Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Fish Sniper

by PushmePullyu - Compo Entry

As the Fish Sniper you launch fishes and navigate mazes to hit your target.

My apologies as I ran out of time so in order to restart the game you need to reload.

Controls:
Launch with: Spacebar
Turn with: W or S alternatively with Cursor up or Cursor down


Made with Openfl, graphics with PyxelEdit and sound effects with Bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#402Fun3.23
#676Humor2.49
#715Theme3.16
#759Audio2.13
#809Mood2.61
#812Overall2.88
#890Innovation2.59
#985Graphics2.24

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16am

It's a little too much "angry bird" for my taste. Okay, I mainly said that because I lost. Sorry.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Love it. The fact that we see were we died remind me Super Meat Boy!
Love the control and the difficulty!

frnknstn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

This is pretty fun, more so than I would have thought from the screenshot.

Some advice for a post-compo version: some people will find it more natural to control the fish with left/right instead of up/down.

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

There's many dead fishes in front of my screen. lol

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:01pm

That was really hard (I lost). I like the dead fish staying around. No replay?

dallonf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I think this game would have benefited from either a more Flappy Bird sort of scoring system that judges your progress based on how far you got, or a much more forgiving maze to test your ability to target the enemy at the end. At least, I assume that's how it works; I never got to the end.

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Man, this is REALLY hard at first! I was not able to finish :9

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Challenging, but it gets a little frustrating at times.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Was pretty fun! I would have preferred the option to reverse the controls however.

edve98 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Man, this is REALLY hard at first! I was not able to finish :(

Darkgoon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Had some little problems with the collisions but well done!

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Really funny game. Simple but addictive.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11pm

The game is one of those nice little time wasters (in a good way :)) Something you could add is some effects when the fish is launched and when you hit your target.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07pm

That was like a ludum dare flappy bird. Very addictive and enjoyable for me

FReNeTiC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

I did it!
But I forgot the color of my target, so I killed the wrong one :(

This game was fun, and you should improve it!

As @frnknstn, players should be able to switch control to left/right :D

Also, check your colosion algorithm.
A few times my fish touched the red bars, but the game didnt count that.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:58am

I really enjoyed the game! I wish there were more levels, but of course with time constraints I understand. Definitely enjoyed the title, great game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48am

I like controlling a guided missle, though the speed is fast enough that it was pretty tough. :P

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I enjoyed it, reminded me of my car's terrible turning radius.

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:45pm

It took a few tries but I could finish it! Found it challenging at the right level: not so easy but also not so hard.

Null DIES says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Simple but challenging.

EwChap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:10am

So many dead fish. Agree with some others, left right felt like it would have been more natural but once I got the hang of it it was fine.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:09pm

It was fun. Well done in its concept, challenging and hard to make it.
I like the splash screen graphs, the game could be more interesting with this aesthetics.
Good luck!

cyand1317 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:40am

Nice game. Simple, but quite difficult and challenging. I don't think I can reach the end in a short time :)

surpent says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Fun! But I could not clear.
This game is the time thief!

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Very cool, reminds me of the old arcade game Looping, especially with the wide turns of your fish missile. It's also great that your failures stick around for you to see!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Cool game, challenging. As you may understand while playing my entry, i'm a big fan for water-animals :-)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:39am

that was fun! really hard but fair

PushmePullyu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:03am

Wow I was feeling down for a while now but these comments made me a tad happy. Guess I gotta work on a post compo version :D Thanks for the critiques guys!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]