Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SolarGun

by Acrimiens - Jam Entry

You have just arrived to Weird Gun Store. Despite the haste, in truth there´s no weapon left to choose. Really.

Disappointed and shocked, you ask the shopkeeper how is that possible if you are V.I.P. there.
He tells you as an excuse that many customers appeared and took them because of "Ludum Dare #32 challenge" taking place this weekend.
He was dazzled with hundred of visits of programmers, game designers, martians and half-gods.

However, luck is on your side, because this awesome shopkeeper lends you an unusual weapon to face this Ludum Dare and your daily mindblows.
You have the chance to test an experimental weapon. Solar Gun, they call.

With such a cool name you can´t say no to this unique opportunity. Actually, you needed it before you even know this marvel/-- existed.
To use it you need a license (duh! what were you thinking of?). Then you should go to the special lab facilities at Solar Factory.
Once there, a new and completely different adventure with your shiny-brand-new-super-cool weapon will begin and test your skills.
And you will wonder... is it worth it, downloading this 136MB?

I will answer to your silly question, mortal... Could you keep living your normal life wihout doing this... and not knowing Solar Gun?

----------------------------------------­-------------------------

Game designer: Juan Castilo @Acrimiens

Game programers: Alejandro Mur @alexx_mur, Juan Castillo

Level designers: Daniel Espinosa @cromdeveloper, Juan Castillo

Music & Sound: Ignacio Falcón @ignaciofalcon07

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#231Mood(Jam)3.47
#248Overall(Jam)3.55
#284Audio(Jam)3.27
#296Theme(Jam)3.68
#303Graphics(Jam)3.71
#385Fun(Jam)3.23
#875Humor(Jam)2.04

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Keeps crashing but I like the concept and the look, also nice job making it in UE4!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

I really want to check this out but it seems to be crashing...

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36am

Was looking forward to playing it, the concept and art looks amazing. But, it keeps crashing after i barely do anything :(

JUSC999 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

Hello Acrimiens.
I saw your post between all the submissions and decided your idea got really much potential.

To introduce myself, I am a young music composer for Film, Tv and video-games based in Los Angeles.
If you want to continue the development and you don't have a music composer, you can leave an e-mail: JulianSchuller@gmx.at

Great job!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04am

Hi guys, thanks for your answers. The problem is with the respawn. Respawn crash the game, we try to fix id today, thanks!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

We fixed the crashes in the game, thanks for waiting!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Didn't get far but an enjoyable and interesting concept!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:24am

Really lovely use of light.
Solid entry.

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:50am

Nice idea! Good gameplay!

ARubino says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Wow. Nice idea and creativ concept, works well and i had fun playing it. What i would find nice is if you could shoot and jump at the same time, anyway nice entry!

HeffJoker says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Your game and concept is very fun and interesting. I like the general art direction. You also made some great design choices (especially with the gun and being able to see each "bullet" that it has).

However, I think it might make the game a little less frustrating at times if you allowed the player to not withdraw the orb that they're standing on. I found myself guessing as to where to shoot (since everything is pitch black), but I quickly ran out of ammunition in order to traverse the level. If I could just jump on one orb, and collect the others, I think that would open up a lot of possibilities for level design in the future.

Also, I'm not sure if it is a bug, but I was unable to move through the first door after obtaining the gun. I had to "die" (step into the darkness) to get to the other side.

Great job overall!

jglrxavpok says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Really cool game!
I just found one problem while trying it: after retrieving your 'lightballs', for about a second any shot is cancelled.
Anyway, the game looks really good and the concept is quite interesting!
I'd be happy to see it as a full game!

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Respawn problem still remains for me, somehow i managed to get to the weapon (i had to jump a lot, this way, i didn't respawn), but after that, the same problem appears again and again. The concept is innovative though

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:58pm

It feels a bit repetitive and jumping exactly the right distance is more difficult than figuring out where to place the lights. With a bit of additional work you might be able to turn this into a really fun and interesting puzzle game.

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Really cool idea, reminds of the game Closure. Would be nice if you could shoot mid-air though, I found my self dying because of this quite a bit. Overall great game though :)

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I really liked the idea of this game! Great job!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Thank you all for the feedback. We love to you this like the idea. Maybe later we propose to give out in steam, although we are currently very busy working on a multiplayer project in Mechanical Boss. Thx a lot!

Vulkanmannen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I felt frustrated in the beginning because it was hard to move, I jumped too far and it was hard to stop over the light circles. You should work on a nicer movement controls and I want to be able to shoot while jumping, it was really annoying that i couldn't. I enjoyed the game very much anyway, I think it was really good setting, the graphics was awesome! and if was exiting to play.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Flashy! Wow, really like it, especially as I got it how to see my left shots! Great work, nice graphics good puzzles!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Amazing concept and awesome soundtrack, it greatly contributes to the mood. I love the idea and it's easy to see it developed into a full, Portal-inspired puzzle game.

Brilliant! :D

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Awesome concept! I have been working with UE as well@

UrbanHelsing says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:18pm

I want to be able to fire in air

RARoadkill says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Always great to see other unreal 4 games showing up in ludum dare.
Really liked this one, I think with some more polish you could have a really great puzzle game. Keep up the great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]