Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Swing Slash Slice

by Jakub Koziol - Compo Entry

Arrows or WASD to move, left click to slash.

Click to start.

See how many waves you can survive!

@jakubkoziol

Known bug: sometimes the game will restart back to the first wave. I still have no idea why and I think it'll have to wait till I'm back from the A MAZE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#498Fun3.12
#692Graphics2.83
#770Overall2.93
#978Innovation2.41
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

tininsteelian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very challenging!

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Not enough.

leffe108 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Interesting game idea. Not too hard but still a bit of a challenge.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

Simple, nice and efficient but not that original.

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

I like the top down concept. I would have like to see an non conventional weapon being used to slash with. The controls are smooth.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31am

Simple but interesting concept. maybe the controls can be improved because it's not really easy to play. I like this poor aesthetic - it's a choice. Thank you ++

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51am

Very hard. The enemies could have different colour at least. But overall it's fun, for few minutes.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15am

Seems like you got the start of some pretty interesting gameplay

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

It's certainly a fun little game, but it doesn't quite fit the theme, nor does it bring anything new to the table. I'm always a sucker for minimal art styles, though.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice simple responsive graphics and controls! Really satisfying game feel here. I died a lot without it looking like i was touched though. OTher than that it was pretty awesome!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It could have used some sound to make slicing the enemies more satesfying.

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Enjoyable ? Yes, but where is the theme. Keep trying

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Clearly not enough.

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Funny game to play in a break.
No doubt why you haven't opt-out the theme category ;)

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I like the challenge of this but I think the enemies are just a little too fast. Timing hits on them is very tricky, would have also been nice if they had some more immediately identifiable art.

rinat.kh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Cool and dynamic!

Cryotube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Looks like the start of a great minimalistic art style, along with the base for a good game with solid mechanics!

I like how there is some basic AI that makes them try to rotate around the player.

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I'm surprised how good it is :D

oparisy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58pm

OK, rather fun to play. Was there any sound? I like the minimalistic/geometric look.

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Cool but short. A little bit hard not to collide with a cube when you don't know where it will have one. :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:42am

I feel like this has idea potential with sound effects, music, and polish. One small suggestion I would make would be to make the death and restart much faster. The reaction timing is so fast, it is rather frustrating to wait while frozen in death before being able to play again.

regisRquoi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Aaaaaaw, I feel like your game had so much potential and now it's just too hard for stupiiid reasooons D:
It's still fun though !

Here's my (useful, I hope ?) feedbacks, in random order:

First thing first, The background. Why is it so uniform ? It feels like you're not moving at all ! It took my a while to realize I was actually doing something with the arrow keys. At the beggining it's just your cube and this uniform background, there's no enemies. You can't really know if you're moving really.

The camera unzooming when you're moving: Great idea, works just fine ! (maybe it could unzoom a bit more? I dunno. :) )

Because of the enemies following you only if you're near of them, sometimes I was just like, looking for them, and it felt broken, like : "there's no enemies left, what the fuck ?!"

If the enemy is already looking at you before you gets near, it's almost impossible to avoid him. Feels unfair.

The "screenshaking effect" (I guess?) when you attack kinda feels weird, I was thinking it was slowing/stopping me to attack.

Visual feedbacks are great in general. Great work on those :)

Oh and also there a bug sometimes, and the game doesnt stop when you die. Frustrating 'cause it feels like you didn't die, but you did. But it's jam anyway.

Too bad there's no sounds // music. At least for audio feedbacks. It would add a lot to the feeling of your game :/

The difficulty curve feels super nice. It's super hard at the beggining (because of some stuff I may have said earlier), but I made my way to the 8th wave :)
It feels super good to learn the new paterns. Makes the player feel like he learned by himself and stuff.



Anyway this was fun to play really. By the way I wanna say that your stream seemed really cool. Couldn't be there the whole time but I think you are good at streaming dev' :)

Great job :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:07am

Very interesting game. Simple and challenging.

ChuiGum says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:16am

Very challenging, but a very cool idea!

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Wow, high level of juiciness while still being really simple. I like that a lot. The fast count-down and die effects made me want to go faster. Nice job!

Sound effects and some fast-paced music would make this game (seem) much more action-packed I think even though it already is action-packed. In 48h isn't always enough time for that (I find that out every time I join :P).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]