Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Curved Curse

by S0lll0s - Jam Entry

NOTE: If you can't get into the door, wiggle around a little, I misplaced the teleporter by a few pixels. Yes, the 3rd level is the last one :( we'll do a post-compo game with more levels, promise!

Curved Curse is a 2d top-down action shooter. Your gun only does harm if the bullets fly through walls, and watch out, they don't fly too straight!

bonus points for bullets that travel through a lot of wall or kill multiple enemies.

Credits
=======
Art - MadByte (???)
Code - S0lll0s (s0lll0s.me)
Music - Sk'p (soundcloud.com/skiponline)
3rd level - Vinzenz Brasch

Controls
========
LMB - Charge/Attack
WASD/Arrows - move around

Windows: pick up, unpack, run!
Linux, Mac: download and install LÖVE, then download the multiplatform .love and run

You can view the source by unpacking the .love (it's a zip) if you'd like to.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#108Overall(Jam)3.80
#156Audio(Jam)3.58
#199Mood(Jam)3.52
#206Innovation(Jam)3.59
#220Fun(Jam)3.47
#286Graphics(Jam)3.75
#370Theme(Jam)3.56
#658Humor(Jam)2.56

Comments

masterboth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

I'm really happy to see how this game turned out, when I first read the "Your gun only does harm if the bullets fly through walls" I was concerned that this mechanic would make the game really boring and frustrating, but I was wrong... I was impressed on how good the execution was, Trying to get the bullets to hit the enemys was really fun. Also, the atmoshpere was well achived and overall the game looks really polished. My only concern was on how short the game was, I would have like a few more level, but still the game was super fun and I hope you get far with this entry. Good Luck!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40am

Stunning graphics, fitting sound, and awesome gameplay. 9/10.

srakowski says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41am

The bullets looked a little bit like mice running around after they shot through the wall lol. I like the concept was well done! :)

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41am

@masterboth: we started working with just that "wallbangs only" idea and very worried it would turn out boring or very easy all along, but were really happy at the sudden fun-factor that emerged when we came up with the curving and playtested it.
We could've used some more time (and we would've had some more actually) but I decided to sleep in long and not hurry too much as my finals are coming up. I will definetely build a post-jam version with a longer "campaign" and some tweaks (plus we are getting a custom soundtrack!)

jprogman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

I take it there are only three levels? I couldn't get through the third level's exit.

Very neat work.

hexdie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:47am

Very cool concept and very well executed! The music, graphics, and controls were great as well. Nice work!

PapaCheech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Good, graphics could use some work.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

Very interesting! Quite polished, to say the least. Shooting through walls is a neat mechanic that could see other uses in the future.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:49am

The mechanic is quite interesting, I agree with previous comments about it having potential in other games, or if you decide to keep developing this game (which you totally should).

The graphics are very nice, specially the Dynamic lighting, adds to the atmosphere.

well done!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very good gameplay,,, congratulations

SiENcE says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Wow, polished like hell! Great game S0lll0s that you and your team made.

I like the intro screen and the oldshool blink :).

CJ K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Nice job with the entry! I thought the mechanic was interesting and fun to use and the art and sound were superb. However, I found it frustrating to get shot at from something off screen (especially since the shot moved so fast) and I struggled to understand how to aim the projectile to where I wanted it to go.

Again, great job!

Olive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really loved the mechanics, made you think more about your aiming that just shooting in a straight line.

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:34am

Super interesting concept. The bullets felt a little too random for being skill shot projectiles but super solid idea. Polish was excellent! Well done!

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very nice game! :D Loved the music, and the moody darkness / lighting effects. The bullets were a bit difficult to predict though!

gv1351 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Well done I really loved the game

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

This is great! Awesome music, great graphics (particularly the lightning), and the weapon mechanic is really interesting. Great work!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:15pm

A really fun game to play with some awesome graphics. The music was awesome also but doesn't loop so I was left musicless for a while, but overall great game!

-Neith

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:01am

I really like the art and the juice! Nice game you've made here!

VividReality says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Yes, well done! That's a weapon I've never seen indeed. Really cool and innovative.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Very good, the mechanic worked nicely (although I had to get used to the curve from the shots). Music was great as well!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:41pm

The respawn timers are way too short, enemy shots way too fast (they snipe me from out of screen), and my weapon range way too short (it can't exit past most walls).

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:17am

@GlowingSnail: The bullets fly for a set time, not range. You can charge that time up to multiple seconds. Whilst outside of a wall they live infinitely (except for the last second)

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Great atmosphere and music.
The screen-bounce with shot release was satisfying.
The death sound effect was too jarring though.
Since you've enable arrow-key movement, I suggest adding a keybind to right shift for the expanded view.
Fun stuff! (-a fellow lover)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]