Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dreamfisher

by Tanser - Jam Entry

!!OpenGL versions are not working properly. If so the game might crash or show white screen. Please don't vote in this case and sorry for the inconvenience.!!
!!The game requires OpenGL 3.0 or higher!!

Story:
At the bank of an ordinary river a fisherman throws his fishing pole in the water. The bait glides at the touch of the water. Time to wait

for the unfortunate fish which first makes contact with the spurious bait. Tragic end for a fish, but a happy one for the catcher.
Might be a long while and the fisher is here for a break too. He rests himself lightly in the chair and waits. Few minutes pass and the

fishing pole string moves. He opens his eyes. In front of him - a vista of wonders - no sign of the previous river, but endless skies full of

surprises. He finds himself drifting in mythical dimensions. Dimensions of dreams and imagination.
But here are the fishes he so nasty tried to catch. They are on for revenge. Cracking the skies and clouds in parts the fishes speed up

to now catch him. In front of the fisherman appears an unconventional for the situation weapon - a laser. No questions. He better starts shooting

right now.

Gameplay:
As in a tower defense style game you should not let any fishes pass through the tree. When you kill a few fishes fast enough you are rewarded with a score multiplier.
We have few ideas for different fishes with special abilities like dashing and shields, but that is for future development. The deadline just wasn't enough for more.

Controls: W,S or Up and Down arrow keys - gun movement.
Spacebar - shooting.

Created by:
Peter Dimitrov - Art
Miroslav Dimitrov - Programming

*Update - the links now lead to archives consisting of both x64 and x84 natives implementations. If you can't run one of them, try the other.
!! You need Java. If neither of the jars work, please check whether your Java is installed properly or not. The game requires OpenGL 3.0 or higher!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#159Graphics(Jam)4.06
#216Audio(Jam)3.41
#354Mood(Jam)3.30
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#634Humor(Jam)2.61
#639Fun(Jam)2.87
#750Theme(Jam)3.02
#822Innovation(Jam)2.52

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

"!! The game requests latest version of Java. !!"

Yeah, something is wrong with my version so it doesn't run.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

@TaoPhoenix I'm sorry to hear that, it might be actually that the native implementations did not match your Java's. We now have put both x64 and x84 version in archives. Everything should be working now and if not then its not anything on our end as a problem.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very good artwork

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Oh, art is amazing. Nice work!

Frewz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35pm

The menu ran beautifully, however when I clicked to play, the game ran, the audio played, and the UI showed. The game however did not! Such a shame as I was looking forward to playing this.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I can't run it.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

I love the art!

Artylo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

You might have a bug. Menu is all good, but then it just shows a white screen with the music. (И май сте българи така че здрасти)

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

@Artylo
We will look into it, thanks for the feedback. And ye you are right. :)

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

@Frewz , @elpaulo, @Artylo I looked into it and found what the problem was. The shaders we were using were for the newer versions of openGL. So i've changed it, and now if the openGL doesnt support the new shaders we are using our basic shaders :) Thanks for the feedback! It really was helpful :)
-Miro

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Beautiful art!

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I could not start it neither :(

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16pm

only white screen shows up after starting the game... but amazing music :D

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I tried to run it on my 64 bits windows 8.1 pc, but it doesn't work

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Amazing art.Really good sound fx.The gameplay may not be challenging and a bit boring but the graphics are outstanding!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

The game doesn't open the gameplay part. I click on Play and the screen stay white.

Wspon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

The graphics and music are wonderfull and really set the mood well, the gameplay is solid and it's pretty fun!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Main menu looked nice and the music was pleasant, but like some others I got the white screen when I hit the play. Hope you get it fixed, because I would like to try this...

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

THIS IS BEAUTIFUL! holly! congrats!

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

We applied few fixes, the white screen should be resolved. Please do respond if it still appears.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I only get a white screen with music, and UI overlay. I can even get a combo of some sort when spamming space- But not able to play.

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Beautiful game! The gameplay becomes a little repetitive after a few tries, but the music sounds and graphics makes it a fun ride

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Exception in thread "Game" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Please run the JVM with -XstartOnFirstThread.
at org.lwjgl.system.macosx.EventLoop.checkFirstThread(EventLoop.java:20)
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwInit(GLFW.java:426)
at com.miroslavd.Lares.Main.init(Main.java:53)
at com.miroslavd.Lares.Main.run(Main.java:111)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

on OSX 10.10 (running with -XstartOnFirstThread doesnt help)

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Cool entry guys, really loved the graphics. The hand painted aesthetic is beautiful and the fish design are quirky. The controls feel a bit unintuitive however, aiming is also a but sluggish. That said this is a great entry

defacid says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51am

I get the same error as Smiley. I've been trying for 20 min to get it to work. :(

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26am

It's a small thing, but I'd recommend against RAR files for distribution, especially for a jam game. Every major OS has a native ZIP extractor, but not a one of them comes with a RAR tool. I'm on a borrowed machine with neither a working java nor a RAR tool, so I'm afraid I'm hosed on this one. =(

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Nice sense of mood in this game. Love the painterly art style and the music. Gameplay is functional but a bit repetitive. Overall though, good work!

2R says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:42am

Pretty cool and art is great!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Amazing artwork and good gameplay. I like your JAVA attempt. I do work as a JAVA developer for my company and all I have to say is: JAVA can be your friend ... if it likes to be your friend ;)

Yes, the game is a bit repetitive but let's say this is a zen-like attempt to calm down the player from the anger of the real world :D

Good job!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Very beatiful art and music. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

th4t says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:43am

The artworks are really beautiful. Impressive for such a short amount of time. The music was also fitting wuite nicely.
The gameplay is a little simple. I would have loved to see some more diversity or some spin on this basic formula for a game.
Just spamming space worked best for me, so I missed the Game Over screen since it restarts when pressing space ;)
Still a great entry to the jam :)

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Cool idea, I don't think the laser was an unconventional weapon but rather unconventional for fishing. The art was fantastic. The music was good but too short, easy to tell it was looping.

vidarn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:56pm

The art was amazing and very moody and I had fun playing for a while, even though the actual gameplay felt pretty standard.

goerp says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Haha, I like the fact that you are on this dramy floating beautiful, idyllic island slaughtering the wildlife!
Graphics have a nice hand drawn quality to them.

Good piano sound, but the music was not really for me, after playing for a while it got on my nerves.

But nice game.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:50am

Nice little game.

I'ts x86, not x84, but that doesn't make the game any worse :)

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:49am

Great art and music, it makes it oddly relaxing even when you're swarmed with fish - or maybe fishing feels relaxing no matter the circumstances... Nice work!

Mossy Frog says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:58am

Very cool little game. I love the art it looks fantastic and te music sets the atmosphere nicely. The shooting mechanic felt just right and was easy to understand. Well done on both art and code! Awesome entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]