Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Banana Nana

by miau - Jam Entry

Help Nana the monkey retrieve the three golden bananas to improve her BANANARANG and access new areas.

Top-down Zelda-like adventure game!

This is an actual NES game with all graphics and 6502 assembly code made pretty much from scratch. Not quite sure how we managed to pull it off. This has been the most insane weekend ever.
Unfortunately, we didn't have time to add sound.
Enjoy! B)

Known bugs: You can shoot the bananarang over the edge of the screen and it will wrap around

Twitter: @morphcat, @Atelier_Betoux

EDIT: There's a time lapse video of the game's development! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcHKqaKljGQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Overall(Jam)4.09
#43Graphics(Jam)4.48
#77Fun(Jam)3.83
#132Mood(Jam)3.68
#266Innovation(Jam)3.48
#301Theme(Jam)3.67
#371Humor(Jam)3.16
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

Not bad.errr no music?

Orange says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

This is awesome guys! A++ For making this a nes game, you rock!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32am

This is amazing! :D Great job, I love it. Really reminds me of oldschool games like zelda and golden axe warrior. So far: My favorite.

bitowl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35pm

This game is awesome!
I love the graphics and I'm impressed by the coding you have done.

Alucard Jay says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Very impressive. Mechanics work (the wrapping bananarang is quite fun to exploit), nice level design, variety of enemies (dang those birds). Great job.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

NES game on Ludum Dare? Impressive!

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I'm so freakin impressed that this is an actual NES rom, props for that. The use of colors is incredible, especially considering that it is running on nes. The gameplay was tight, the graphics were awesome. I'm in awe. Well done 5/5

masterboth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

I find it do amazing that you did a real nes game for the game jam. Awesome work!

Yamzho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:37am

Very cool and impressive ! Bien joué !

rogberth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Love it! Hard NES style in a 2015 NES rom. I guess you now but you can cheat throwing the banana outside the screen.
Good job!

Arche-san says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Cute pixels arts and nice level design. Good job ! :)

drludos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35pm

An actual NES game developed in 48h? outstanding! And the game is quite nice too, you totally deserve a 5/5 overall for this!

My only complaint would be the lack of "life bar" displayed on screen, and the lack of a way to regain life, because the game is quite challenging. But the graphics are very nice, so is the gameplay I like how you can throw the boomerang on the left side of the screen to have it reappear on the right side and flow all over the screen).

I hope you'll create a "post-compo" version of this game!

I'm curious - what kind of tools/library did you use to create the game? Please write a post-mortem, it'll be very interesting to read!

Asado says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Amazing. Ran this on an emulator with a Dualshock 4 controller, absolutely no lags whatsoever and the wrapping actually feels like an excellent game mechanic. I am totally dissecting the hell out of your source code and yeah, it was great! This is definitely one of the few Ludum Dare games that I will keep. Thank you for putting in so much effort, I am blown away by your skillzez.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35pm

so cute game. The gun reminded me of one that has in goofy-troopy very good entry.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:09am

Awesome work! Game looked and felt pretty good for an NES game. It could use some health indicators and a little bit more hints at where to go after the first banana since it didn't really seem to be that deep exploration that LoZ had. (at least not currently)
There was that one area of the map though that I missed at the end that I wanted to go back for but the game ended when I picked up the last banana from the angry monkey.

handkor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Very nicely done, great sprite art.

yuigoto says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:42pm

You nailed in NES/GBC style! :O

Nice job with graphics and overall design of the game! :) Missed some sounds and music, but not a big problem here. ;P

I can't imagine myself writing code like this, amazing work! :3

Jajo says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:44pm

I'll be honest... I loved this game! I love retro games and I love Zelda-esque games. This one has both. Wonderful graphics, but no sound. I recommend you make a post jam version of this game.

Frozenfire92 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Awesome! Was watching your stream, really cool to see it completed

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Add sound and music and make a cart from this and I'll gladly add this to my NES collection! I'm pretty much is awe that you actually made a NES Game. Way to go!

jmborden says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Holy crap.. a NES game.. written in assembler?!?!? This is and the game I saw written in Lua are the most impressive things I've seen so far. Good work!

Ithildin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Brilliant! It feels and plays like a classic NES game, it's only missing sound and music.

Great job!!

jcsirron says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I'm impressed! I didn't think an NES game could be made in 72 hours! It is an impressive feat by itself, but the gameplay being good as well makes the effort even more impressive. Good work!

ChronoDK says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:42am

I can't believe you made a game in 6502 assembly code in a weekend. This achievement alone deserves five stars, and the game is actually pretty fun too!

May 4, 2015 @ 1:10pm

48 hours for a NES game? Crazy! If you make a post-compo version, I think audio would improve the overall experience a lot. Anyway, very impressive work!

MonoS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:01pm

To bad there isn't any category for code, else you'll get 5/5 for that.
Kudos for making it on a NES, and making it so well.

graphically speaking the game is really well done and it's kind of cute.

The gameplay is nothing new but it's solid and well coded.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]