Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GraviSniper

by unitycoder_com - Jam Entry

GraviSniper!

Drag & Drop gravity-timewarps to affect bullet trajectory and try to hit goal as few bullets as possible. Passing level gives one bullet back, or hitting the golden box gives +3 bullets.

(see start menu for instructions)


RESOURCES USED:
– Font by “Davyboy723″ : http://www.dafont.com/allstar4.font
– Sound by “SmartWentCody” : http://freesound.org/people/SmartWentCody/sounds/179005/
– Sound by “unfa” : https://www.freesound.org/people/unfa/sounds/154891/
– Sound by “differentieel” : https://www.freesound.org/people/differentieel/sounds/245455/
- Sound by “CGEffex” : https://www.freesound.org/people/CGEffex/sounds/96634/
– Sound by “fins” : http://freesound.org/people/fins/sounds/171646/
– Sound by “qubodup” : https://www.freesound.org/people/qubodup/sounds/182051/
– SkyBox from Unity : https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/29140
– Substances from various free packs: http://unitycoder.com/blog/2013/03/23/substance-resources-for-unity/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#104Innovation(Jam)3.80
#323Overall(Jam)3.44
#350Fun(Jam)3.28
#563Theme(Jam)3.29
#620Graphics(Jam)3.08
#627Mood(Jam)2.91
#861Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I love the use of gravity, but the sniper is a pretty conventional weapon. really good game overall.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Very cool little game, I love the little camera in the corner that lets you see your bullet in first person :P Nicely done!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Very original game that works well. The combination of the top view and the bullet view is really nice. The atmosphere is dark and stressful. And the weapon is the most unconventional I have seen yet.

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Interesting idea. I really struggled to hit the target :)

MrRoboman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

The first person camera is super cool! I wish I could have played without the timer and with unlimited bullets so I felt more free to experiment and play around.

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

I like the concept! Good work!

Ranmara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

This is really great, the most interesting game I've played so far. The difficulty ramped up a bit too fast for me on the level where you have to double back around and I couldn't get it round the first corner using only one gravity blob so had to start again from the beginning. Really cool and I like the 3rd person bullet cam :)

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41pm

The coolest game I've tried so far. As Blobo said, a sniper weapon is pretty conventional, but the gravity field thing is really unique (at least afaik :-).

Some feedback regarding the level structure : I would like to have seen a really easy level for each gravity bubble type. At first I was really confused as to which color did what. Even the help on the startscreen doesn't cover it. So something like the first level only having a blue bubble, and the second only having a purple one. Then you can take what is currently the first level as the third one. This should teach the player the rules without overwhelming him/her.

Also, I beat the game (I think) and got back to the first level. I guess the goal of the game is to gather as many points as possible. While it does add to the length of the game, I don't think it really benefits from it. Better keep it short and sweet in my option.

Reading my review now I sound quite negative :-P but I'm not! It was a good game! Sound, controls and graphics are good. And the idea is excellent! We have enough platformers in LD, it's nice to see something new.

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Wow! That's super awesome idea! But I'd rather play without the limit of time and bullets, maybe some 'sandbox' mode?

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Cool idea, but pls select a nicer start level, it was quite difficult as an entry :) Nice Game!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Unless I'm mistaken, you have to restart the whole game if you run out of time, which is annoying. Brings down an otherwise good game.

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Interesting idea. I wish that at least for judging purposes it would let me start back at the level I failed on rather than at the beginning.

You can basically only play this game using trial and error, so it's pretty difficult to get significantly better at it. It was a little rough remembering which colors do what.

It's certainly unique and enjoyable as a puzzle game.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice trajectory manipulation game. It took me a while to notice that you can adjust the firing angle of the gun, then that made it a lot easier. Great job!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30pm

One of the most gratifying games to succeed in. Very polished game and a really interesting mechanic.

nutcrack says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Very nice idea and pretty impressive work here! Well done!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Really well executed and original idea. I wish there was more room to experiment with the physics though and not keep going back to the start.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:53am

Good sounds, and I really like that FPS camera thingy. Gameplay was ok, it was a bit unclear which gravity field pushed or pulled though, same for the HUD display. Overall a nice entry!

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:57am

Cool mechanics. A little hard to predict the power of the attraction/deflection points, and hard to position them as well because of the fuzzy edges. Liked the first person view of the bullet firing! With a story this game could become something really cool.

rojo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:56am

The slowdown effect and bullet cam are both nice touches. However, I could do without the timer and having to restart from the very beginning when failing a level. Still, the core concept is pretty fun!

psychonull says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:57pm

liked the use of gravity to move the bullet. the sniper is a pretty conventional weapon. good work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]