Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Best Policy

by Empyrealhell - Compo Entry

Winning a debate isn't easy, and sometimes you have to use underhanded tactics to gain the upper hand. Using logical fallacies as your weapons, you have to try and sway opinion in your favor against a myriad of savvy opponents.

Use the arrow keys to navigate the menus, and enter or space bar to select options.

The bar at the top is the current opinion. As your debate rages on, it will sway back and forth. The goal is to have opinion on your side at the end of the five rounds. Your credibility bar, just below the opinion bar, shows how much the audience trusts you. As this depletes, by using fallacies or by being slandered by your opponent, your actions have less impact. As you defeat opponents, you gain their abilities, so you can take on the top dogs of debate.


UPDATE: It should now work with the correct visuals and easing on chrome. The font it uses to render may not be available if you are running on a non-windows OS, so you may still see icons missing in that case.

UPDATE 2: Fixed a typo that was causing the politician debate to crash the game.

UPDATE 3: Final round of bug fixes. Corrected a + to a *, which drastically weakened certain abilities. This should make the later encounters winnable. Also corrected a display bug on large menus, and a bug that let you skip fights by holding enter.

UPDATE 4 (4/30): There were some issues with the AI that were masked by the small bugs I fixed after the compo ended. I spent about an hour tracking it down and fixing it, so the AI is now much smarter about the skills it uses. If you feel like this is going against the bug fix spirit, I've made the update optional, just select to use the old AI when prompted at the start.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#103Theme3.97
#108Innovation3.87
#183Humor3.48
#231Overall3.55
#250Fun3.45
#412Audio2.96
#434Mood3.07
#881Graphics2.47

Comments

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37am

Game doesn't run for me, just shows a light blue screen.

daleth90 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41am

I think the link has some problem.
I can only see a blue screen. :(

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24am

A fun idea. But why should I absolutely lose to every one.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:25am

Some opponents seem to crash the game (at least the politician), but I like the idea.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30am

Great! I really love your idea, quite unconventional ;)
The creditility bars are very readable, I would like a visual meter for the change of opinion as well.
Your system is very well thought out, congrats!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51am

This is a really cool concept! There's a bug where if you spam the spacebar during a debate, you win (it also messes with the music). Regardless the game is really fun and I enjoyed playing, great job!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45am

Really easy for me, but very fun!

IBM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54am

Really thought it was a great idea and loled when I saw what it was about. The concept was clear but I really believe that it would gain a lot by making the strength and weaknesses of the tactics more visual.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00am

Great concept!!
But I am not good at this :(

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04pm

A battle of wits? Nice idea!
Full score for the theme!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12pm

I really want to like this, but I think I'm too dumb to understand how Ad Hominem beats Genetic Fallacy.... Or something.

Basically comes down to learning what each of the Pokemon moves do, and doing the most damaging ones and then doing the ones that heal you when you're down too far? Something like that?

Do different attacks have different "elementals" so that one is more/less effective than another against specific moves?

I really can't tell. It just all seems too random. Needs a pokemon-like system to really figure it out.

Great idea, just difficult to engage with.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:00am

Took me a while to get it, and I wish there was some narrative to go along with it. In the end though I really liked it. It's really simple and really effective.

One of my first thoughts was "I wish this was longer so these decisions had more of an impact". But I don't know that I would have actually finished it if it went on for more than 5 rounds. Probably a good decision on your part.

Nice job overall. Enjoyed it.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:08am

Fun little game, I managed to beat it!

After a few victories, all opponents seem to use "breaking the circle" constantly, which ends up in them losing their own credibility and opinion scores.

But besides that, it was great; good work!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:41pm

At some point it becomes mind-boggling. In a good way.

panurge says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:18pm

A nice idea with interesting, thoughtful gameplay. I enjoyed playing, even if I did get beaten repeatedly by a child... :)

nameoftheuser says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Very good job

jhell says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:01am

Wow. Very cool. Great music and general audio atmosphere. I also like the idea for the theme. My only critic is that I kept this feeling of "what the hell am I doing" more or less from start to finish ^^. I figured a few good combinations, but other than that it was mostly random. Maybe give more precise indicators regarding the different abilities, with numbers?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]