Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zero Point

by ArcturusDeluxe - Jam Entry

ZERO POINT is a twin stick shooter where you score points by grabbing objects such as asteroids scattered around the map, and launching them at foes, in a similar fashion to Half-Life 2's Gravity Gun. Eventually, you will almost certainly die, so get the highest score possible before you get overwhelmed.

CONTROLS:
Right click to grab the targetted object
Left click to launch a grabbed object
WASD to move ship
Mouse to aim

GENERAL INFO:
Grabbable objects include big asteroids, small asteroids, and space junk left behind from destroyed enemies. They are all shown in orange.

There are various foes that you'll encounter, including fighters that take pot shots at you, swarmers which rush you and explode, and carriers which lay mines around the map, which explode when you run into them. Be aware that some enemies take multiple hits to kill.

Look out for green health pickups when enemies die, you have to right click to grab them like you would any other object, just running into them won't work.

POSSIBLE ISSUES:
Be aware you might find the player ship physics to be a little strange in regards to inertia and stopping. This is because Unity's physics system was being difficult, and we didn't have time to properly tweak it.

CREDITS:
We are Nega Drive, and we consist of:
Richard Dunn aka ArcturusDeluxe (that's me!): graphics, music, design
Matthew Jenkins: coding, design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Audio(Jam)3.66
#141Graphics(Jam)4.10
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#326Fun(Jam)3.30
#330Mood(Jam)3.32
#620Innovation(Jam)2.94
#624Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Cool visuals and music! Reminiscent of many succesful vector styled SHMUPs I guess. Gameplay-wise the meteors might have been a bit in short supply. There simply were way too many enemies and too few rocks, and sometimes it seemed my rocks didn't do much damage at all. Still, a really cool entry!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Great visuals and solid idea. Would have liked pad controls but you were on the clock :) good work.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I had a hard time catching the rock. And I found only one level, or should I kill some more enemies?

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Stylish, polished, and very fun! Only got frustrating because the viewport was so zoomed in, I had trouble moving without flying directly into an enemy I couldn't see. If I could see a bit more of the board at a time, I would have zero complaints!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Grabbing the rocks was hard, but nice other than that!

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Hard and Fun!!! I like graby objects and throw it! Very cool!!!

Muffin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Very well done! Nice aesthetics and gameplay. I don't usually like this sort of thing, but the grab mechanic makes it really diverse.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Simple well executed idea, gj!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Need some practice to handle the controls (grab/launch) but great game !

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Neat game, I loved the art and music. The ship controls were a little wonky, but a nice game overall :D

elefantopia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36pm

So fucking hard! Love that take on the gravity gun but please for those of us who have not a mutated third brain make it easier.

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great work!!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Great game, i liked so much the visual!

goblin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Great visuals and music. Nice job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Very cool game! Quite difficult. I would have preferred to have the controls provide impulse with respect to the ship's orientation (as in, if facing downwards, to move further down you'd press "W" for forward, not "S" for down). The enemies were really tough! I liked the variety of enemies you had. Very well done!

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Excellent graphics and music! I really liked the color choices. :)

tughan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I love fast paced games. Nice polish and fun overall.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:14pm

The graphics are really nice. I'd prefer more rocks and less healing "pills", because there's just too many enemies. The music is awesome, but too loud. The controls are very well thought. The idea is really cool, and overall I thinks it's a very cool game

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Nice game. I think that the controls are a little bit too rigid. Arena must be bigger. However the aesthetic is great and music too. I liked it. Thank you ++

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Excellent visuals, tight controls, and a wonderful mood. Top it all off with a cool mechanic! Way to go!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Slick visuals and music. Was a little confused at first as to whether or not the mines were an aid or hindrance. Figured out quick though. Neat idea. Could use more tweaking like you said.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I ran around a bit killing some enemies (I think I did, at least) until I died. I couldn't really work out what I was supposed to do, but the graphics were very well done.

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:42am

Good gameplay and feedbacks to the player. A beautiful game.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:14am

I see so much potential in this game. I love the concept and the graphics. Keep on developing this!

kadealicious says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:33am

I liked your entry. :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:13am

Loved the mood and truly gorgeous graphics. If I had any feedback it would be that enemies needing two shots to made this really difficult, because I quickly got swamped and couldn't work out which one's I'd already hit... still though really nice use of the mighty bloom. :)

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:33am

Good game, liked both graphics and sound. Would love to try a version with newtonian control of the ship!

Sytech says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:06am

I really liked the vector graphics and the music in this one. The gameplay was very interesting and fun aswell. I managed to get a score of 48600.
I would love to see an expanded version of this game. It really has potential!

rnlf says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Pretty good game! It has a unique look and gameplay. I had fun playing it. I would have liked the controls to be relative to the ships orientation, i.e. "up" always being "forward", or even gamepad support, but besides that, very cool!

Clavus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Graphics and sound were pretty nice. Controls felt very rough though, could have used some polishing. The grab-n-shoot mechanic was interesting, but didn't feel it had a lot of impact.

Dynad says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Great game, pretty tough too! =D

TheCams says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I really like this kind of graphics, the game is a bit hard to control with the keyboard but still playable enough to feel your skill improving game after game. Nice job.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I found it a bit difficult to react to enemies as they came on screen because of how fast I was moving. Zooming out the camera would really help this game a ton.
I wasn't really bothered by the inertia though. It didn't take long to get used to, and if you guys work on this more it might be worth considering designing around it.

ThirdMoon says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:01am

Nice and funny game! Wonderful mood and graphics!

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:03am

Good game. Wonderful graphics and music. Nice gameplay. Great job!

Jakob37 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:41am

It looks and sounds great, and has an enjoyable gameplay! I had issues with the movement, which made it hard to enjoy it full. Would definitely give it a replay with smoother movement!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]