Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Laughter

by Pinktreeleaf - Jam Entry

#Oculus build taken down to fix fmod bug

Coping Anxiety psychedelic Dream Memories

Laughter is an inward journey into a mind shattered by something usually harmless.

-Designed for Oculus
-Developed on DK2
-Playable without Oculus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Graphics(Jam)3.47
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

Ugh, where's the play-able?

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24am

I would like to play it but don't have the necessary hings to do so. Interesting screenshot though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

Can you show gameplay video?

gv1351 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

This looks good would like to play it.

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

This looks beautiful! Wish I could give it a try.

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

super cool concept and kudos for such a well written story. I wish there was more content in there

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:43am

Got to play this last night. It's great, and totally deserves to be expanded on. One of those "is it a game?" games that leave you thinking.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:21am

We are still working on a fix. Plan B is to show a video. Thanks Yaroslav Kravtsov for the advice.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08am

Oh cool with a VR game. Hard to rate though.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:49am

WINDOWS BUILD IS FUNCTIONAL

yak32 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:54pm

awesome concept! did you buy the app? how easy is to make 3d objects from photos?

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:35am

An interesting visualization of the general feelings of anxiety. I felt that the anaglyph 3D added to the mood even without 3D glasses ;-)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:07am

Graphics were really nice. Vignette around the view was cool nice touch. Zqsd was kinda weird and I couldn't switch the key bindings.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:22am

Really liked the graphics! Sorry about that first review, it was meant for another game. It was spooky.

keegan.o says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Here's the blog post I made about working on this:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/28/laughter-an-exploration-of-extreme-anxiety/

And yak32, I'm using Autodesk 360 Recap, which comes for free with a Maya LT subscription. It is surprisingly easy to use! I have a DSLR and am an experienced photographer, but as long as you have a way to get good (and consistent) photos, it's really quite simple. Basically just take a bunch of pictures from different angles (two or three rings around the object at different height levels depending on concavity of the object), one of my favorite things about it is that it's totally intuitive to get higher resolution on specific parts of the object by getting closer and taking additional pictures where you want. Really cool technology. This is definitely just the beginning of me using it with gamedev...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]