Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beautiful Chaos

by xplicitone - Jam Entry

My very first submission after 4 previous failed attempts!!! And first time learning and using Unity this past week. I originally wanted to do loot drops for "unconventional weapons" but I almost had it and ran out of time so I turned the basketball "weapon" into a health pickup instead.

WASD to move, Enter to shoot.
Go to Options to adjust volume in the beginning.

Here's a Link the the Web Player build:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/001sokow306s1os/LD32Build3.zip?dl=0


I hope at least 1 person can have fun with it :D

Also, here's a link to my Post Mortem if you're interested
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/20/5th-ludum-dare-attempt-my-1st-submission/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#819Fun(Jam)2.61
#855Mood(Jam)2.52
#909Humor(Jam)1.83
#987Overall(Jam)2.57
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Photon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Your web link is a dropbox download. Web means that the game is playable directly on the web itself. You should update the link appropriately to avoid frustrating people. :)

xplicitone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

@Photon, updated it, thank you much!!

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Played it, got a score of 7125. The game is nice and runs flawlessly on Linux with Wine, but I don't see how it fits into the theme. Maybe I'm missing something.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

@Jordan, thanks for playing and glad it ran on Linux!
I originally was going to do loot drops of different and crazy weapons but I ran out of time :(

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Running great now!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice retro feel!

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I was in the past for a moment!!! Awesome retro-game

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:27pm

nice.. reminds a bit about my entry :)

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Congrats on your first successful entry.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Thank you everyone!!! :D

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun game!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:03am

Your first entry? Well, you did a better job than I did.
Nice retro style, nice gameplay!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:10am

Hehehe, I used that same sprite set in another game I built (thanks Kenny). Good work on your first jam. Keep it up.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Thanks everyone again! I really appreciate it :D

@F. Wiktora, I got close to finishing one for "You Only Get One" and I ended up finishing it few days or so after and it's pretty bad :P (and it was only for 2 players)

I plan on improving and adding to this since it's my first and I had a ton of fun working on it and hope to make it better!

acro says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Really nice vertical space shooter. Not a particularly original concept but quite good fun. The menu is very clean and functional and the in game graphics were consistent. Good entry overall.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:26pm

It needs some love. It plays flat. Good start though.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Congratulation's on completing.

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Good game! Just does not fit the theme of an unconventional weapons.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

Not really on theme (I can definitely understand that one), but a simple, effective game nonetheless.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Great job for picking up Unity for the first time! Keep going, never stop! You'll only get better and better.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:26am

Good start! I felt like the ships moved way too fast. Keep making games :)

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:28am

Fast paced and enjoyable, and looks good to boot. Not sure how it fits the theme though.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:56am

Solid and fun game!
Only the ships are a bit too fast and it would be nice if you could hold the shoot button instead of hammering it.

Os_Reboot says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Awesome entry! The game was very fast-paced, which I think in the long run contributed to the overall feel. The art and sound were incredible (its a shame you opted out of those categories). This entry felt very polished. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]