Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Size-o-Tron 3000

by SamH - Compo Entry

A puzzle-platformer game with an unconventional weapon.

There are four controls: left/right, jump and fire. Most common keyboard controls (WASD, arrows, space, enter, etc.) work as you would expect, as well as gamepads. You can only fire when the Size-o-Tron 3000 is powered by a special battery.

There are still bugs. “P” pauses, “R” restarts the level.

WARNING: the post-compo links are VERY IMPROVED versions and benefited from a few extra evenings of tweaks and polishing; you’ll have more fun playing these, but you should vote based on the 48-hour version! There is no WebGL for the 48-hour version because it’s unplayable (the physics engine had a lot of floating-point bugs).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#728Fun2.85
#812Graphics2.61
#812Overall2.88
#814Humor2.21
#852Innovation2.65
#873Theme2.88
#920Mood2.40

Comments

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33am

Great game, it only need more levels and a speedrun mode! A reset button would be nice too.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:31am

Awesome game. The grass tiles dont seem right make them look more natural. Some of the objects dont match up with there hit boxes witch made it kinda difficult.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:01pm

It would be nice to be able to move in smaller increments. Also some monsters would move ridiculously fast. The level design and progression of diffuclty was very good however besides from level 10 which seemed abit of a leap in difficulty, but the game has lots of potential!

-Neith

GameQuester says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:12pm

In Level 8 I got stuck in a wall and couldn't continue or restart the level. Beside that, this is a fun platformer.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:45am

My biggest gripe with both versions is that the "unconventional weapon" doesn't really come into play until the end. That said, if that's what you can do with one extra day, I'd love to see what would happen to this game if you had a whole extra week!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:33am

With more time you could have made a really nice platformer. For some reason I didn't manage to run the post-compo version...

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:16am

Controls were good but not perfect. The level design and progress was great.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:38am

More levels based on the guns please !!! :-)

Mak says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:52am

The level design is very good, and you have a good curve of difficulty here, but there are some problems you need to tweak : Movement is not precise for such small levels, for bigger ones will be nice, the weapons are used very little which makes me sad, because they are good. And the worst of all is that hitboxes are very little clear. This may be because I am more a mechanics guy than a graphics guy, but I think is better to choose recognizble square-like sprites than to make it prettier at the cost of clarity.

SamH says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Thanks for all the comments so far! I reworked the levels so that most of them have you use the gun.

@Mak, indeed hitboxes are very frustrating; my problem is that I use the same box for physics and for damage detection, which is not how it should be done (but, well, I was in a hurry…).

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Nice idea.

rburema says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:36pm

thoughts:
- Fun idea ... so why wait until the game is more than halfway over to introduce the main concept? Introducing one element at a time is a great way to learn a game, but I this may have been overkill. Although I could see it if there ever was a 'full-sized' version.
- Nice, smooth movement ... only a bit finnicky when playing with the keyboard. I almost gave up at the first monster.
- This lazy sunday is (possibly) really clouding my brain but; is there a way out of level 8?
- Close to 0 restart time after dying :-)

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It's quite playable, and the graphics are great. The idea is sound. However, I found it rather difficult. I don't know if it was because the controls are finicky, or if you just designed the levels to need a lot of care...In the pink level, it took me half a dozen tries just to avoid the spikes and pits to get to the battery. Then I shrank the blocks, carefully jumped over the spikes...and fell in a pit. It really crossed the line from 'fun' to 'rage' there.

But hey, that's the kind of thing you can fix with polish. ;)

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:03pm

@rburema: I didn’t have enough time to do good level design for the 48-hour compo, unfortunately; the game would have been great with 30-ish levels. All levels are doable, though, but which one is level 8 depends on which version you played (I uploaded another one right this afternoon).

@Chaoseed: I’m a Super Meat Boy player, so that might explain some of the level design… but I also try to reward players who think of alternate strategies; for instance, do you know that in the pink level it’s a lot safer to only shrink one block? Try it :-)

Interface says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Great game and love the graphics. Really great entry.

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Pretty cool, I just wish the resize mechanics was used more.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Not bad. Missed sound. You should probably supply the compo version as a web version as well.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Cool game :)
I didn't get it first ( I seldomly read the manual),but you did a pretty good job at introducing stuff :)
It's pretty challenging, but I made it through all levels ( of the post compo ) Thanks for taking the time to polish that up :) it's awesome.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

Couldn't get the Windows post-compo version to work, complained about missing xinput.

Multiplexor says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:40am

Nice game! Tough it's a bit hard, In my opinion the levels are too unforgiving.

OadT says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:26am

Really cool and innovative idea! I played both versions, nice to see you still worked on your game. The levels in the post-compo version used the mechanics better, but also the original version is a solid entry. But please use another button than start to start :P simply use any key, and use A and B instead of X and Y.

davidB says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:52pm

nice progression in level design

davidB says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I like evolution in the post-compo

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Good platformer. I like that idea with the shrink/expand gun. It would be nice if the player had a little bit of acceleration, would make the player more controlable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]