Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Baldaquin 6 - Beyond the window

by Marcellus - Compo Entry

Use your weapon to move clouds, gather them and make them grow.

The angels turn seeds to shit in the factory, use it to fertilize and plant in the desert.

Angels dislike big clouds.

Don't forget to water your plantations.

A lot of vegetation brings people from the city, empty the city to win.

Note : you can use your gun on seeds and crap to bring them where you want.

EDIT : The game becomes slow after a few minutes, it is due to the large number of sprites on screen.

EDIT 2 : Some bug fixed, game should be faster now.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#131Theme3.92
#265Innovation3.53
#546Graphics3.06
#714Mood2.73
#763Overall2.94
#944Fun2.50

Comments

ambi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:53pm

It was sure an interesting take on the theme. I had a little trouble figuring out what I'm supposed to do and how but once I got it it's pretty neat.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

An interesting concept, I was not expecting the angels! I liked the music at the beginning would have loved some ambiance to set the mood in the main part of the game :)

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I liked the concept, though it could be easier to get the angels to drop stuff where I need it. Good use of the theme.

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

yup i like the concept

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

A little obtuse and I was having a hard time to figure out what exactly I was supposed to do.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Nice, wish it had audio - Also not sure how it fits the theme, and feel like it might have been a design for a different theme that has been retrofitted with a "gun"

Static 64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Extremely fun and a unique concept, although very hard to control.

I also encountered a glitch where, after a while, the angels with fertilizer would drop it while leaving the factory, so I couldn't get it.

With polished graphics and precise controls, this would be a fantastic games. As it is, I still couldn't stop playing.

repstyle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Nice idea.

The thing is that i get a chaotic feeling playing because of the too big amount of stuff i have to deal with on the screen.
With a better balancing this could be interesting.

Also, making clouds bigger is sometimes working sometimes not so i couldn't understand what was the best method to create them in order to win.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Very unique game! Aesthetically was very interesting. I had a little trouble figuring out exactly what to do, but the game certainly fit the theme well. Great job!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I like the graphical style, and it hits the theme perfectly. The game play is well balanced and scales well because as the game progresses you have to juggle more stuff. Well done!

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Opener was very nice and I can see a lot of hard work went into it. Man, this game is tough. I got to about 80 people leaving but this game requires a ton of patience and multi tasking. You have to maintain the positioning of your clouds, as long as form new ones, and while having the mature clouds knock squirrels or something down to grow trees or something. I liked the concept and I would be interested to seeing it be taken a step further, I had something in mind too for LD with fighting against society, something about politics. Anyways, good game but needed a lot of polish on the difficulty and time scale.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Really cool idea!

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

This is the most WTF game I've ever played.

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Full score for the theme!
Very good concept. Why am I thinking of a 2048 where you have to accumulate flying 2s. 4s, 8s etc.? :D
No, really nice game and the graphics remind me of the good old monty python games.

I like it!

nassi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34am

Didn't have the patience to see this trough, controlling those clouds was a tad too hard. Got to 80 something people. The windows version did indeed have some bad slowdowns (freezes even), but I feel like those were caused by garbage collection rather than the amount of sprites. I suspect this because the rain effect disappeared whenever there was such a freeze...

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Great concept, fits the theme well.

Controls/mechanics could have been a bit easier, but that's just how it goes sometimes with time restrictions. Also would have been nice to have some audio.

Good effort!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I like the idea but the clouds are controlled very erratically, needs some work on the physics- it was so hard to keep them under control.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:25pm

I loved the surreal atmostphere of the game, and it was definitely very interesting! There were a few issues with pacing, and the angels stopped bringing back poop after a while, but over all it was quite the experience!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:23am

It's the best Cloud-moving-to-kill-angels-while-making-the-countryside-lively game i've ever played. But the moving clouds part is quite frustrating. ;)

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:00am

I didn't have enough patience to get everyone out of freedom city. There's a lot of randomness in the movement of the clouds and angels, and the gun feels imprecise. So the controls are not very enjoyable.
I like the gameplay concept though.
The collage graphics are strange and appealing.
Good work.

May 5, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Interesting concept if a little difficult to get the hang of. Loved the idea though.

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:01am

Great idea, but the mechanics are a bit wonky. Steering the clouds to where you want them is extremely difficult, so a lot of the game was spent bouncing a few clouds back and forth and trying to get them to combine with each other while they went off in completely unexpected directions.

Either way a nice take on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]