Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Funky Knight

by Fluffy Tigers in the Sky - Jam Entry

Luxembourg wants it all, the whole world.
Problem: They don't have tanks, they don't have manpower, but they have YOU, Jeff Fligeren, their secret weapon.
Your first stop is Germany and you have to convince them to hand over their country with your charms, wits and intimidation techniques.

Funky Knight - an animated and fully voice acted adventure.

Use WASD to walk around and use your mouse to choose dialog options.
You can meet three characters. But we got one problem, if you alternate between right and wrong options there is no failstate for that so you will have to restart the game if you run out of options. Sorry

When rating the audio please keep in mind that the music is only chosen, not made by us, we had a lot of fun and spend a lot of hours for the voice acting though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#36Humor(Jam)4.02
#97Audio(Jam)3.77
#154Mood(Jam)3.62
#200Graphics(Jam)3.93
#214Fun(Jam)3.48
#244Theme(Jam)3.74
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#524Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

gaugepunk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:07pm

noice

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Oh god, I laughed a lot playing this game (really, I LAUGHED A LOT)
Good job making this game so fun to play and good luck! :D

xirion11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

I could not get past the first guard, i ran out of dialogs and now nothing happens

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09am

GREAT audio and music. Amazing!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

@xirion11: yes sorry, I thought of that problem last night, but it was to late. If you alternate between right and wrong answers you get stuck.

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

This is awsome! Really well done. The GFX, mood, the dialogs very fun and entertaining.Had a blast playing it.

Clavus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Hehe, that was fun. Managed to get stuck at the guard on my first try because I alternated between right/wrong answers. But still reached the end later on. Graphically is nice, background music too. Voice acting was delightfully cheesy. Great job!

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Nice, fun, cool and FUNKY

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

That was awesome

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Funny. How did you manage to do all that in that amount of time? I LOL'ed a lot playing this. 10/10 best game ever. First game I gave all 5's.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Uhh thank you very much, we feel really honored!
We're going to submit a making-of timelarpse video soon :D.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Funniest game I have played yet!!! Graphics were top NOTCH. So many voice options too! So funky! Not sure if I saw everything. I went through every option and he stayed still.

MacMC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14pm

The funk is outta this world!

dydx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

One of the most entertaining games I've played so far. Well done!

goerp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:24pm

I quite liked the question/answer system. The game wasn't too long or too hard, but you had to think a bit for the correct answers.
There sure is a lot of voice acting.
The german accent I like :D

The graphics look hand drawn and are great, the whole package looks smooth.
I can't fault you for the simple animations, I actually like that (that's what I do too).

I would not recommend the web version if you have to reload every time you make a wrong answer.

And nice that you are so open about the usage of music. But all the voice acting deserves a audio raring too.

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Good dialogs!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I had fun.The art is very beautiful.
Great voice work.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Very fun little game, and I enjoyed the graphics style a lot. Managed to beat it on the first go, though I was a little confused at the beginning. Great work!

th4t says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:56am

Wow what a great game.
This has to be the funniest jam entry I have seen so far :D
The graphics are amazing and the voices are hilarious.
Very unique interpretation of the theme.
Really great work :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Mouch says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Funky Game!

I love it

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice, I love the audio! Well done!

jk5000 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Great humor and super voice acting.

jukben says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Funky sounds FTW!

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Funny humor game!! =)

AdricZero says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Great graphics and voice acting. I could not get past the first guard though.

jcsirron says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:57pm

This game was hilarious! It kinda felt like a craps shoot at some points with the dialogue tree, but I like the BLA bubble to try to get some information out of the person to know what to say.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]