Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I'm Only a Ninja!

by herniewise - Compo Entry

I'm Only a Ninja.

YEP, JUST THAT.
Without my stuff, I can't fight the bastards!

But, I think I can use this plumber tool to survive this mess.

KILL THE ALIENS
How many waves can you survive?

XoXo

PS: The original compo version (with fixed bugs) is the one embedded on the game page. If you enter the Web link maybe you'll find an updated one.

PS2: I'm a drummer, so the background music tracks are played by me with a Roland HD-3. If you watched the movie Birdman, that was my inspiration for that :)

Remember that sounds need to be loaded first, so the music takes a little longer to load up.

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Graphics4.06
#120Audio3.59
#140Humor3.63
#213Overall3.57
#277Mood3.27
#339Fun3.32
#389Theme3.53

Comments

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30am

braaaaainz!!!! like it!!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13am

Like the plunger.

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14am

Fantastic art style and quite fun and cute :) GJ.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15am

Top notch graphics! Really crisp look and feel to animations as well. I guess the combat could be quicker-paced, but the intro was really well-done.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16am

Really good game. Very unconventional; a Ninja using a plunger to kill aliens. Very nice idea. Nice and simplistic graphics as well. Good Job

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Nice entry, really polished especially the graphics, and a lot of fun.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:11am

The art style is really simple but satisfying and the drum track is amazing. The audio really fits and adds so much. Great work!

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50pm

I really like the modern graphics...
Nice mate!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The graphics and the sound are really cool. It's fun but a little easy, keep working on it!

huminaboz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Nice art and gameplay feels pretty fluid for a gamejam game. Love the Birdman inspired soundtrack.

conno1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Nice job :) really good gameplay and the graphics fit the theme so well

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

The animations were awesome! I did realy loved the art style. Clean, smooth, flat!

vortex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Love the art style and the intro...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Very beauty e funny. Congrats.

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great graphics and the combat is fun. Some sounds are a bit too loud but overall the audio is great.

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Really liked the game especially the graphics.

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

This is very refined for such a short time and great job with the drums. The AI could use some work, but I had a lot of fun playing. The game is well worth completing.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

My best score was 535. Really cool graphics and animations.

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Solid game! really liked a lot, very polished

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Cool graphics and nice use of the theme, good job!

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Really enjoy the humor.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:14pm

This has a ton of character.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Love the art style, Love the smooth animation and transitions and Love the music! Great game! only complaint would be enemies could overpower you in numbers, maybe add some kind of small knockback when you deal damage? besides that, fun game!

-Neith

grillaface says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice, the plunge mechanic works great. Well implemented!

hunttis says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really nice animations! Fun idea, not taking itself too seriously. I don't think I've ever run into a game before where the soundtrack is only drums :D

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:52am

Those drums are badass man, you're quite the stickman. Really sweet game, nicely polished. Very impressive!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Very sweet game, I like the concept. The controls feel very nice to use and the graphics as well as the sounds are very clean and soothing. Good job!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Very stylish and funny entry. Maybe for the future more features to make the game more dynamic would give it more longevity but it is excellent for a compo version!

alvivar says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:38am

Pretty fun, and the music was refreshing :)

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:32am

Very funny intro! I liked the graphics, especially when they're jumping and their legs are kicking up. Controls are smooth. Great job!

jushii says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:01am

Overall very solid entry! Feels polished and controlling the player feels good. I like the music a lot, but I'm not sure if it fits the gameplay that well. :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:54am

i loved this game - well executed - love the idea of sucking the brains out with the plunger - awesome job

Leandrus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Great game. Thanks for Sharing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]