Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Monkey Business

by colludium - Compo Entry

So, after many cups of coffee (and a couple of beers) I think I have finished as much as I can this weekend.

Monkey Business

You are a gorilla who has to defend his/her territory. Find food to eat so you can throw your poop at invading tourists and poachers. Watch out for traps and bullets - and remember, if you run out of poop then you're defenseless.... Complete all 6 levels to banish the invaders from your territory!

Please play this game in Chrome...

This platform game uses ASDW or the Arrow Keys to move; space bar to shoot poop and the Z key as an alternate jump key. Use TAB to toggle full screen and M to turn the music off if it starts to drive you bananas... If you have an XBox Controller then plug it in - it is supported as well.

Made with Construct 2 and some other tools (details in the game).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#90Humor3.77
#162Theme3.87
#170Audio3.43
#226Fun3.50
#247Mood3.32
#346Overall3.39
#401Graphics3.30
#511Innovation3.16

Comments

NeoRoshi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15am

oh right, gravity.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31am

Fun game, but hard to understand at first. Maybe an automatic restart if you throw the poop and don't kill the guy would be nice.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

Good point on the poop-throwing-learning-curve. No poop to throw = unable to attack! I'll add a note to the description.

IgIzzy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23am

fantastic entry! I feel having jump on the space button would make more usability sense than z. Other than that fantastic work!

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Noo I died xD funny !

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Nice job! I love the gravity-death. :)

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

A very well made platformer that is quite hard as well. Especially those guys who shoot through the trees, so OP!

I managed to finish the game but some levels took a few tries. The graphics / sfx / music were spot on. Well done!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Good graphics and really really good controls! So fun too haha!

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29pm

very nice and funny game! love how it cartwheels before sending its poop into the air.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Thank you all for your comments and feedback! I'm glad you found it fun!

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I have a love/hate relationship with this game.

Love - The general silliness of it all, the character's movement, the slow motion (wish there were more of that), the animations, the dude pissing.

Hate - SPIKES IN TREES, bullets (possibly going through trees) coming out of no where an killing you.

A fun entry that, despite my frustrations, I couldn't stop playing until I beat it.

Truck says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I like how the walking people won't walk into the traps, but I don't like how they don't die from bullets (:

Still, excellent game, yes, with some more work it may have good potential as a full game. Will need more content, and perhaps divebomb pooping (: (Which is what I tried at first (: )

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

@zatyka - Thank you, sounds like a good (I hope) fun/frustration mix!? I'm pleased you stuck it out and beat it!

@Truck - LOL, divebomb pooping! If only I had thought of that 36 hours ago...

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Enjoyed a lot the game xD, but traps were really bitchy :P
Nice work :D

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Great game. Good gameplay and graphics. I really like the way you did the climbing.

cicanci says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Fun game! Nice job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17am

The art in this game is really unique. The menu text is a little hard to read(light green on slightly less light green) but once you get in the game its really a really interesting world to look at. The climbing and running control is well done although I kind of wish I didn't die when I jump out of the tree. There certainly isn't enough pooping in slow motion games out there and at this time I think you have that **** on lockdown.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18am

Hehe, what a game. Definitely an unconventional weapon. I'm digging the drum-n-bass funk music, and I really liked how smooth the climbing mechanic feels. Nice one.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

Odd that when a gorilla jumps on some guy's head the gorilla explodes in a shower of blood.

Ebola. Must have been ebola.

Great graphics. Interesting theme. Bit brutal in the difficulty just starting out.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23am

Good game ,,, but dear Lord,, poor monkey

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46am

Ha - yes! Gorilla death options became just from a selection of one because of the time limit. I had started animating a tourist knife attack v gorilla but it just became too much so I cut my losses....

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

Love how the monkey climbs! And the slow-motion on level 1 was a nice touch.

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31am

Really great entry. Well done. Super fun and fairly tight controls. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Cool entry, I enjoyed the slo-mo poop kills. There was something really satisfying about running up trees too, kept doing it over and over

Kyatric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Frustrating, that's what I really take on this game.
The controls felt a bit "moon-like" at times, with a strange momentum that did not make sense.
Spikes in trees and on the ground :/
Why can't I move around the tree trunk when bullets can go through it from anywhere ?

Also why touching a hunter makes it so that I must die the next time I hit the ground/a platform/branch ? This does not make sense to me and adds to the overall frustration.

I like the idea of throwing poop, the "monkey business" joke and theme, it's all nice, but I believe the game would have been better if more accessible/fair. At least I know I would have enjoyed it far more.

Good job doing a game in 48 hours nonetheless !

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:28pm

@Kyatric - I know, I just ran out of time to make a human-kills-gorilla animation. Maybe next time I won't get beaten by the time limit...

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great game. Nice artwork and smooth controls. Felt very polished, except for a few minor bugs. (Got some random freezes for a few seconds a few times)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:07am

It's so funny haha. The game feel is solid. The climbing mechanics fits the gorilla.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35am

just eatn and shitn, love the tree climbing mechanic.

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:55am

Very funny game, asking for a bit of adaptation first for the controls, but then letting you do what you do best as a monkey easily ;)
The idle animation is awesome x)

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice control system, graphics, audio, learning curve and animations. Also, acrobatic pooping! Nothing to fault here. :)

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Well... it's a pooping gorila... What can I say! Nice climbing mecanics!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:00am

Wow, really liked that one.
Nice climbing and overall feel to the monkey controls.

Also absolutely the best interpretation of the theme ;) (why? Because that's what I did too - right down to eating bananas to gain more poo :) )

And: Wow, humans and also poo are way more deadly than I thought :)

psychonull says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Great game. Good graphics and sounds. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]