Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

KNIGHT

by CScribes - Jam Entry

Please rate, play, and comment :) Audio will be up soon enough.

"Reflect justice!"

History:

Long ago in the land of Solorius, a young warrior princess by the name of Helena is poised to become the new empress.

On the day of her coronation, however, demon shadows arise from the depths of Nightshade, in an attempt to assassinate her before she can ascend the throne.

She escaped with her life but, they take away the treasure of her land and most of her armor, leaving behind an enchanted mirror.

With the use of her mirror she must fight her way back to her realm, recover the Holy Chalice of Light, and defeat the evil shadow Lord.

Features:

- 2 Levels

- One magic mirror

- Cute graphics

- A holy chalice

Controls:

Movement
- A = Ready the shield
- S = Clone the first enemy
- D = Shield Bash

Using an Enemy
- D = Attack
- S = Back to Helena

Pause
- Press the Esc key

Built in Unity 3D. Tested on Windows 8.1

Credits:

Cauá Picetti/@cauapicetti: Main Artist

@CScribes: Co-Artist

Will Be Added Shortly: Music

Vinícius Brochetto/@Chamagoiaba: Programmer

Matheus Schneider: Animator​

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#242Innovation(Jam)3.53
#257Theme(Jam)3.72
#514Graphics(Jam)3.31
#868Overall(Jam)2.78
#882Humor(Jam)2.00
#884Mood(Jam)2.44
#972Fun(Jam)2.31

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

I just tried your game and I liked the fact you're using a mirror as a weapon, it's interesting. The game is pretty difficult though, and I ended up failing multiple times against the first two enemies =').

Not bad for a game made in only a couple of days! I just wish there would be some music to set the mood ^^.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I liked it ! ^^

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:07am

The little green guy is adorable. I really like the "ready the shield" then bash. When I would spawn a clone i would just die. Great mechanic idea.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:44am

The graphics and animations are really great. I felt like the attack speed was too slow because I kept dying. Nice idea of using a mirror as a shield.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:48am

Wow, great use of the theme. This is a pretty innovative concept. It obviously needs more work but I like where this is headed.

local minimum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:10pm

The mirror and the graphics was really really good. The difficulty and the action speed of the character could do with some further tweaking. Maybe a visual effect showing what can be reflected in the mirror. I downed some monsters, but it was quite hard. One idea could be that the mirror actually consumes the enemy it reflects so that you can temporarily incapacitate one and use against the other. Only that leaves the problem of getting rid of the last one.

And the obvious, it would do very good with music.

It was a nice play.

philipp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:36am

Great idea. From my perspective it could be more dynamic and faster overall. Fighting against solo enemies wasn't too interesting, as soon as more came up, it was more exciting.
Kudos for your own art style :]

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:09am

Nice graphics and interesting mechanic/idea. I don't know why my cloned monster can't attack as quickly (or even more quickly) than the original one, it's a little frustrating.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:52am

Pretty neat idea, the execution leaves me wanting, but I think if you went with this idea it could really prove interesting.

Shivur says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:43am

Good graphics.

jmborden says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:52am

Seems a bit unfinished, I didn't see the life bar go down at all. Her movement was a bit cumbersome and slow. It also seemed that the cloned enemies were weaker than the originals, but I guess that is how you made it. It seems like a decent idea, but not for sure if it was executed the best.

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:53pm

The pacing of the game is far too slow (I like the animations but I think they should be a bit faster) and it's a shame you couldn't get sound done on time (would have improved it by a lot) but other than that, I loved the mirror shield mechanic.

Also, the embed version of the game appears to be broken.

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:38am

This was an interesting game. I like the idea of it. However, the gameplay is pretty lacking. All of the animations and movement are much too slow, the game could definitely be faster paced. As for the art, some of it was good and some of it could have been better. I like the art for the first enemy and some of the environment, but the player character could have used some work. Lastly, this definitely could have used some sound.

CScribes says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far! I agree the mechanics need polish but, alas, I can't fix it haha

Dorgam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:53pm

This game has potential, however it needs a lot of work to polish it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]