Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

There Is Nothing In This Endless Expanse.

by stvr - Jam Entry

Originally I wanted to make an FPS where your weapon was a t-shirt cannon.

I ran out of time. Now we have this.

WASD + Mouse to move. Go fullscreen and wear headphones for maximum effect. Wander until you're tired of it and then move on. Let me know if you see anything weird.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#396Graphics(Jam)3.54
#511Mood(Jam)3.07
#602Audio(Jam)2.32
#914Humor(Jam)1.80
#1017Innovation(Jam)1.93
#1055Fun(Jam)1.81
#1058Theme(Jam)1.54
#1073Overall(Jam)2.21

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17pm

There definitely wasn't a goal when playing the game, but I really enjoyed the starry sky effects. It was interesting, and is a good start for an actual game.

Pixelcyborg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

It's pretty. I like the honesty though, made it kinda funny.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:13am

I like the colours on the terrain, and the star field. Shame there isn't more content.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15am

Best "mood" this far! Keep it up!

radmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:25am

http://i.imgur.com/PLTZJRh.gif
Looks cool though.

diiq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

Very stylish, and if it was lacking in substance, I can't say you didn't warn me :)

You may have some weird gimbal locking issue -- there was one specific direction in which I could not move forward.

BlakeB says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

Love the progress you made. The design and graphics are quite good, just wish there were a game here. Audio was a bit monotone, otherwise, good work. Hope to see more next year.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:01am

Best wandering aimlessly through geometric landscape simulator of the year. Like the star effects. Unfortunately the only strange thing I came across in your game was an invisible wall. (!)

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:07am

The ground terrain is really nice :)

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Oh! So this is actually nothing :D Also, it's not that endless is it? I reached an invisible wall.

Awesome graphics though!

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:21am

I kept going for no reason at all... I think it's the music, kinda freaks me out and the terrain and starry sky are nice to look at.

Hambone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:27am

WebGL game? This was neat!

cyand1317 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:31am

The ground terrain & stars generating algorithm is really awesome! It will surely be useful in the future :) And the mood is good.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I'm giving you points just for the feel of it. It's got character - I'd love to see some kind of psychological first-person exploration game done with this aesthetic. That tone is haunting, and when it goes silent... wow.

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:57pm

LOL, wonder until you're tired and then move on. That's a 5-star rating for humor, without a doubt! Seriously, though, I really liked the paralleling with the stars and I really liked the shooting star that you would see once in a while. I think this would be a pretty cool screensaver. If you make a goal with it, though, that would make it a lot more fun!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Hey @stvr,
In response to your comment on my game. Please make sure you play for more than one minute. My guess is you didn't get to the boss fight, which is the whole point of the game :)

Frenchie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:00pm

@stvr,
In response to the response (why can't Ludum Dare just have threaded conversations or private messages?!?!)

There's a small (5-10 second) delay between when the enemies are cleared and the boss spawns. Did you wait this long without seeing it? Are you using FireFox? I want to make sure there's not a bug since I haven't seen this happen before :(

hrd_games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:11am

Beautiful, it's a shame there's nothing to it, I hope things go better next time!

The-Force says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:23am

I definitely saw some stars falling and I also found the square edge of the simulation. Now my head spins because of the sound lol

Borkleby says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:32am

A very beautiful game, I found it pleasing to the eyes. The sound was very monotonous and made it feel quite blank; even a surreal synth would have made it a lot better. Looking forward to your games in the future, if you do have time to finish it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]