directions. Kudos.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

Incredible mood. The game play was strange though. I often felt that the only reason I died was because I could not click fast enough. The story was very provocative. It was a nice mix of mystery content to gameplay content.

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:35am

Amazing mood / athmosphere. Love it ! As said in description, it's a little bit buggy with the collision detection, but nice game anyway.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38am

I dig it. Cool look and feel. Quite challenging game play

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

I love the mood in this. Audio just works.

OadT says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

Great mood! Audio and Graphics fits perfect together (I really like this soft screen shaking)
Multiple lifes would be pleasant, but it already makes fun (windows version works)

okacat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

Really liked it, great atmosphere. The controls have the same precise quality as in Hotline Miami. The glitchy screen shader fit so well too.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03am

Good game. Invaded ship mood is perfectly transferred.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Nice Entry. I really like the mood, though the gameplay lacks a bit in depth.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41am

Cool atmosphere. It does indeed remind me of teleglitch! The mood is really dark. Good job!

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58am

I really like the mood of this game ! Well Done ;)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice game, the topdown view and fast pace gameplay reminds me of Hot Line Miami! I also like the way the story is told, nice try!

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57am

Very nice mood.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

The sound and the filter set up the atmosphere nicely. I also liked that you had a bit of a story to go beside the game. I died a lot because I couldn't click fast enough, which was strange, but I guess that was why I died a lot in Hotline Miami, too.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Cool, awesome mood. Audio is also really good and fits perfectly the game.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Nice fun little game, loved the graphics, and the simple feel made it even better. You've managed to find the balance between perfect gameplay and simple graphics.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I was looking forward to playing this but got errors trying to unzip?

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Oh, by the way I was downloading the windows version

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

....aaaaanyway please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Azlen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Great! the mood is amazing

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice entry. Love the asthetic and the idea :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Very cool level design and text! How did you get the love2d camera to work? I couldn't figure it out for my game. Cool still!

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I liked the tone of the game, the graphics with the audio matched really well. Felt a lot like Hotline Miami, which is what you were going for so good on you!

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Very moody, and I agree, it's both easy and hard. Easy to die and easy to kill. Great feel to it though.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

The art is pretty sweet. There needs to be a bit more balancing, but great start!

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Nice work, felt a little bit too simple at times, but I liked the story.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Haha you weren't kidding about the collision bugs.

I discovered halfway through that you can attack through walls, which became my goto strategy. Might want to fix that in the next version.

Anyway, loved the game, loved the tension, didn't really understand the story but whatevs. :)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Minimalist visuals with just enough of everything needed to create a fantastic mood. The game play was simple and the timing for the attack got a bit to get used to. The difficulty dropped somewhat when I realised I could attack through the walls.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Very nice game! I really like the audio. It distorted my friends voice over TeamSpeak, which was very cool. :)
As you said, there are a few glitches and the AI doesn't see you if you stand in the door, but nevertheless it is a great minimalistic game with a massive atmosphere. I'm not sure if a pen knife is really that unconventional, but it's great anyway.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:26am

Honestly a really solid entry! Simple and fun!

Concentrate on cleaning up the controls (e.g. allow fast forward of cut-scenes, click instead of return, etc)

Also a tip: don't set to full screen unless you're going to test if the res is available. It messes up my X11 on linux, and I had to disable it in the conf :)

Loved the shader, well done!

May 11, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Really neat feel to the game! I enjoyed it. I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/eqkTJc6zIls

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]