Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ramming Speed

by dingotime - Compo Entry

After thousands of years of breeding programs humanity has
finally bred the perfect ram fighter pilot. Their natural inclination to ram each other makes them suitable only for ramming missions. Pilot your ram deep into the bowels of enemy ships and ram into the power core.

Controls:
Aim and click mouse pilot the spaceship.

Web version is from Unity (so won't work in Chrome)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#36Overall4.00
#82Audio3.74
#103Fun3.76
#114Graphics3.98
#157Humor3.56
#172Mood3.48
#633Innovation2.98
#660Theme3.21

Comments

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50am

Sweet graphics and camera work, good challenge, a custom font would've been cool to complete the mood.

The music is perfect to calm the nerves after 500 doors rammed :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37am

40 well trained rams later... great game! Controls are very smooth, which is essential for a game like this.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

Really nice look. Ramming though a corridor of firing turrets is quite satisfying.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43am

I like the game. It gets really hard really fast though XD.

(to be fair, I'm not very good at reaction or timing -based games)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43am

I want to buy DLC with ability to ram everything on my way. Because I giveup on second level. Sorry. After losing all my nerves on making my own game, I've nothing to keep patience in other games.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:44am

This is great. I love the camera panning at the beginning, and the controls are perfect. Lots of fun, music was great, and the level design was really well done.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:44am

But I need to admit, that graphic, music and game mechanics on high level.

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47am

Music and sound effects cracked me up. Very nicely done. Love the high tech (ha) maps with X marks the spot. Ok I need to go make another run at that level...

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

Wow. Best one so far. Or at least the most polished one. Only one I have rated 5 stars!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34am

Very cool game. I liked the graphics especially. The crude thruster sound does not fit well with the nice music. The Level design is the greatest weakness. The first level is already far too hard. Overall really well made.

Pete says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

I loled at the premise, now to try the game...

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16am

I love the pun in the title! Really great game, controls well, looks good and has a nice tune in the background. After the first two levels it starts to get really challenging. Overall really fantastic!

Lizzip says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18am

I have killed many many rams, and I am only on the second level. Really well made game

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34am

Great game. My mouse skills kind of suck tho. Would be cool if you allowed for WASD or a gamepad analog stick instead of the mouse.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35am

BEST game I have played in this LD!!

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36am

Good stuff, the gameplay was addictive and simple. This was the first game I've been playing for a longer time!

A333 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41am

Ship controls nicely, and is fun to fly around.
Third level first door though... claimed too many rams =)

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58am

It's very hard, but it's addictive. Nice work. I like the graphics too.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice controls.

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24am

a bit hard for me
but, it's good for game like this

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37am

Fun but pretty tricky! Since a lot of the doors close at different rates it might be nice to have some kind of anticipation so the player knows when it's opening / closing. The music and art seemed very fitting. Great work!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42am

lol at that thumbnail!

i won after 44 rams lol

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57am

Quite good work. And art is simple but stylish.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22am

I really liked the graphics. The way the player is maneuvered works quite well as well. Nice work!

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:50pm

The ram fighter pilots are hilarious and I found myself unintentionally echoing their cry of "aaaahh" when I would crash into something. The music is nice and light and the graphics are lovely.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Finished it and used 36 well-trained rams lol.

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Great game! I failed @ level 1 about 5 times and made may way through the other levels at first try :D. Super cool stuff here!

Did you manual put together the levels? Good job!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:38am

Good job, great music and control, very fun game
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:55am

I really enjoyed this game. Really liked the hand drawn graphics and music, added a lovely homemade feel. The game play was fun as well, really solid game mechanic. Good work!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:38am

Only 56 rams! Nice level design.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:12pm

24 well trained rams later...

Really slick graphics and camera work -- overall just great production value for a compo entry!

If you could figure out a good control scheme for mobile, these games are really popular right now (see Mr Jump)

elitegoliath says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:00am

Freaking hysterical! Looks nice too, awesome!

crazya02 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Fun! I'd say it was worth 87 well trained rams. Those turrents on the outside of the Death Moon weren't very nice, though...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]