Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Properante Ludum

by sliphtrex - Compo Entry

This is my first attempt at a game like this. I honestly thought I wouldn't make it in time. I was actually trying to create a sort of hidden meaning game similar to games like Binding of Isaac or Five Nights At Freddy's. I wanted to have a story that really made the players think about what was going on. I've been working on the concept since last Saturday and while I'm sure the game play itself could have been a bit better, for a first attempt, I think it came out pretty decent. I hope some people can figure it out.
I had to do this all using Scratch because I decided to download a new version of Unity in the middle of the compo and it all went to hell from there. That being said, I think this game still turned out being one of my better submissions to Ludum Dare (despite not having sound) and I can't wait to remake this game in Unity once I get the chance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1027Mood1.80
#1059Graphics1.90
#1099Innovation1.71
#1115Theme1.70
#1116Fun1.70
#1133Overall2.05
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02am

(!!!) you can't use art assets that you didn't create if you're submitting for the compo, so that background image you used isn't allowed!

Aside from that, the game seemed okay. It's playable (a bit laggy), and you can shoot and gather points by killing ... yourself? Since the description says that there were bibles to collect and throw, I'm assuming that was the unconventional weapon, but I didn't see any available in the game. Either way, the lag made it a bit hard for me to play since things wouldn't collide properly with my ship and I couldn't get ammo. Still, it's decent for what it currently is! Keep on programming :)

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:03am

Simple arcade style seemed fine, but I had a terrible time getting the D key to fire. I retried several times, but no luck. I did notice the changing and cryptic messages. It was intriguing but technical issues made it frustrating. I get the tool issue. Yeah...updating? Don't. But I know you know that. :\ bummer

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06am

Nothing unique. I don't really understand the concept either.

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17am

Game mechanic is a bit confusing that it cost me a lot time to realize what should I do. And input is a bit laggy.

Other parts are ok for me.

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Problems with controlls and nothing innovative. Try to make remake after compo :)

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Good little game for first attempt. Like stuffedgravy said the background isn't really allowed. I was having a little big of lag. Post-LD version could use some optimization :P

Leandrus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice game. but Laggy.
thanks for sharing.

May 1, 2015 @ 7:41am

Too laggy, couldn't survive when there were many asteroids coming :(
I couldn't figure out what the said purpose of everything was, I guess it's a puzzle?

acro says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Fun little arcade game. I had some performance issues e.g. jittering and I had a few problems getting the input to respond to my keypresses but overall a fun little submission.

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:08am

Very simple and possibly unfinished game, but for your first attempt, well done :) I wasnt entirely sure what the unconventional weapon was.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]