Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fathom

by Joe Williamson - Jam Entry

Originally intended for the 48 hour compo. Sadly, it wasn't quite ready, so I decided to take an extra day and submit to the jam instead, but it's still solo/from scratch.

Control bullets with your mind. Click and hold to slow time, then drag across bullets and release to redirect them.

The unconventional weapon is your telekinetic time-slowing robot-mind.

NOTE: Apparently it tends to play best in Firefox, and terribly in Chrome.

ALSO NOTE: If you find yourself having to "brute force" your way through sections, chances are there's an upgrade via a different route on the map that you should find first.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#5Graphics(Jam)4.80
#5Overall(Jam)4.37
#19Audio(Jam)4.23
#27Innovation(Jam)4.13
#40Fun(Jam)3.94
#52Mood(Jam)4.00
#52Theme(Jam)4.12
#629Humor(Jam)2.62

Comments

mtanton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

Great game as usual! Hope to see a continuation of this. Hint to other players: Look for a hidden crate in the game ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

Damn this is fantastic! The graphics are soooo good! and the gameplay is really solid

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36am

Really great! I would've liked to have seen the slo-mo-movie-bullety weapon being used more but hey it's a game jam xD and holy shit the level art is amazing. Presentation was flawless. Really nice <3

dvdfu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

Love it! The zoom-in and slow-mo (as opposed to complete halt) made it difficult to use the mechanics at times, but it's a small nitpick for an all-around fantastic presentation.

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

Crazy for being done in 3 days! Game looked great, sounded great, and played great. One thing thing I found is that you can totally skip part of the game if you jump just right in the upper right side of the level.

Looking forward to see if this game keeps going after this.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

Really nice game, both the art and the music are extremely beautiful. Redirecting the bullets reminded me a lot to "Ori and the blind forest", which features a similar mechanic.

The game felt extremely polished, well done! ^^

Ryumaru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

Absurdly well polished and concise given the timeframe. Beautiful graphics with smooth gameplay.

gaugepunk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15am

absolutely brilliant. the environment style in particular is beautiful.

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

This was awesome. I saw your posts and thought the art looked fantastic, but the game design completely matches up. Awesome concept and great execution. The fact you did it all on your own too is pretty incredible. Great job, looking forward to more from you.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

This game is amazing! The concept is genius, the graphics are beautiful, and it was really fun to play! I don't usually give such positive reviews, but you did an excellent job. You should be proud. :)
(My only complaint is that there aren't more levels :P)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

Radical! :)

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

I can't believe how freaking awesome your games are. Comparing to your previous entries, the benefits of the extra (well, and the extra experience) day really shows in this one. It has so much content (as in "gameplay").
Congratulations! Keep up the awesome work!

My only real feedback is that the power feels too over powered... If there were a limit, for example, it wouldn't be possible to brute force some parts, like the first shielded turret (unless that was intended).

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

The game is 100% solid. No questions asked.
If this were a full game, I'd buy it!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

Holy crap great art! Pretty fun although could use some tuning (bullets kinda go too fast). Couldn't get past the shielded turret.

furriKira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

This I want to see continued! It looks and feels nice. Perfect. I honestly want to see more of these.

CamRFWhite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

YOU WIN! Wow man, really great job. I can't believe you finished this much in 48h. My only critical feedback is I couldn't get to one of the upgrade crates cause I wasn't really sure how to kill the shield guys until the end part, and the way the camera moves in for slow mo affected me seeing where my bullet was going and if it hit what I wanted it too. The effect is so cool it would be hard to take it out though haha. I hope you continue making this, it's super cool. Again, great job.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

Fantastic game. The love the art style and the main mechanic is fantastic. I'd really love to see this expanded. It could probably make a good metroidvania style game.

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06am

Great game, if there option for awesomeness I would rate it 5.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13am

Feels very polished, looks and plays great.

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36am

Well polished, great unique mechanics. Pixel art and effects is also good. 5/5

klbrazil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39am

5/5.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45am

Sweet graphics, best pixel art in this Dare as far as I am aware! (Rhymes)

I finished the game, but was disappointed that the mechanic has no surprising applications... It is a bit repetitive...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48am

Great game. Loved the art and mechanic and I got to the end. Some nice things you can do with this gameplay here. I think it's be worthy of a full game. Would buy this on Steam, probably.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

Insanely polished and beautiful. I wish I could give suggestions, but I can think of nothing to improve this.

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27am

Really great. Awesome art! The telekinesis and slow down mechanics are super fun to play with! Would love to see this expanded on!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

Very challenging, but fun game - really liked it!

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

You don't need another person telling you how good the graphics are, but I'm going to tell you anyway. Because they're amazing. Holy crap, I cannot believe how GOOD this game looks. Massive props!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45am

Excellent game. My only problem is that there isn't more of it.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55am

Fantastic game. I can't believe you made this in 3 days. Awesome level design and game mechanics. I really want to see this turn into a bigger game. Great work <3

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56am

Excellent game! Graphics are gorgeous, fun to play, overall polished. Amazing.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02am

Awesome graphics/sounds/game ! Good job !

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11am

Off the charts! You built a metroidvania in two days. Seriously? Seriously :)

The controls were the main point of contention in this. They were great most of the time, but can be a bit unwieldy. The way the time controls versus the bullet speed works means I'm often pre-emptively slowing time to wait for a shot to come, sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. Maybe an indication of some sort on the gun itself to say whether it's going to fire or not is useful, often I'm just staring at it in slow mo while I think I'm just out of its raycast or something.

Could maybe do with a camera that looked ahead to where your mouse is closer to, maybe. Maybe just subtly. I think I overdid that in my game XD

Superb polish. Seriously good! Absolutely should continue with this!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

This is brilliant! Such a great idea :D fun puzzle!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

Fantastic graphics and music! The unconventional weapon is interesting and feels satisfying to use, you should really spend more time on a post-jam version! :)

Orion.gd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55am

Game is brilliant. Too bad that there is no archive of Twitch. Invaluable source of knowledge.

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57am

Damn! :) The best one I played so far!

Rycoon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:04pm

This game is fantastic! The Art is a usual brilliant and you really a excellent use for your unconventional weapon

kikaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23pm

What a great game ! Graphics are awesome, cool concept and you did it right ! Congratulations !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Absolutely stunning visuals, and with original gameplay included! Awesome! Not perfect mechanics with some control issues, but innovative and unique.
Unbelievably cool on its own and especially for a 72 hours Jam entry!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Saw this in progress, shame y'missed the compo deadline but still v. impressive!

The slowdown effect ground chrome's flash plugin to a halt but still playable. Music & Art were amazing and gameplay pretty decent too with some nice light puzzling. Excellent job!

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Just tried this out and had no performance issues, saw you streaming late last night wile you encountered problems.

The audio is a nice little loop and suits the game. The pixel art is by far the best thing about the game, highly polished look to it!

At first I thought the game was broke as I could not jump with spacebar, would really add this in. The movement of the character is really smooth and the turrets too.

The mechanic is a neat idea, had fun throwing bullets all about the place. It would be great it the turrets exploded, that would be more satisfying.

I feel you should have limited the slow-mo time, being able to use it constantly made it a little easy.

Overall a great idea well executed, would make a nice game but never been a fan of too much slow-mo in a game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Excelent graphics.
The controls are difficult to use, specially because it zooms when slow motion, making it hard to aim

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Great game. I like that it was slo-mo and not complete stop. Forces you to react quickly and then limits your time to counter-attack.

kidanger says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Awesome work! This game has clever mechanisms and really nice graphics and audio, good job!

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Impressive work. Genius idea. Short but really good experience! I like it a lot!

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I'm speechless! Just amazing. I hope there're plans for a full game around this!

Anikki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Great art and audio. Couldn't get used to the controls though.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

So fun! A challenge on a touchpad but something I will play again with a mouse!!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Wow Joe, awesome work. Nicely polished, great graphics and that music track with Ludum Dare-esque sounds topped it off nicely!

A great entry, worth multiple plays.

drludos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Outstanding game! Fun to play, original idea, excellent graphics and audio - nothing to say against this game, it's close to perfection! It reminds me of good old SNES games :)

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Super awesome stuff! As usual. ;)

Darek Greenly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Awesome graphics (as always) and great idea of controlling bullets!

I died a lot. Probably because and I felt that the slow motions was too strong. I kept holding and releasing mouse button quickly just to make turrets shoot bullets faster but I often didn't caught them in time.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Very nice use of theme and absolutely fantastic visuals. Fun suffers slightly as the enemy bullets are too fast for slow poke like me to react to, but otherwise absolutely brilliant entry :)

kaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

This is awesome! Best scores of course

sputnik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Perfect graphics, as always! Really hard though!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Superb art, great and tight controls. Great entry as usual!

P.S- HaxeFlixel rocks!

Lerc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Takes a bit to adjust your brain to the scaling when you use telekinesis. Gorgeous and nice to play.

hexagore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I love how you've nailed the Metal Slug style of pixel art. That sort of ultimate-90s-arcade-game-pixel-art has sort of fallen out of fashion but it's obviously got a lot of life in it. It's sad that this is a jam entry and therefore is supposed to be judged a lot more harshly but style always counts for a lot and this has tons.

Really enjoyed your twist on the theme too. Thanks for making it :)

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Really fun game and innovative. I would love to play a full version with more levels :)

ehtd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Impressive! great job

allanolivei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39am

you win!!!! congratulations!!!

morokiane says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17am

Awesome, love the graphics and music

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

Really interesting concept. A little tricky to manage all of the controls. Great pixel art!!

stvr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05am

Visually amazing as always, I like the concept but switching between slowing time and moving bullets was a bit frustrating.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19am

Awesome work dude, top notch in all respects. One very minor observation - I found I could pretty much just spam click my way to victory on the tough bits. I wonder if you might consider putting in an energy bar or something like that for the post compo version? :D

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28am

Superb pixelart! Awesome game!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Very nice game, congratulations! BTW, it played almost normally here in Chrome. The occasional slow down, but only for brief moments when dying.

hellforge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Cool concept - and awesome visuals! Awesome Entry!

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Good Game. Played Chrome. Man that mind controlling mechanic is awesome, art is brilliant.

Arche-san says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Graphics reminds me SNES game like secret of mana. Revulsing the bullet is a fun mechanic and it will be interesting for a bigger game. :)

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Very fun and cool game! I love love love the art. Great Work!!! Followed you on Twitter as well. I'd love to be able to draw anywhere close to that :P

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Best entry I've seen so far!!
Amazing game! (as usual) ;)

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Except the fact that it's short, everything was brilliant. I loved the mechanic. I would like to see a complete game out of this.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Really good, though short. I hope it will be developed in a full game

vidarn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Extremely well done. Gorgeous graphics and solid gameplay. I allways expect great stuff from you and you never fail to deliver. Congratulations on a solid game!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice.

-CH

LeReveur says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:30pm

In two words : absolutely magnificient.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Stunning graphics for the short time! And a really interesting, unique gameplay. Impressive!

hexdie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:35am

Really great work! This game has very nice artwork and a really fun mechanic! The music was awesome as well. I had a lot of fun with this one.

I have a couple criticisms, but they're very small and the work here far outweighs them. I don't know if you ran out of time or if it was an oversight, but some sort of life indicator would've been nice. The other criticism is that it is a bit hard to time out when to slow things down for specific puzzles (like when you have to move the bullet up and to the right, out of the tunnel, to the destroy the generator).

Overall, very fantastic work!

dusho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:10pm

hard as hell.. but very good game

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Wow! This is one of the most professional entries of the LD32 that I've seen so far. I've read your tweets before and couldn't wait to play the game. What can I say? I took away some points from humor and mood but the rest is full score. Wow!

Robinerd says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:19pm

looks really nice and juicy

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Awesomely polished game. Solid controls, and very cool concept too. Making the turrets shoot eachother was satisfying!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:33pm

The extra day was worth it! This is an incredibly polished experience with tight gameplay and clever puzzles. Turns bullet-time into an art form. Graphics and audio are top-notch. Great work!

rmc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Damn, what an awesome game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I really like the presentation (graphics, animation, music) but the game mechanics are really hard to pick up. Guess it's not suited for me X).

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Excellent graphics and audio, and the platforming feels really solid. Grabbing bullets had a bit of a long time delay though, and combined with that you can stay in the slowed-down mode for infinitely long, it meant that the most effective strategy mostly involved a lot of waiting. I'm also not sure about the level design - at one point there was a large group of turrets and I just sort of brute forced my way through. I'm not sure if I really played the game the way it was intended, maybe I missed an important crate. Still, an enjoyable experience.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Really well done! Very professional game, specially the graphs, music and gameplay.

Tanser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice game!! I love it! :)

Miltage says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Amazing. Superb execution of telekinesis ability.

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:06pm

This looks so gorgeous! It plays pretty smooth too, the take on the theme is great and the audio tops it off. Controls are pretty tight.

It was a bit hard to get into the right rhythm to use the bullet time bullet control, but's probably intended.

Fantastic game!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Woooh you should try to distribute it to a wider range of gamers :D

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Simply Amazing. The music is awesome, the art is awesome, the level design is awesome. Everything is awesome ! (hehehe) Worked well for me on chrome too.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:29pm

The mechanic is interesting but, because the bullets move so fast, i found myself just staying in slow-time a majority of the time, which breaks flow quite a bit.
That's my only gripe, however; the game looks absolutely fantastic, as always, and i really wish there was a full version of it. Using the slow-time for environmental puzzles was particularly clever. Brilliant work!

daredevildave says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Looks lovely. Nice idea, really well executed.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Awesome.

barkergames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I love the game mechanic. It's very polished, one of the only games that feels "Complete", short but Complete.

More levels please!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:46am

soo goood, hoping to see it developed further

ruerob says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

One of the best entries I've rated so far! Very great art!!!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50am

Another fine game, as we've come to expect from you :)

Graphically, it was amazing, as always, and I really enjoyed the music as well. The mechanic was interesting, and very well implemented. I especially loved arcing a bullet around corners to hit other guns :) The mood was really good as well. I really can't find anything to criticize this on. Solid game, solid graphics, solid everything. 5 stars.

(I was confined to using a laptop, and so my fingers are cramping after playing this XD)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:30am

AWESOME

Robber says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:22pm

just amazing!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Very good, to the point even my girlfriend liked it.
Would definitely like to see this mechanic expanded.

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Nice idea, very polished. No need to say anything about the graphics :p.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Very solid entry! Everything was good, bummer redirecting the bullets didn't feel as 'powerful' as I hoped, maybe making them a bit faster on their return and making the turrets 'explode' harder. Nice stuff anyway!

Curial says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Great art direction and nice them concept.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:25pm

The best LD game I've played so far! Awesome graphics, awesome music, awesome innovation, awesome gameplay, awesome everything! The fact that you made all of that in less than 48 hours is AMAZING! This game will obviously be in top 100, for sure. I had a really fun time, I felt really cool playing this. Fantastic game!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Nice, but then I'm sad because it's so short.

The bullets are a tad too fast in normal mode. It's nigh impossible to catch them if you're not already in slow mode before they're fired.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Beautiful artwork, excellent music, smooth animation and player controls. Very well done.

hunttis says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Wow! Plays, looks and sounds fantastic. People usually make this level stuff in months, not days.

Great execution! Only thing I wished for was a camera feature that would focus the camera a bit closer to the cursor, if the cursor was far away from the character.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Wow. Just, wow. I can't think of a single thing against this game, other than that it was only one perfectly done level. You should be immensely proud of this!

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Awesome!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Well, that's amazing. Make more levels, add more features, sell it to steam, be an MLG 420 Pro.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Wow! Simply wow! So great! This is impressive. The graphics are perfect, the gameplay is very polished, it's challenging but never too hard. And the unconventional game mechanic is really cool.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Fantastic atmosphere, graphics, and music. Totally solid gameplay with a unique and interesting mechanic. If you decide to extend this into a larger game (which it definitely has the potential to become), some things to consider would be more visual and audio feedback when a turret is destroyed, lessening the zoom/static effect when redirecting bullets (since players will be using this very often, the cool effect can become grating), and additional uses for the telekinesis mechanic. Incredible work for 72 hours, and lots of potential for the hours beyond. Great job!!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Beautiful game. Couldn't figure out how to beat the first shielded gun. Worked great on Chrome.

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:21am

Great game! I love the art style, the effects are really cool and the mechanics are clever.
Well done!

Galan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:15am

Not really much to say about this one. The first shield turret was a bit too hard to get past, but that barely cut into my fun. I just wish it was longer.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:52am

PERFECT SCORE! Great work in ALL areas. Would love to see a post-jam version somewhere.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:01am

Very fine game. Very fine!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

This game is superb.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:06am

You've convinced me that the main mechanic could be going to places, there's a few creative uses in here already. Nothing particularly bad to say about this, more content would've been nice.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Wow 5/5! It was a bit tricky to catch some of the bullets, but with such an amazing presentation, I could not be upset.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:26am

Fantastic mechanics that suit the theme really well.

omaha says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:51am

Very nice work.

I would love to see a post mortem describing where things where 40 hours into the event, where each component/feature stood in terms of development, integration, and polish, and how you made the decision to switch to the jam.

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Really great game, graphics, sound, concept, everything is a success. The gameplay mechanic runs perfectly smooth and is a great idea for this theme. Amazing work.

Nysten says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:32pm

All-5-star-game!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:08am

Fathom-tastic art!! really neat mechanic that feels great but may need some tweaking as far as the zooming in goes. Otherwise awesome polish on the audio and has a ton of potential for expanding the idea. great job keep it up!

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:32am

Your games never fail to disappoint! I died quite a lot but really enjoyed the times where you had to change the bullet's trajectory more than once.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:00am

Nice entry man. Graphics an audio where definitely top-notch. The bullet time mechanic was fun to play with but sometimes hard to use since you almost need to anticipate it or get shot. Also I did brute force my way through the machine gun turret the first time I played it and I'm not even sure what the Speed++ did for me. I didn't feel any faster. :/
Either way great entry!

Erkberg says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:05am

What an amazing game! Beautiful graphics, innovative gameplay, extremely impressive!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:32am

Beautiful. I followed the dev process, so I knew it will be amazing. :)

I see some influences of Ori and the Blind Forest, but that's a cool thing.
So shut up and take the 5 stars. :D

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Absolutely brilliantly original :D Plays really well (although I found the controls a bit hard at first).

oparisy says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:23pm

OK, loved the music and sounds. Controls felt a little bit "low", especially the double jump. The upgrade mechanism was a blast; loved also the feeling of power when you "get" how to use the power and take down multiple turrets at once. I took the time to finish it.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This is what you are gonna do. You will now stop doing whatever you are doing and go and make about 40 hours of gameplay. Then you will write me a mail that you have completed this task. Then you can return to whatever you were doing. :)

just kidding.

It's a very, very fun game. Well done!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:45pm

This is kind of an amazing effort. The graphics are wonderful, the music and sound are great and the mechanic is innovative. The one problem is...it's really hard! I can only 'grab' a bullet about half the time that I try, and out of those times I can only redirect the bullet before it hits me about one in five times. It makes it pretty difficult to get through the game. But hey, good work. ;)

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:48pm

That was awesome. Fantastic art and solid gameplay.
Some graphical indication of when a gun is about to fire would have been helpful,
Great job!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:01pm

One of my favorite game! Impressive! Which framework did you use for this game?

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:27pm

What a great game. Loved the graphics, the time-slowing idea and fun to play too. Nice work.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:07am

Holy, Beautiful

scottthoo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:24am

Awesome creation. Thumbs up for you. I've finished and enjoyed the game. :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:35am

Great game as usual. You have your style which is beautiful. The gameplay is good. One of the best entries for LD32. Neat ++

scumbly says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:26am

Exemplary!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:18am

Good one, man! Visuals are nice as usual. Gameplay is bit frustrating. It's hard to "catch up" the bullets. The'r fly too fast. Anyway, the concept is looking pretty good =)

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:35am

Really well executed with great style! :)

phi6 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:53am

Wow. I can't believe I missed this one. I also created what I think is a fairly polished platformer/Metroidvania thing but there were 3 of us doing coding, art and music in the 72 hours and yet you were able to do all of this entirely by yourself? This is maddening...

Amazing pixel art, fantastic music and I love the bullet time mechanic. Full marks on everything!

Mixer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:37am

This was fantastic. Best entry I have seen. Man, your entries are always superb. I wish I could pixel like you :)

wooltech says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Brilliant. The controls are great, the level is well designed, it looks and feels polished.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Fives all the way, really awesome work. Hope you continue it :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Very great entry, the mechanic is innovative and easy to use, the graphics and music are gorgeous. Nice level design and I wish to see more of it, it has a lot of potential as a full game. Goob job!

Javabot says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:48pm

One of the best games I have seen yet! Loved the weapon, and the art! The ending may need some polish, and there needs to be more variety in art, but still an awesome game.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Great concept!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:55am

amazing - what a unique idea and the graphics were outstanding - for some reason i could not get it to work in firefox? great job!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:02am

Gobsmacking art and concept. I wish there were more ways to explore the concept here, but this is still very impressive for 72 hours.

Your music was excellent, too!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:10am

Overall a great entry! The platforming is a little float-y for my taste, but it still gets the job done. I absolutely LOVE the art style, as it seems like everyone does. The weapon is definitely uncommon and pretty original, so I dig it! I enjoyed the music, and enjoyed myself!

Great job! Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!

SiENcE says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:31am

For me it's a bit too complicated to handle slowdown and redirect together. But it's polished and graphic/sound is amazing. Great job!

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:24pm

One of the best entries on the jam. My only complaint is about the speed and rate of the bullets, they are too fast. The mind power is awesome to use, but you play almost entirely on slomo sometimes (e.g., against the turret with shield)

AdricZero says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Cool game. Impressive for just 3 days solo. Innovative, fun to play and polished.

wilbefast says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:44am

Beautiful art and music and nice little mechanic :D

Oh, I noticed when I "restored a backup" that turrets stayed dead.

ajopart says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:58am

Wonderful !

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Good work. Job well done !

Snicklodocus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:39am

Cool mechanic! Really polished game. It was sometimes difficult to redirect bullets, mostly due to it all sharing the left mouse button. I was impressed by the level design and content though! Great job.

Plustech says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Really nice entry. I thought that the detectors for the turrets were a little funky. But overall looks awesome, the mechanic is really nice and could be polish to an extend to make a full game for sure. Great job mate.

May 4, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Wow incredible!! the art is amazing, and the gameplay is solid. i really like the upgrade crates, it really keeps you interested.

May 5, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Pssst! You are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJctTJ2Ext4

Bastinator says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Very nice game. More gameplay would have been nice, but for a jam it's really awesome!

blubberquark says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:55pm

This was you from scratch? This is amazing! It looks like the frogatte tiles by Jetrel!

Dejvo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:36am

maybe i am stupid but i could not do what the game wanted me to do. I don't have that kind of reflexes . i would have to be in slow-mo at all times to at least try to get somewhere. also, the jump is too high. everything else like the graphics, audio, innovation and mood is spot on and fenomenal. i just can't play and enjoy it.

Dejvo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I guess, I will reply to you here then :D
Thanks for the rating and comment. I thought, that the only joke there was in the text and that some people might not get it or it's not that good of a joke. plus, I didn't intend the game to be humorous. it should just be entertaining. so, I removed the humour category. Judging by videos that people made, they didn't find it humorous, so I am happy with my decision.

To your game. I had a second more thorough playtrough and i realised, that you can destroy the turrets, which made it easier. But, when i got to the machine gun with the shield, i just could not get past him. I tried like 20 times. I did realize all of the things, you told me in the first playtrough i just have very bad reflexes and hand-eye coordination. So, even in constant slo-mo, i could not grab the bullets and change their direction fast enough. Maybe, you can add a option for retards like me that you could change the bullets direction immediately after you've grabbed it and maybe give a cooldown to the slo-mo time.

But otherwise, excellent job. I wish i could be as quick as you and do this kind of detail within 72 hours.
Not my 1-minute gameplay game :D

Dejvo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:32pm

PoV should really add a reply button on comments here.
Thanks for the tip but i could not even get this right https://youtu.be/O_A0X3DitJk?t=34 I worked that out but i was just too slow to do it like this. i tried to find different routes but i couln't find any.

May 8, 2015 @ 5:42am

Amazing, every thing about this is great, there were a couple of awkward bullet collisions when the multiple turrets in a row tried to fire, it looked like nothing was coming out of the guns on the far right. Really enjoyed this game. Great work!

OddballDave says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:31am

Awesome graphics. Great audio. I found the mechanic of controlling bullets a bit clunky. Often the thing I wanted to aim them at was off screen. But all-in-all a wonderful entry. Good stuff.

chabuduo says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:51am

This was amazing!

taviandir says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:23am

Gorgeous graphics, bro! The level design could've been better at times, I feel. The bullet-time timing was difficult on occasion but once I got the hang of it, it became m
Checked your previous entries, I remember your LD30 game! :D Great stuff as usual mate

Madball says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:54am

Awesome! I liked the slow-mode effects, and it was extremely fun taking bullets from one place to another. Maybe you could add a section where you have to guide a bullet through a maze.

The game was unexpectedly short. Also, I'm pretty sure the speed upgrade doesn't do anything. There a some more bugs, like some collidable air in the top-left corner of the starting room. And once I collected two crates in a short period of time, and that messed up sizes of letters of "Research acquired".

Overall, a very-very great game, though it seems like an experiment.

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:21am

Really cool game! I really liked this entry. Almost all 5 for you!

Mach60KAS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Absolutely loved the game's art style and music - it's very fitting and well-produced! The mechanic took one or two tries to get the hang of; but once you get it, it works very well. It's clear to see I have a lot of practice to do between now and the next ludum dare if this only took you 72 hours - awesome work! :D

duck says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Wow! That's absolutely fantastic. Looks great, sounds great, plays great. There were a few points where the controls went a bit funny for a couple seconds, had a quick scan of the other comments and haven't seen it mentioned so it's probably just my browser being silly (Firefox, Win 7). Worked perfectly for the most part though.

Dejvo says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:41am

Yaay! Finally got trough it! Thanks for your advice and help. looking forward to seeing this fully developed :) It's an amazing game! I am just stupid :D

FistBumpGames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Very nice game! Shame it didn´t last longer, loved playing it.

deepnight says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:11pm

You really did great on this entry :)
The gameplay is interesting and seems promising: you could create very good puzzles from it.
The art is great, as usual! The music too is really good: how did you create it?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]