Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tomorrow

by Kate Kligman - Jam Entry

Tomorrow by Kate Kligman & Shawn Livermon.

Role-play a surveillance drone! Fly from window to window gathering intelligence. Skip too many and watch the world sunset into oblivion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#392Audio(Jam)3.03
#728Theme(Jam)3.05
#793Innovation(Jam)2.59
#802Mood(Jam)2.63
#899Humor(Jam)1.93
#973Overall(Jam)2.60
#1013Fun(Jam)2.18

Comments

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52am

Nice art style. The instructions could be a bit more clear though.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I like your idea, and the art portrays it well - wish there was a payoff for gathering lots of data!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I like the art and music. The surveillance idea is neat too. And very relevant.

Wertle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I liked the color window feedback for when you got intelligence, though eventually I started suffering from a little simulation sickness when the camera started moving really fast. The movement felt a little inconsistent which jarred my eyes somewhat. Also, it wasn't clear to me if it would end eventually or if it was an infinite game - maybe some feedback if you are approaching an ending if there is one? Or making some progress through the level? Also, the mood of the game was very chill and pleasant, which felt kind of disconnected from the idea of surveillance drones, so I was expecting something dark but got surprised at the rather pleasant atmosphere! But perhaps this is its own commentary? :) Nice job!!

Kitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:05am

Really liked the premise, and the city feel/parallax was great. Liked how it got faster as you gathered more as well.
Thanks!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:10pm

It felt like a nice start to a game. If there was some indication of progress perhaps different level styles later on it would be an excellent stand alone game.

mar3k says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:04pm

The art and music is great, though it would be nice to see something like a progress bar.

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Beautiful background and city, maybe a lot of work there but what is the main goal of the game ? Without any score system or meaning, the player doesn't know what to do, the game has to push him doing something to make it relevant. But keep going, it's nice !

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Nice graphics and music. I have no problem with art games but it would be cool if you could see what percentage of windows you have surveillanced or something.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Pretty neat game, some lag in the scrolling, but I see the world's sunset and that's cool.

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:16pm

hmmmm okaayyyyy it's a bit laggy and gameplaywise there could have been a bit more of challenge? also i don't think it fits the theme very much

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41am

Simple but fun. I quite like the pixelart cityscape in the background, and the starting screen is a nice style as well.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:46am

I like the mood and atmosphere! The abstract representation of gathering intelligence was very nice. I found the ship controls a little loose, and I wish I had more feedback as to how I was doing or what my goal was.

Good work!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:04am

Very unconventional idea. I missed some kind of scoring system or more challenging mechanics.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great art style, and I loved the music! Wasn't quite sure what to do at first, but then I kept touching the white windows of the buildings and I saw that that made me speed up. Then eventually the windows were gold, and then the background was blue, then red, and then the whole screen was black. Not sure what was going on but I do think that this game has potential. :)

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

The art was nice. Small thing but I would've preferred some sort of score counter.

Sundr0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice art ! Lacks feedbacks but it was nice to play !

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Cool game ! Also a big fan of the colored window feedback ! But I also agree with the others that some interface elements wouldn't be of too much... Nice work though :D

dos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:44pm

10/10 would watch world sunsetting into oblivion again

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:52pm

O.5
I.2
F.5
T.2
A.5
H.1
M.5
Above rating from my 6yr old son.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:53pm

O.5
I.2
F.5
T.2
A.5
H.1
M.5
Above rating from my 6yr old son

Goutye says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Nice graphics! With some transitions, the game could be even better! Good one.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The concept is interesting but like others have said, there appears to be no clear indication of any score or progress bar to tell how far I'm into the game. I do like the graphics and audio though.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:33pm

It's really hard on the eyes. Possibly because you're using timeouts instead of window.requestAnimationFrame?
Other than that it's pretty solid but in the current configuration you really have to try to avoid windows to see what happens when you lose. ;)

Novodantis says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Love the art style. But that sure is one flamboyant stealth drone =P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]