Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Terrornado

by xbcw - Jam Entry

A - Left
S - Down
D - Right
W - Up

- The game is over when the tornado warning expires.
- Collect powerups to help.

This game was inspired by times spent watching news broadcasts of incoming storms while living in tornado alley. Gameplay-wise, I wanted a similar feeling to Rampage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#103Fun(Jam)3.74
#153Theme(Jam)3.86
#222Mood(Jam)3.48
#226Innovation(Jam)3.56
#273Overall(Jam)3.51
#293Audio(Jam)3.26
#351Graphics(Jam)3.62
#371Humor(Jam)3.16

Comments

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

This was fun! I actually thought the graphics worked really well stylistically as well.

blaster391 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09am

That was surprisingly fun, and the graphics are unique and work well. I love the pickups that you can get that change the world around you. Great Job!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

At first I thought this would be more comedic due to the sketch visuals, but it's almost haunting in a way. I think it's the sirens blaring, and the sense of reality that comes from using NWS alerts to show gameplay status. Really well thought out. Well done.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Should've slipped a Sharknado reference in there :P. 1.7 M in damages though, not to mention the lives lost. Flinging those cars around sure showed the tornade chasers that nature is the boss after all. After reading the description again I noticed the mention of powerups and realized that that must be what those black blotches were. I thought they were blood on my first try. Got to over 2.1 M in damages thanks to them!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27am

Wow, I love this game. Ludum Dare 32 Best in Class.

Can I just say, the hailstorm powerup is way overpowered, and it's awesome.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

This is awesome! Such a great concept, and I like the doodle graphics. Great job with this!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

Haha, beautiful dude. This was pure fun. Very nice and simple graphics, BLASTING AUDIO, and insane expenses!

Great entry.

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

Pretty dang good. I don't know if it was just my computer, but I kept hanging every couple seconds or so for a few frames which was beginning to make me nauseous. I love the graphics!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

Controls were quite difficult/spongey, but I really liked the art style. It's good fun!

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47am

Awesome game, and really stylistically cool. I might suggest speeding it up a bit, but for the most part the weight of the tornado felt really good

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:20am

I love the graphical style to this! It somewhat gives me those feelings when I used to doodle carnage on my school books. The atmosphere is spot on and the gameplay is actually quite fun, gives me somewhat of a Rampage sort of vibe! Awesome stuff!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

Was pretty fun I must admit I love destroying things :D. Even though I didn't get any money when throwing the people up in the air I still did it :p was quite funny. Art style is nice and unique I like it :)

Good job!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24am

Excellent entry! Graphics worked much better than expected. I caused $2182670 in damages :D

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

Definitely an unconventional weapon

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Right on spot of the theme, really liked it!.
The slow controls really make you fell like an actual tornado.
More statistics like cars crushed, people killed, houses destroyed would be nice.

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:43am

Nice game. Good graphics. I think, you need more powerups and game will be awesome.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:51am

Neat game, the graphics are actually pretty sweet :P Nicely done!

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:54am

really nice idea, and fun too, remind me of rampage! :D
i love the doodle style graphics

Jadernak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27am

Unique idea and well executed, channelling into our primal urge to destroy.

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I've always wanted to be a tornado, but you gave me a better dream, a terrornado.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:27pm

great job, was very entertaining, I played a lot. Happiness Is! Look at my game. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

rantt says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:31am

Cool concept, I really liked the hand-drawn look, and all the destruction. Fun game, nicely done.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:02am

Hehe, cool concept. I'd love to see this with massive production. Would be a nice tech demo for new hardware.

keddelzz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:32pm

First I thought your game was too cruel, but actually it is very fun and a very nice game. I like the simplicity of the graphics a lot!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:26pm

This was really fun to play plus I loved the hand-drawn pencil art style.

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:13am

The mood was great. Good sense of humour. Suitable audio. The graphics were very child-like and charming. You stuck with the jam's theme very well. It was fun, innovative and you deserve a pat on the back.

lordxam says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:48am

very very nice =)

Forlorn79 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:24am

This game is frightening, even though it's line art. I don't really like the use of money as a measure of destruction. This game is dark, but good overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]