Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Arthur and the Staff of Arbitrary Arrangement

by Rscar - Compo Entry

Arthur and the Staff of Arbitrary Arrangement - LD32 Compo - Second LD entry


Venture far into the depths of the unknown, this is your destiny. You have but one companion, the Staff of Arbitrary Arrangement; to everything else, you are but a rat in the basement.

Use the staff to translocate with any physical object. To complete your quest, this ability must be used with both finesse and caution. Falling off a ledge will kill you. Getting attacked by a zombie will kill you. Getting attacked by a fast zombie will kill you faster. Getting shot by a skeleton archer will kill you. Accidentally translocating into that one zombie you just tricked into running off the edge... will kill you. Good luck.

Press onward Arthur... Do not go gentle into that good night.


Controls:
WASD - Move.
Mouse - Aim.
Mouse 1 - Fire translocation bolt - if it makes contact with any object, you and that object will swap places.

Objective:
Discover just how deep the rabbit-hole goes.

Toolset:
Game Logic: Libgdx/Eclipse
Image Assets: Photoshop
Sound/Music: There's no sound. Spooky dungeons are silent. Obviously. Have you ever been in a spooky dungeon before? With fast zombies... you don't hear them coming.

Total dev time: 30 hours
This was my second LD compo, and I had just as much fun as the first time! Looking forward to seeing everyone's finished games!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#86Graphics4.06
#122Mood3.60
#144Overall3.68
#176Innovation3.71
#257Theme3.71
#402Fun3.23
#779Humor2.29

Comments

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26am

Love the lighting. Neat game mechanic; it fits the theme quite well. Some sound would have been nice.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

A bit too hard for me, but nice game.

guoboism says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Love the graphic!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

I really like the lighting and the graphics. The mechanics are really awesome. The generated levels are really cool. Really awesome (:

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Very cool concept, very Portal-esque. The lighting was great, but it would have been nice if it was a little bright, it was hard to see what I was looking at. Great work though, the item swap is very satisfying

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

The lighting makes this game. Great lighting and visual effetcs coupled with a nice retro art style. However the gameplay itself was a bit to clunky for me.

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Light Effects is great!!!!

koredozo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

Really fun little game!

My only complaint is that it's really hard to see archer projectiles. I also agree that some ambient sound and SFX, if not music, would have gone a long way.

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

Neat mechanic, though a bit frustrating. Level generation is cool, but I seemed to get trapped fairly easily. Overall I had a really hard time progressing, but it was still enjoyable.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Quite a fun game, I really like the mechanic. I love how you can bunny hop through the game and also along sets of walls. The glow makes it hard to see the edge of the level a lot though and not knowing where you end up when you use the staff sometimes leads to some irritating deaths.

xn9q8h says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

I really like the procedurally generated levels. It takes a while to get the hang of the shots, but once you do it's really satisfying. I wish they moved a bit faster! Some music or FX would have been choice.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04am

Super smooth movement and amazing lighting effects! All it needs is sfx and atmospheric music to complete the immersion.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28am

28! Nice use of the dynamic lighting and interesting 'swapper' mechanic. Is there some procedural generation of the level going on too? Pretty nifty for 30hrs!

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03am

Great concept! Could have used some audio. Graphics are fine. Effects are great.

Good luck!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I think the graphics are awesome and the mechanic works well - really nice little project

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

Love the graphics and the mechanic. It was a bit hard to differentiate the the ground from the empty air sometimes.

Very hard, but very good :-)

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:48am

Quite nice, good graphics! Gameplay felt alittle buggy, but it wasn't, really. Something in between :P Fun entry!

Jasonsumm says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Love the look and feel of this :)!

May 5, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Very nice game, and very hard, too bad there wasn't any sounds; and very impressive for a second compo! Keep up the good work, you may end up in the top games soon!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]