Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hot shot

by crazyrems - Compo Entry

In a wild country, miners look for power crystals. They can boost your power and are an endless source of energy.

It's basically a two player shoot them up.

First, you upgrade your ship with your credits (they're 6 credits to place in 4 upgrades).

Then you can select an upgrade that will be boosted when you carry the crystal.

Finally, you can fight the crystal to death!

- - -

Player one uses Xbox controller, player two the arrows and X, C.

In the upgrade panel, you place your credits with the joystick / the arrows. You assign the crystal boost upgrade with A button / X key.

X button / C key to switch between upgrade panel and ship control

When controlling the ship, joystick / arrow keys to move and A button / X key to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#786Audio2.00
#899Humor1.95
#914Innovation2.55
#967Mood2.26
#992Fun2.37
#1006Graphics2.19
#1027Overall2.55
#1093Theme2.05
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:11am

I don't like the fact that I need to ask someone else to test the game with me. Next time please put a basic AI

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33am

Clean graphics and nice concept, I like it.

Dhim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40am

Can you support second player through keyboard too because I don't have a controller :(
I don't know how to start the game, is it possible to start without the controller ?

crazyrems says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51am

I prefered spend time on two player support, IA comes after.
You still can control the second player by using arrows and X,C keys.

Unfortunately, two player keyboard is very limited since all keyboards can't press the same number of keys at the same time, and most of the time it's not more than 5-6.
Since majority of players don't have Xbox controller, I'll look for a solution.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50am

Interesting idea. Agreed you need to implement some sort of AI, but I know there's never enough time for Ludum Dare.

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

Interesting idea! I found the upgrade system a little hard to follow, but the controls were nice and responsive. Sadly I had no-one else to play with. :D

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:51am

Nice concept, i liked the graphics ^^

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03am

No XBOX controller. Although the little I played by myself resulted in smooth play. looks like it would have been fun with another player.

nihilaleph says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:21am

Interesting idea! Smooth controls and good graphics! Played by my own though so I can't get a full review on this x.x but seems fun!

May 6, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Fun little game, I really like the upgrades idea. It would be fun if you could continue to earn money and get additional upgrades. The speed update didn't seem worth it though - it makes it harder to hit your opponent.

Fabraz says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I, despite some others, enjoy 2P only games on LD. Though I might be biased. *grin*

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]