Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Night Harvest

by gene-z - Jam Entry

Destroy the damned scarecrows who took care of his cornfield ... For this use your sniper blood with seeds and call the bats to help you.

Video an game published : http://genezgames.com.br/2015/04/20/ludum-dare-32/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#316Mood(Jam)3.34
#499Audio(Jam)2.80
#561Graphics(Jam)3.19
#833Innovation(Jam)2.47
#860Overall(Jam)2.79
#907Humor(Jam)1.84
#935Theme(Jam)2.53
#976Fun(Jam)2.30

Comments

mohammad says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

It feels like an adobe shockwave game from 2001

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

Pretty good graphics, audio felt mostly good (maybe the scare crows could be a little better, but everything else was good). Don't know if it really fit the theme, still felt like using a gun really, but it was pretty good overall.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23am

In before steams steals your sniper skin for their CSGO weapons :D Nice try man.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

I'd like to play this, but I don't see how to navigate to the web game from the web link.

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

This game gives me nostalgia. Pretty nice!
Good luck!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

It felt like I was shooting a flare gun? It was interesting. Definitely felt like a throwback game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

I like the look of the game, the darkness adds a nice element to it. Also the fact that it's an FPS game is pretty cool. Nice job!

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

The windows version didn't seem to grab the cursor, but luckily I was able to play with a gamepad. The turning was pretty slow though.

Gave up at 21 scarecrows remaining, since it felt like the bird-sounding-bats also got disinterested and stopped picking up the scarecrows.

I didn't quite understand the function of the "blood meter" since you could also shoot without it.

sathorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41am

With great graphics, this game has ALMOST an amazing atmosphere, but it doesn't quite feel right. I think mostly due to missing ambience and wierd looking scarescrows. Also i don't understand what my gun is doing to them.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:05am

Sets a pretty creepy mood! It does kind of feel like you're just using a gun though. Nice game! :)

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06am

Yeah, so nostalgic, i love that. Good Luck!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

My bat friends dropped a scarecrow on my head 10/10 would play again.

noxuma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

Very scary mood, well done.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Aiming with the mouse becomes a little hard overtime because it stops mapping the aim right. The theme is pretty interesting. The graphics and audio are great! When I ran short on ammo, the scarecrows started flickering a lot after being shot.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49am

Lovely atmosphere.

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10pm

One complaint: the Web link leads to a website which is not English and has no game? (Or I couldn't find it, as it wasn't in English)

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

I think you nailed the atmosphere, but the Windows version didn't really keep the mouse inside the window. The gameplay is pretty cool though. Good job :)

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

The foundation is there but I think the game would definitely benefit from a good measure of spice, variety and bug fixes.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

good tree animation ... the idea too

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Nice game, like the graphics.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Your filters/shaders create a very intense horror mood/atmosphere. Congratulations for achieving that effect :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Definitely a good mood you set, the scarecrows were pretty scary

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08am

Liked the mood in game. The cameras "noise" effect was nice.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:52am

Good graphics and nostalgic! ^^ Good Job

May 1, 2015 @ 7:35am

The mood was really good! I was a little confused at the start as to how kill the enemies, though!

rburema says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:12am

thoughts:
- I like the attention to details, for example, the birds in the menu, or that you can see the 'health' of the scarecrows in the amount of tatters their drape is in
- the message in red on the underside of the screen only showed up long enough for me to register that it was some sort of helpful 'use this to do that' message, not to actually read it
- some of the scarecrows where (felt?) significantly harder to take down (or, well... up, really); was this intentional? or just something I (didn't realize I) was doing wrong/right?

jukimv1986 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:46am

Very dark and tense mood. Resembles a game from another time. Well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:29pm

I can't figure out how to play the game through the web link.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]