Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pipselwars

by grozamorei - Jam Entry

DISCLAIMER: BEST EXPIRIENCE IN FIREFOX
game is made on 'preview' Unity5 webgl, using websockets and lots of unoptimized graphics, so expect lags, freezes, and update your favorite browser (known to work on latest firefox, chrome, and opera). Also, game is hosted on my home PC (because dedicated server or VPS is costly), so I hope not many people want to play at the same time (absolute maximum i 512 connections via tornado windows limitation, but I think I'll hit bandwidth problem far before that). Your progress will not be saved - when you close the browser tabs, all your seeds will disappear.

ABOUT THE GAME:

Pipselwars is a simple multi-player kinda sandbox, based on Conway's game of life (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conway's_Game_of_Life) and follow it's rules.

It's build in military-robot kind of setting.

I tried to add couple of mechanics on top of it (seeds and bombs), to make it more interactive instead of meditative.

MADE WITH:
Unity5 webgl + websockets
Python2.7 + Tornado
Python's Cog inspired code generation for rapid network prototyping

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#138Innovation(Jam)3.72
#277Audio(Jam)3.28
#626Fun(Jam)2.89
#648Mood(Jam)2.88
#675Overall(Jam)3.04
#735Theme(Jam)3.04
#740Graphics(Jam)2.82
#869Humor(Jam)2.05

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

Neat idea! I've seen a few competitive GOL's, but this is is the most interesting -- I like the idea of seeds and bombs, and not just leaving the cells to duke it out on their own.

It was a bit buggy when I played -- maybe because you're hosting it -- but it's a cool idea. I liked the voice overs.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36am

diiq yes, if you live far enough from me, there could be serious lags. perhaps I should slow down server step.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Good Game boy,, keep good working

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

cool game. I think it would be even doper if the background was a flat color.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice job with the voice overs, they sounded great when playing.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04am

It's funny that you speak of voice overs, but this is just a standart google voice synthesizer.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55am

This could be an extremely fun game fleshed out with a proper server behind it. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

TheGame of life concept is pretty awsome although it's a bit hard to see effects sometime, effen if you have the enemy surounded. But very nice game anyway.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

having trouble connecting to the server i think. get 'war never changes' audio. i'm behind a proxy at work so i'll come back try again later!

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Quite a neat idea, had never seen something like this! A bit laggy though.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Great game. It needs to be more challenging though. Mayby you should add like a base you need to defend and ones to attack.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Very interesting, I enjoyed it - semi-meditative but also with some cerebral activity involved. Would like to see it fleshed out with clearer win condiditions.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32pm

It looks innovative, but not a whole lot of fun. Maybe if it was faster or something.. but I didn't really like the gameplay.
Audio is good and mood fits well.

surpent says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Various techniques have been used ...
cool graphics.
Great work!

Junber says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice game. Really liked the idea (and game of life in general)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:53pm

great job, soldier!

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54pm

What a fun, interesting game! I thought that the close zoom was to encourage a 'fog of war' type situation where you had to pan around to maintain situational awareness. Then I realised that you can zoom out and it made things much easier.

The audio was nice.

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48pm

When I zoom out it makes the game freeze momentarily in Chrome on Mac OS X 10.9.5. It looks an interactive Conway Game of Life. I also had to reload the page a couple of times to get the game to actually load. I like that you made a web sockets game though!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:49am

It's funny!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05am

Music was nice, however I could not connect so couldn't play.

lamogui says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:14am

Unable to play beacause unable to connect...

LadyEmaSkye says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Seems interesting, it would be nice if the link worked though.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Server's down. FYI, you can get fairly cheap DNS hosting these days.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]