Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Strike Dungeon

by Mental Atrophy - Compo Entry

Descend the endless, randomly generated Strike Dungeon while knocking out as many pins as you can with your Trusty Bowling Ball along the way. Thanks for trying my game.

HOW TO PLAY:
_ Z key to begin the game.
- Arrow keys to move the hero in eight directions
- Z key to throw a bowling ball
- Esc to return to the Titlescreen and restart if the hero dies
- Bowling balls must be collected to be thrown again.
- Collect powerups to increase the hero's health and the number of bowlingballs he can carry
- Collect colored keys to progress
- Basic joypad support. Hat/d-pad to move, Button 1 to throw the bowling ball

- Modify the settings file in the main directory at your discretion.

ABOUT:
Originally I wanted to make a Zelda-like where the player collects random weapons as they progress deeper into the dungeon. Unfortunately getting the basics up and running took too long, so I just stuck with the bowling ball weapon and added a simple scoring mechanic. The dungeon generator is very simple but uses Doom-like keys to gate progression. Only one enemy type, unfortunately... As always, variety and a boss battle were desired but it became too important to finish within the time limit.

This game was written in Python using the Pygame/SDL media libraries. FL Studio was used to create the music, while Bfxr produced the sound effects. Graphics were drawn in Paint Shop Pro and GraphicsGale. Executable was "compiled" via cx_freeze, and only a Windows package has been created thus far.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#36Fun3.95
#46Audio3.91
#68Mood3.76
#71Graphics4.14
#80Overall3.84
#243Theme3.73
#391Humor3.03
#395Innovation3.33

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14am

I feel a bit stupid but how do you actually start the game? I was stuck on the title screen (enter or space didn't start it).

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Oops. Press Z or Button 1 on your gamepad. I thought I put a prompt on the titlescreen but I guess I forgot.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Really enjoyed the NES style graphics. Nice use of the bowling ball as a weapon. I felt like the Bowler from the move Mystery Men. Shame you ran out of time, with some clever level design it could be pretty awesome.

babilounet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

The sound gave me an heart attack at the first launch :O
After that hard part, great game, hope to see more.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I really love the graphs, remind Zelda from SNES. Controls are good to play. The "earthwuake" effect on the screen is grat but makes me a little dizzy. Great game but I do not sure if its fit the theme.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Honestly a quality product. It is a bit repetitive but everything feels good. When you hit something there's a satisfying thunk.

Probably gameplay wise my favorite straight out game I have played so far for LD32.

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Fantastic game for this short time. I feel that the mechanic could have been used for many neat puzzles if you flesh this game out more but still 48h for this is really impressive.

grillaface says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Great job! I made it to the 6th floor and enjoyed playing. I'd decrease the hitbox size on your hero to make navigating corners a bit easier. In one level a key I needed was hidden under a bowling pin - not sure if that was intentional but it made me feel like I found a "secret" :)

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I played this for 7 floors. Felt really good to throw the bowling balls around, especially when you get 3 or 4 going at a time. Nice work!

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43pm

This is really great for just 48 hours. Great work!
I actually got immersed with this.

The bowling pins have to go. Score is useless unless it gives you hearts as an incentive if you do continue on with this.

bazoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:08am

If you happen to spawn on one of those destructible walls and walk to some direction that only has more blocks until it hits a wall, the game closes.

n8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17am

I hit the same problem bazoo had.
But aside from that small thing there is a lot of satisfying crushing and exploring in this!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

Remind Zelda games,,, very good game

syawqy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

such a solid and polished game
you really capture the retro feel in this game

Lynx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46am

Very awesome game. It's simple but the bowling ball idea gives it a superb harm and the random dungeons adds a great level of replay ability. Totally the next Shovel Knight!!

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50am

Pretty fun game, hands down really flushed out, controller worked well.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01am

Very nicely done! The game felt really good to play. Tons of feedback from screenshake and animations.

Only complaints:
- Add a game over screen when you die. Maybe just something with "You died" and a button for restarting or going back to the menu.
- The bowling ball could get stuck in the doorways sometimes. This happened when entering a new room and it really sucked since I was trying to use it to kill something and wasn't able to.

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Graphics are good, but should be more challenging (though I only played a bit)

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Such faithful 8-bit artwork and music. I love the mix between Zelda and what reminds me of Technos NES games. Very impressive dungeon generator! My feature request would be different kinds of enemies. Overall, an awesome game!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

Awesome job! :) Love the visuals and the quality of randomized design.

agmcleod says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15am

Hehe i like it. Me watching the big lebowski lately, it's like the dude in a zelda dungeon.

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Great work in every aspect. One of the best entries I've played thus far.

sirikan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:41am

Was a lot of fun. Love the graphics too. :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:42am

Great game!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:43am

Please! Develop this game further! With really bowling-based puzzles! I like the Zelda Game Boy style. Make the enemies drop hearts. Encourage the player to toss balls around like crazy by placing hidden passages. The sound is great, I find the "hurt enemy" and "ball bounce" ones really compelling, they remind me of Kirby Super Star. Awesome!

swinestudios says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:58am

Wow, this has a lot of potential for becoming a great game!

eastes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:15am

Nicely polished game!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:22am

Amazing game, and the random dungeon gives it a lot of replay value. My only complaint is that sometimes the enemies would spawn right next to the entrance, and sometimes they'd even push you back out the way you came before you can react.

SamH says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:02am

A most excellent entry; nice graphics and sound, I like the retro style. The gameplay is pleasing but can be punishing (instant death when entering a room) and some variety in the enemies might have been nice. But overall a great piece of work!

Note that the game crashes when the player is spawned on a wall. This happened twice to me. Here’s the call stack if it might be of any help: http://pastebin.com/WUswE6TX

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:28am

Thanks for the feedback, guys.

I am aware of the bug, which is the result of spawning on top of a line of blocks which collide you outside of the tilemap and out of a legal camera boundary. So far, this is the only crash-to-desktop bug I've seen, but there are a few others I didn't get around to.

The most common and annoying bug is bowling balls getting stuck in doorways. The most innocuous bug is purely graphical, where the damage flicker animation for enemies glitches.

I will probably do a very meager post-compo version that just fixes the bugs and has more intelligent entity spawning/updating (right now, every enemy on the map gets updated, which results in a lot of unnecessary collision checks that slows down the game loop quite a bit). What I probably won't do is any sort of expanded version with more features/content, because I am just too busy for that and not passionate enough about this project to put other hobbies aside.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:49am

Also, I actually didn't mean to launch the game fullscreen in such an odd resolution that many displays might not handle appropriately. It was a configuration I was using on my laptop to demo it at the local gathering for LD32, but I forgot to change it. In case that gave anybody problems, you can disable fullscreen by changing the value to '0' in the settings file. Alternatively, you can set a resolution you prefer, but it's a good idea to set the screenbuffer value to a factor of the resolution or things will stretch.

pstudio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Fun concept and I really enjoyed playing the game. The game could benefit from a bit more variety but not bad for a compo entry.

DarkGrisen says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Cool game! I scored 796

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very nice game. Well done!

May 6, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFcSJC6FtXs

IDidGame says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:37am

definite stand out for me, could have handed this to me on a gbc and told me it was a forgotten pearl and i would not have objected
i'd love to see a post compo version with some more variety

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]