Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Your Opinion, Adventurer?

by Ossi - Compo Entry

Arm yourself with your opinion, Adventurer!

You are alone on a quest to state your opinion and fight monsters! Yes YOUR OPINION is your weapon! Items will be presented to you and you must Yay or Nay and have your say to build up your stats. After all the items are assessed you will fight a series of monsters and if you survive (or die) you will see just how strong your opinion is! More details in the game!

Lots of replayability if you enjoy the goofy writing, just play again at the end of your run! Enjoy!

Fun Facts, There are:
42 Unique Adventurer Names
86 Unique Item Names
26 Unique Item Flavor Text
35 Unique Item Rarity Names
66 Unique Monster Names
35 Unique Monster Flavor Text

You only need to use a mouse to play this game.
There is no sound.

Dev notes:

Phew! I managed to hit the deadline and get the general concept of what I was going for into a functional game. I really wanted to focus on the funny/text bits of the game this time around rather than action. A bit disappointed that I didn't have time to make sound effects and music this time around but sacrifices must be made!

The more Ludum Dare games I do the more I realize I enjoy focusing the writing and atmosphere in these games based on silliness, jokes and puns. So I kept with that this time around as well.

I used Photoshop and Unity 5 / C# for this game.

Thanks for playing!

My stuff:
https://twitter.com/Ossi101
http://www.bobs-cave.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#412Humor2.98
#660Theme3.21
#670Innovation2.92
#939Mood2.35
#1012Overall2.58
#1025Fun2.25

Comments

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48am

Interesting concept. I lost though ;-) And I have to admit I also felt a little lost on how to develop a good strategy.

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52am

Haha, the names and monster descriptions are very nice. Well done, managed to rack up 7k opinion after a few runs.

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52am

I love your random texts! (As you may have guessed by looking at my submission). I kept klicking on yay and won three times in a row, so I think it could take some strategical balancing. However, nice idea and worth 2 Points for graphics as well :)

Keep it up!

Pat

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Nice idea! I like this type of games.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Very interesting idea! I really liked the variety in the text, and the sense of humour.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:26am

Very interesting, and pretty fun too.
Some music would probably help set the mood, but your game doesn't need it to be good and engaging.

Great work!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:55am

Definitely had the right idea! Wish there was more depth to using my opinion though :)

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42pm

You really put a lot of content in there and i really like your concept. But I think you could have put less effort in creating names and description and put more into gameplay.
Not because you only use the mouse, but I don`t see the point in clicking nay. You get always get 11 items to choose from and by saying nay you`re lowering your chances against the monster. Once I realised I`m better of just choosing yay, I just clicked my way through the game without reading all the text. Plus I wasn`t able to see my speed stats, because the meter went off-screen.
Overall a nice game with lots of potential.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Not my cup of tea but I can see the appeal. It's definitely original! Having your opinion influence the story is a great approach on "head canon" in games. Cool stuff.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12am

What a neat concept. It's feels like it could become a really complex game if you kept going at this :)

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very cute.
A lot of fun to be had with all the unique text.
Loved it.

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Good concept and the item descriptions are great.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:48pm

An interesting Idea. I feel the gameplay was lacking, because I just clicked Yay to everything and won. I don't like reading text unless I know it will impact how I play the game and if I have some investment in the world/mechanics. A score is just a number, challenging gameplay makes that number have meaning.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Nice work on making it in time for the compo, and I appreciate the absurd humor! The gameplay was a simple and familiar numbers game like a lot of RPGs out there. A suggestion for the future; this seemed more like something to watch and get a chuckle out of the silly descriptions than a gameplay experience. It's -really- important, perhaps The Most Important Thing in game design and games as a medium, to let the player make choices that are meaningful when affecting the outcome of the game. So many items boosted my speed that voting "Nay" really wasn't a viable option. So yeah, make sure to support meaningful player choices, good work on your entry, and and good luck on your future projects!

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:08am

Funny idea

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I really liked the concept, although I felt it was a bit confusing at first. It seemed also that it's more important to get strength and magic than speed. But with some refinement, it could be a great game. Also, a fighting animation would be nice. :)

You did not have to opt-out on graphics. It has a nice feel to it.

panurge says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Took me a while to figure out exactly how the game mechanics were working. That's more my problem than yours however! And the neat text descriptions made it all worthwhile.

May 12, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Neat idea, I enjoyed playing it! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3cEj0moqZLI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]