Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Carrot Bender

by Lukbebalduke - Compo Entry

Use carrots to destroy the enemies, TONS OF CARROTS.

Controls:

WASD to move
E to use the skill power
SPACEBAR to use another skill
*If you fall in the hole, you will be teleported to the top, same thing to the side of the map.

*ALSO, CHECK OUT THIS GIF*
http://prntscr.com/6w6q19

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#232Fun3.48
#249Graphics3.62
#261Audio3.23
#273Overall3.49
#339Theme3.60
#355Humor3.11
#484Mood3.00
#633Innovation2.98

Comments

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:18am

Works fine on Linux with wine :-]

Cell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19am

great work!
you might want to check out itch.io etc for hosting :)
mediafire isn't always reliable!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Fun little game. Good, crisp graphics. Please rate mine at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Cool game. I love the music, the art and the gameplay.
Thanks for sharing :D

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Funny game, jumping animation is very nice. I could not pass round 1, I did not understand how to kill the enemies.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

@Hyoga-3D

You need to press 'E' key to shoot the carrots in the enemies. Thanks for the cheers.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Good job , loved his game. congratulations

zwartraider says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Fun game, looks sharp and the carrot animations are cool. I wasn't able to figure out how to steer the carrots towards enemies when shooting them, if that is even possible :O

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Not bad! Carrots are definitely an unconventional weapon. Very interesting and innovative shooting mechanics. I could do without the stock-looking graphics though. Good job!

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I couldn't move beyond the stage where the saws attacked but I have to see: this is lovely!! Very well crafted and executed. The music fits nicely, the control is good, the graphics are really neat. You can really be proud of this work :-) My best rating so far.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice game, the idea of carrots as a weapon is pretty cool yet the game is very difficult, after a few attempts I couldn't get pass the first round, some situations don't allow strategy and only lead to death. A higher jump, to get back up, may have been something to add. Nice looking art.

Good luck!

jojocanard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Really hard because of the way all the carrots are used in one shot and not easy to target. If you take too much carrots to kill an ennemy you have nothing to fight the others.

It got easier when I realised the hole at the bottom doesn't kill and help go back to the top. But still hard.

Cute game and funny mechanic though, congratulations.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Chrome refuses the file.
Windows 8 refuses to launch it.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

@slowfrog

Actually there is nothing wrong with the file, maybe you should try to allow the acess.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Such a well polished entry!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Carrots! <3

asobi tech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

I've always thought we should have more vegetable based weapons.

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Chrome refuses the file for me aswell.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

@Headmade
You need to allow the download in the chrome configurations.

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Cute and funny game! However, i didn't understand if tehre is a way to aim the carrot attacks? Without proper aiming it was pretty difficult to destroy the enemies so i never got past round 1 :(

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54pm

No, actually there is no way to aim the carrots, they aim to 200 pixel ahead you.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Phew! I made it. It was really difficult, but quite rewarding. Very nice enemies. Well done!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:08am

Nice arcade type game.

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Carrots are pretty good.

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Fun and polished game, cool "bullet" patterns, all in all a really nice entry, congrats!

ruerob says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Very good entry! I like the mechanics in your game it is really fun to play! Very great work!

May 7, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Very fun to play, great graphics/audio/controls/gameplay. Our only criticism is really that the theme could have been executed better; at this point you could substitute carrots for anything (swords, bullets, ninja stars) and it would still be the same game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]