Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mad Maddie

by Boodog - Compo Entry

Hey there everyone! This is my entry, Mad Maddie!
You can open the "help" page in the game, but I'll also put the contents here, because you have to read it!!! By the way, in every level there is more oil, and more dogs.

---UNZIP THE ZIPPED FOLDER BTW---

The evil dogs from Dogtopia has invaded Earth! Too bad for them, they are really, really stupid. You are Maddie, a golden retriever. Maddie needs to save the world by leading the Dogtopians into the oil! Oil is harmful to dogs. It is considered a weapon of mass destruction, in the language "Dog"! Maddie moves by WASD or the arrow keys. She can stick out her tongue by pressing the spacebar while she is walking. Beware: Maddie has 5 minutes to save the world! Good luck hero, Maddie!
PS:
Level 1 - Up to 10 dogs
Level 2 - Up to 20 dogs
Level 3 - Up to 30 dogs
Level 4 - Up to 40 dogs
Level 5 - Up to 50 dogs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#261Audio3.23
#305Humor3.20
#450Mood3.05
#550Theme3.34
#608Graphics2.96
#653Fun2.94
#656Innovation2.94
#704Overall3.00

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

pertty good;

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

I didn't realize Oil was the nemesis of dogs... This is certainly an out there entry. It works fine though and seems polished enough for a 48 hour game creation. It did seem though that I didn't have to do much other than just sweep the levels as the Dogtopians basically threw themselves at the oil without any clever movements from me. I only managed to get to level 2, but I imagine on the higher levels with 50 dogtopians it's probably like dogtopian genocide with waves of them suiciding into the oil.

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

Windows 7 - I just get music. No gameplay. Crazy hardcore song though.

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13am

Nice, fun little game. :)

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:15am

The stacking of dogs on the same spot feels a bit weird, but still a nice game :)

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Seems solid mechanically, just a little lacking in the actual game play. I don't really get the oil thing, lol.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

Nice game.
Challenging for such a simple concept.
I was disappointed that the rabid dogs didn't deal damage.

sirikan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

I really like the song it is catchy :D

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Nice game.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Not a bad concept, though I wasn't sure what to do at first (especially as the bad dogs don't seem to have any consequence of touching me). Well done on the music!

ForSpareParts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36am

It's a bit frustrating that dying always sends you back to the start. Maybe the game could have a health system so that it's not quite so all-or-nothing?

The music has an old-school arcade vibe to it, which is great! Also loved the sprite work -- Maddie's wagging tail really sells her for me.

breadstix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38am

I thought it was simple yet fun. I kept trying to go to fast which makes the game harder than it should because I wouldn't pay attention and ended up in oil. Very solid entry. Congratulations!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

Cool game mechanic! The backstory is great ;) It's actually a challenging little game. Great job dude!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:57am

I like sticking my tongue out. . . BLEP! Some more sound effects would have been nice, but the music was good, and my wife couldn't stop giggling, so bonus points for that!

Cerberus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

I really enjoyed it, it was refreshing and i got the mechanic really fast, i liked the way the design went!

Boodog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43am

Thanks so much, everyone!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:44am

At first I thought the goal was to lick other dogs. I like vestigial mechanics like that.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

Interesting game, the gameplay is a bit repetitive though

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:07am

That song is not playing around.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44am

This was fun! I really liked the music and the art was nice, too. I wish dying meant restarting the current level instead of the whole game since it gets pretty tricky. Overall I though it was really fun, great job!

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice take on indirect control mechanic! A combo system would have been sweet :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I like it. Very creative.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Unable to start the game. Is it a runnable jar file? Did not work.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I found an easy way to win this! XD Gather all the dogs, and when they're all folliwing you, lead them into all, and all die at once! XD

I like this game, it's fun!

Thank you for participating.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00am

Spent far too long thinking I was rounding up the dogs and avoiding the oil, my own fault for not reading the help I guess :) Simple but entertaining. Good work.

-Hando

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

Nice game I liked the song
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Tijn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Trying to lure dogs into a pool of oil is a nice mechanic :)

Oborux says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Nice game! Spacebar for dog tougue is funny :-P
I did a game with a yellow dog too for this LD, its a bit messy
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=19289

borgi says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Cool graphic style! Cool concept!

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:27am

Funny story and surprisingly challenging game. The music is pretty fitting for the stressed dog-destroying shenanigans as well.

I appreciate that you put in a dedicated tongue button. : )

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]