Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Echoes of the Forest

by Midnight Creators - Jam Entry

Hear the sounds of the forest
They are calling us
Calling from the deepest heart
To show us the truth behind the darkness



**NOTE**
The game isn't 100% finished.
It was an new experience to us, we tryied a lot of new assets and stuff. The result is kinda rewarding and we are willing to make some adjusts to make it more polished.
Thanks a lot and we hope you like our little game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#28Audio(Jam)4.11
#41Graphics(Jam)4.49
#51Mood(Jam)4.02
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#784Innovation(Jam)2.62
#951Fun(Jam)2.35

Comments

Soa says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:09am

I've only seen art and I want this to become a full game.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

MUST SEE THE GAME. Art looks amazing! Definitely gonna play when comes out

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

I have no idea how you're supposed to move. The buttons on the left side don't seem to do anything. However, the music is fantastic and I love the art. The story has me so very curious and I would love to see more of it

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14am

Web version appears to be broken

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Art and music are great. But the movement lack feedback. After playing a few times, i understood the idea that the move is in anticipation, but maybe if have something on the ground to identify the transition points, will help make a most fluid gameplay.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Fantastic art and mood!
Good job!

Cosine says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

The art was absolutely beautiful. After a little while I figured out the controls. The music was also really nice. I didn't really understand the gameplay: I just went right and followed the leaves, saw the tree and then: Game Over.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

It's a very pretty and serene game. I'm sure if you continued work on it you'd throw some more variety into the gameplay. For now though, it's very well crafted and intriguing.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24am

Very beautiful game. I would change the font from something other than arial as it cheapens the feel of the world. Something a bit more whimsical would do the trick

benjamck says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

I love the artwork. Gorgeous graphics. The story is haunting and intriguing, it makes me want to see more. The controls took some getting used to. I bet this game could be really interesting if you guys push it just a little further ;)

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25am

Really cool graphics and music! Were left and right supposed to be on the wrong side?

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

Beautiful game, engaging theme. I had trouble with the movement, I expected keyboard input instead of clicking on the screen. It was hard to plan my clicks, I was trying to read the story at the same time as playing, and often missed clicking at an intersection only to send Red going off in an unexpected direction.

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:59am

The art is amazing. On the other side, controls are a little weird. Maybe it's a bug but sometimes the character would move on the oposite direction I selected

dyfer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47am

Love the illustrations. You created one of the most beautiful game I've seen so far. Coool

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23pm

@Techblogogy Web Version Fixed :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:26pm

@Cosine Wow, this is weird! Did you hit the enemy? Game Over just happen only when you touch them :S

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:31pm

@Nibble Bits Studio Thanks for the feedback! We had a bug that hid the road on the ground. Now it's fixed! :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32pm

@FrederickK Thanks a lot!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34pm

@DefectiveMelon Thanks for the feedback! We are glad you liked it ^^

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26pm

The art is really amazing, the sound gives the perfect atmosphere for the game. The left and right buttons are exchanged. Really want to see this game when it is completed.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Beautiful graphics and music! I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/N2U1d1bXaPI

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks a lot! We are really happy and proud to be included on your videos ^^

rudra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Really like the Awesome art and audio ! Definitely want to play the full game when it comes out ! Cheers and Congrats for the awesome game !

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:56pm

@rudra thanks a lot! ^^

sydan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:06pm

5 stars for graphics and mood. This game was beautiful. I think the gameplay and movement needed some work though, however the story kept it going!

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:21pm

The bad: The gameplay. The good: The rest. But where is the unconventional weapon?

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27pm

@DKoding First of all, thanks for the feedback! Well, our theme is a bit subjective haha The real weapon is the voice that protect the girl (the voice is the player). Weapons can be offensive and defensive too, so you are the defencive weapon that protect the girl showing her the way and evoiding the monster. Thanks for playing :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Wow, the art direction is stunning! There's no evident connection to the theme but well, the experience is really worth it. Have you ever thought of making visual novel =O? I' sure you would make really interesting stories!

scorched says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Beautiful. Though I'd like to see keyboard controls, not touch-like ones

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

@Traumendes_Madchen Wow, thanks for the feedback! We are glad you liked our art and story. We'd love to do some visual novel some day XD

@scorched thanks for playing and feedback. We agreed with you, keyboards are more intuitive on PC.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Very beautiful.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:14pm

It's a beautiful graphic adventure with an artwork which is very neat. I liked all these stylised pictures and the classical music, but it seems to me that the gameplay is worst of all. There is nothing to do, except define the next movement. It is perhaps a bit of a shame that it has been forgotten. Maybe I would prefer read a book. However it's a good entry for the quality of the artwork. Thank you ++

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very, very atmospheric!! Beautiful sound!
Clothes from the girl need some movement.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Absolutely beautiful! I think it would have been better to be more story/ mood focused, as what's there isn't thaaat fun :).

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Very beautiful game. Well done!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:32pm

@Techblogogy thanks a lot! We are glad you liked it ^^

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:57am

The artworks for the intro are beautiful and the music is great as well. The game could use some refinement, currently it's very short, but it already builds an atmosphere.
I would suggest splitting the forest background/foreground into multiple parallax scrolling layers as that would make for a nice effect. More than one level would be nice, this could also be used to develop the story more.
Overall great game, I hope you continue working on it.

2R says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:51pm

The art looks amazing!!

recursor says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

The music is lovely and sets the mood nicely. The art is also quite nice. there needs to be a way to speed up the story screens at the beginning, like pressing space or something so the player does not have to wait on them. Also the scrolling is a bit jerky. There isn't much in the way of game play but it is quite nice to look at and listen to.

MonoS says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:25pm

First the easy part:
The game is beautiful for the eyes and ears, probably one of the best locking game ever saw on LD, i really want to buy some illustration book by your artist Miss Augusta cause... oh my god if i like the drawings.
The concept is interesting but lack something to the gameplay, i found it uninteresting and boring, i'd have preferred none [but this didn't lowered any score for the game].

Now the hard part:
The ending, don't know why, almost made me to tears, i was petrified watching the ending, probably the game a a whole should have touched something inside me and i'd like to thank the team for that :) [already done on facebook, BTW]

Chikoness says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Very very mesmerizing art, especially the opening cutscenes. Really reminds me of Seasons After Fall and Ori & the blind forest's feels. A little bit of Child of Light too.

No conventional weapon to be found. >:

Gameplay could use a lot of improvement. I recommend checking out Child of Light.

If the gameplay is gonna be revamped and turn into a real full game, I want one. <3

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

@MonoS Wow...a lot of things to think about haha First of all, thanks for all the strong feedbacks! And my god, I almost cried with your reaction about the ending cutscene. It show me that this is what I wanna do, forever, with all my passion and heart: Be a game artist.

About my illustrations, do you wanna know my work? I have a facebook page xD
There is: https://www.facebook.com/biancaarts?ref=hl

Thanks again, for revel me your opinion and also your feelings.

P.S.: "Miss Augusta" make me blush hahaha :'D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:15pm

What a wonderful experience, some of the best art I've seen on a Ludum Dare entry.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Whoa i love this art style. Music is also exceptional.
From gameplay standpoint it's not too amazing but it gets you from point A to point B (literally). I really like this game in overall, good job guys.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very interresting exeprience. And very beautifull graphics, and music.
It was just a little boring to have to bounce from the end of a way to an other several times jsut because a wrong clic or because of a monsters blocking the way each time, but except that and the fact it was so short, it was a good and interresting exaperience. thanks !

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Very nice art and music, but the movements are difficult to control. Great atmosphere.

May 2, 2015 @ 10:22am

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
Nice visuals & music, a loveable eerie aura, 'n some food for thought. But as the commenters said before me: the controls need some tweaking, or maybe a little direction. There was no connection to the voted theme either.

Nevertheless it's a cool concept. Keep it up! :)

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Very beautifull! i think the images that tell the story could be shown longer, gameplay is a bit stiff, i understand it is aimed at tablet use, but there might be better options for controlling the character, i hope you'll expand on the idea, music is great too

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:18am

this is so precious! the art, the hint of the story, the music... it's all pretty magical

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]