Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

StickyBot

by JALgames - Jam Entry

StickyBot is a classic platformer, but there's a twist: StickyBot can go up walls and even hang upside-down: simply hold down A or D while also pressing W and StickyBot will climb up the wall. Holding down W will make him hang upsaide-down from the ceiling.

Please note that the framerate might drop in the later game. We're working on a fix...

Credits:
Johannes Lehmann: Programming and Art
Steffen Kahl: Level design and Art
This game was made using C#, Monogame and my custom base code.

If you want to take a look at the source code, send me an e-mail to johannes@jalgames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#290Fun(Jam)3.35
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#423Overall(Jam)3.33
#509Graphics(Jam)3.32
#637Mood(Jam)2.89
#889Theme(Jam)2.67

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48am

MolarAmbiguity's Review:
This is a fun take on platforming. When I first read the description I wondered how difficulty could be added when you can drive on walls. You managed to execute this really well. Good job!

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09am

Everything felt very weightless, I couldn't progress to the right, so I went left and it said the end.
I managed to ride up the left wall to find a bunch of sun flowers on the ceiling and then the game crashed.

bmfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16am

The rover is quite floaty.
Had the same experience of Shimmergloom. When I touched the sunflowers the game crashed.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I wish there was music. The graphics work really well!

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Didn't really match the theme

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Finished !
Nice engine and level design.
Suggestions :
- Ability to control how high you jump
- More enemies !
- Needzz music and sounds !
Good job anyway.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Hey, I fixed the problems with my game. Will check out your game later :)

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:10am

Interesting mechanic, but the physics felt weird to me, particularly the jumping. It was still interesting to play, and the LD was definitely pretty good (especially at the beginning), you got me onboard naturally.

borgi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:47am

Cool entry, I liked the wall climbing idea! Controls were a bit unusual for be, but that might be just for me.

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:53am

This game is so good, I recommand it. Nice controls, the levels have variety and challenges. Although, the save points make it not so frustrating to get through. Also fits the theme even though the bot is not really a weapon.

rudra says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Nice game , with good graphics and level design. Wished there was music, but very good one anyway ! :)

Zayron says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I kept thinking of the Spider-man theme while playing this. :)

Enneract says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice idea, and implemented fairly well :) I did notice I was getting frame-rate spikes though which could get a little frustrating while playing. But overall a cool idea, and great level design!

crazyrems says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

I liked the sticky bot which runs all over the walls and ceil like a spider. It became unplayable when reaching the basements, very, VERY laggy. It runs to 2FPS!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:28am

The rover felt pretty floaty which is opposite of what I thought, that he's be heavy and I'd have to rely on sticking to walls a lot. (Which I did) I found it a bit odd that the levels had me going down so much more than up since the sticking ability naturally made me want to climb things. As for the sticking mechanic itself it does need some fine tuning but didn't get in the way as much as it could have. Overall you did a pretty good job.

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Unfortunately, I've hit a lot of frame rate issues that made the game practically unplayable at several points. That said, I do have to say the wall-sticking is a genuinely creative mechanic. I appreciate that the controls are pretty intuitive: I thought it'd be a lot more complicated, but not so! I also like the platforming as a puzzle itself, constantly making me re-evaluate how to proceed past the spikes. It's well done, and it's a shame that the technical problems is the main hindrance in enjoying this game.

Gunzil says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:56am

The platforming is not great. The jumps feel "floaty", since you jump very high. Holding the jump button shorter / longer doesn't influence jump height, which makes the jumps feel less natural as well.

The sunflowers and sheep enemies don't add anything to the gameplay really, the sheep are trivial to deal with and might as well have not been in the game.

I quit when you had to fall down a pit without knowing what was under you (other than a danger sign pointing down), and somehow not fall on things you cannot see.

The wall sticking doesn't have much to do with the theme, the jump is also so intensely strong that it downplays the wall sticking, which should have been the star, given the titular character.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]