Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TUNDRA

by PaperBlurt - Compo Entry

You wake up.
Walking.
On a tundra.
You're cold.
Where are you?
How did you end up here?

- - - - - - -

TUNDRA is a piece of interactive fiction / text based game made with Twine.

It features:

- Hopefully a compelling storyline
- Three endings
- Graphics & Sounds
- A lot of text and maps

Made with:

- Twine
- Photoshop
- Pages (for proofreading)
- Fission
- Audacity

Enjoy...

- - - -

UPDATE 21/4:

Grammar and spelling errors found by "emmelineprufrock"

UPDATE 24/4:

Typos found by "Ditto"

UPDATE 25/4:

Typos and grammar found by "Frenchie"

UPDATE 29/4:

Small fixes and updates

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.58
Coolness100%
#21Overall4.13
#58Audio3.86
#232Innovation3.60
#267Fun3.41
#300Graphics3.49
#715Theme3.16
#789Humor2.27

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05am

Brilliant experiences you always manage to create with these text games!
With these there is no status quo, only ever pushing forward knowing its a dream.
I think I'll play again to see the bad endings...

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13am

The design of this game is pretty cool, it really immerses you in the story. The map was super useful. Good game!

Evgiz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13am

Good job! As someone else mentioned it really immerses you in the story, the mood feels pretty solid. Good story as well. Keep up the good work!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17am

Stunning.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

I really like this game :) Don't have any complains.

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24am

The sound creates a perfect mood with the storyline, great job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28am

This is intense. Total immersion, healthy dose of suspense. I'm really impressed!

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32am

Amazing experience.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

This was very good. I had a lot of fun, and didn't even realize I was in a text game until half way through. Amazing job!

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

Great story! Really feel the mood of it.

napedia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

Fantastic mood, pacing, audio. What a great compo submission

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

This is brilliant. Thank you for making and sharing this.

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

Very cool, great mood. I like the minimalist aproach to sound and graphics, less distractions, more story

OadT says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54am

Impressive how much stuff you did. Unfortunately I stuck after I found the ladder, leading to another tundra :( I tried everything, but didn't get further. Anyway great atmosphere!

oranebeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37am

Oh my god; That was moving.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

The combination of music, sounds and the setting kept me on the edge of my seat, good job sir.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49am

A very nice game, I was playing this since one complete hour. Very interesting story.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:39am

Awesome creepy game. Pretty good in keeping me immersed in the game considering the game mostly used text, with only a couple of graphics.

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:24am

Great game, only regret is that it takes so long before getting interactive.

HeskHwis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:10am

The best game I've tried for now, I love the story and the atmosphere ! Well done, my dear.

Norgg says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:52am

Nice! Lots in here. Went through and got a couple different endings, are there any others?

The relative directions were a bit confusing at one point since I initially assumed they'd be relative to the entrance of the room (so that "left" would be "north").

RobotParking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Mother of mercy. Consistently amazed at the level of polish and design you manage with your Ludum Dare entries. Super-rad, very atmospheric.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Great game and with a lot of depth. Will recommend it!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Minimalistic and more a multiple-choice story book than a game. Or a reinvention of the text adventure. I can't decide. Anyway 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

The atmosphere in this is amazing. What you do with simple sounds and images really helps the feel of the game overall. Also, I found Rocky.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice web presentation and text story! nice use of the url effect

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Great game but it is very easy to get lost

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

This is what interactive text games should be like! You managed to create a fantastic mood and a compelling story without all the fancy 3D graphics and things that some people use. I got a bit stuck on occasion, but playing your game was a beautiful experience. Well done :)

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Really like this one. Somehow reminds me of LOST series.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

This was an interesting experience. I'll have to come back to it later for some more endings, I suppose.

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

WOW! I..just...wow... the atmosphere is so creepy. I just expected something to jump into my face. Are there diffrent endings? Do you get answers or did i miss something? Pls tell me :( ...oh man..you have to expand on this

peterkirk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I wasn't expecting the amount of text there was, but quickly warmed to Tundra. The combination of imagery and audio made me look at much broader possibilities for how to present written stories. The puzzles had me back tracking somewhat and I kept moving into the wrong room. All together I found it to be an incredible experience. Good work.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

Very immersive story, very vague and very well written. The map with the highlighted room was a great help and you make me feel really smart for figuring out the code of the elevator ;)

very minimalist with just the right, fitting design-brushstrokes in the right moment, the use of sound background color. Also, I never thought how an expanding excited a white circle could get me. Very well done, thank you!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56am

Seriously, you're one of my favorite technical Twine people. That opening is...breathtaking.

Love the "Rocky" porn thing. Guess all your games are in the same universe?

The music is atmospheric and interesting. It's very much in your style and a great example of the fantastic work you do. Great job.

(Also, it's "these aren't my clothes", tongue versus tounge, "You think you see something in the far distance," )

wooltech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33am

It didn't look like it would be interactive at first, but then it opens out with the map area. Nicely done.

I've bookmarked your page to try out the other games you've made too.

stray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

One of the best game I've ever played in GameJams in my 26 years of life

GroZaV says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:35am

This is stunning! Great mood and atmosphere.
The audio made it so immersive, the map helped a lot!
I'm totally hooked, gotta try another playthrough to find a happier endind if there's one.
10/10

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Really impressive work. I guess Capsule wasn't a fluke =)
Great elevator puzzle. Made me feel like a genuine genius when I figured it out ^^

A shame that it's so short, as in I'd want to keep playing for longer =)

garygreen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very effective storytelling, including the use of minimalist graphics and sound. Nice work again.

Ditto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Since Capsule I've had your name on the top in my LD bookmarks, and you don't disappoint.. <3

This story had me on edge all the way through, I had a lump in my chest from the tension that made me want to puke when the ending hit. This was incredible..

There's a bunch of spelling mistakes, but I feel like an ass pointing them out, heh..
ps. while in the morgue a neighbor knocked my door and it made me scream because I thought it was the game, completely wrapped up in the story! ^^

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:07am

I love this game, really immersive story.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:14am

This has mood in spades. The backing audio of howling wind really puts you into the world. The soft static of the radio is perfectly understated. Great air of mystery to the whole thing. I really enjoyed the bunker, but I got stuck. I think I clicked on everything twice and explored the whole facility and all the floors (1 & 2 were all but closed off?), but I didn't find a way to progress or a place to use the key or get a fingerprint for the safe. I would've liked to find out more about why the installation exists (though I have suspicions).

Some of the Twine tricks like climbing the ladder or the opening text sequence were a really nice use of the framework. I feel like I'm missing something by not completing it, whatever that means.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

Excellent stuff! I love surreal stories like this, very Twilight Zone, read lots of it in Rod Serling's voice. Great use of font and formatting too; simple colors but everything worked, and the amount/shape of the text made it very user-friendly. Also the intro visuals were very cool, it's great seeing outside-the-box animation done in the Twine engine.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:29am

This facility do feel like a maze - > This facility does feel like a maze
Found a few typos for you :)
"this isn't what I signed up for", -> "this isn't what I signed up for,"
It was a knock at the door -> There was a knock at the door
Testing are just not -> Testing is just not

Very interesting game. I ended up getting burned by the flamethrower. I wish I could have respawned before the elevator so that I could explore the other endings!

Best entry for the "mood" category out of the ~60 games I've played so far :)

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:57am

So stylish and impactful! Immersive and compelling.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Easily one of the best Twine games I've played this LD and not just because it's presented in a more visually appealing way compared to most other Twine games. The story was very engaging and had me completely gripped every step of the way.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Great! Super engaging, and fantastic use of sound and graphics to add to the atmosphere :) Even something as simple as a white background can add so much! I'm definitely following you on Twitter so I can see what you come up with next.

careless says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:27am

excellent, great story and more effects, ideas than I have seen from these type of games previously.

I did not complete it sadly but spend quite some time checking all three floors and collecting and reading everything, must have missed something out

Tommislav says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:53pm

I finally managed to solve the final puzzle! Fantastic entry! I also like what you did with the rooms and the map. Great work! 5/5

caryoscelus says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Hmm, i presume name choice doesn't influence anything but the backstory and name in tundra ending?..

So yeah, the game is awesome and i can only think of slight technical improvements (like ability to skip for replaying and clickable map). Would be interesting to know backstory of all this, though.

-------------
SPOILER ALERT

For those who're stuck before the code puzzle (i had to look the source for it :/, even though the actual code puzzle seemed pretty simple): bed -> kitchen -> safe -> document -> body -> safe

Mr. Jif says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:32am

Ahh this is such a good game! Love what you can do with mostly just text! Very well done, I was totally immersed in the story :)

spirulence says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:28pm

This is a great adventure. Stunning what was done in just a weekend!

I would love to read more about the process for creating these - messed with Twine just a tiny bit a year or so ago, but I had never thought it was easy to integrate lots of JavaScript and highlighted maps, etc.

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:39am

As someone who comes from Alaska, my image of tundra is not automatically white and blizzardy. During the summer, the tundra is actually full of life. The idea of feeling permafrost through one's shoes also strikes me as silly. The guy should have used the tree as the basis for a snow cave. And eating snow from under a tree is never a good idea because it ends up tasting like tree from bits of bark and leaves and sap that fall down on it.

The writing is good, as always... I just know enough about the subject matter that I can't immerse myself in it. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]