Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Color Blind

by hbocao - Compo Entry

After expending a bit of the Friday and all Saturday morning and afternoon on my first idea, I toss it away and decided to give up on this LD edition.
But it started to eat me from the inside. I could not fail this bad. So this is the game I came up with the last ~20h of the Dare. Please, be patient.

--------------------------------------

Known Issues:
The WEB Player version has some weird layout problems. I'll try to fix it ASAP.
--------------------------------------

You have to shoot with the color similar to the enemy, unless you have some powerup.
Kill enemies in sequence (bright to dark) to increase points multiplier.

I have not tested the Mac and Linux versions, so if any of you guys could give me hand, it would be appreciated.

*** CONTROLS ***

MOVE with ARROWS or WASD
AIM with your MOUSE
SHOOT with LEFT MOUSE BUTTON
CHANGE COLOR with MOUSE WHEEL

SORRY trackpad users :(

*** Credits ***
Well... me.
Font "2 Color Ideas" by Daniel Kano - danielkano.com
Music "Prelude in C Major" by Johann Sebastian Bach

*** Tools ***
Unity 5
VS 2013
Photoshop
Otomata - earslap.com/page/otomata.html
Virtual Piano - virtualpiano.net

--------------------------------------
Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#120Mood3.61
#133Audio3.54
#272Graphics3.56
#362Innovation3.38
#469Overall3.26
#571Fun3.03
#809Humor2.22
#816Theme3.00

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29am

Very relaxing game - great job!
[wasnt always sure if my colour was matched?]

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Innovative, but sort of confusing.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Cool game. not exactly sure how to beat the different colors but besides spamming the mouse. I enjoyed the flow of the characters movement. Good job

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Beautiful graphics! Absolutely stunning. The color spectrum is too large I think; maybe if there were fewer specific colors (i.e. one shade of black, one grey, etc.) it would be more manageable to play. But great stuff for 20 hours!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

hehe.. nice fluid feel while playing this game. :) music were also pretty relaxing.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13pm

I liked this a lot. Getting the colors to match up just right was pretty difficult. Music and graphics were excellent, especially for such a short dev time. Well done!

AdamW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Amazing and beautiful game! It worked even for someone colorblind such as myself.

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This game has a really nice atmosphere, between the music and graphical choices. The game itself uses a cool concept as well, although it can be a bit frustrating to find the right color to use. It would be nice if there was a more precise way to change color, but you still did a great job for a shorter amount of time~

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Great mood and audio. This is easily one of the most aesthetically pleasing games I've played recently.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Not too bad for such a short period of time. Kudos for trying a second time after the first idea fell through; I know that can be discouraging.

I did have a hard time telling if the color matching was actually doing anything. I seemed to have plenty of success just staying one color (black in this case) and firing at the big blob of enemies. They'd slowly die regardless of their color, and trying to match their color didn't seem to increase that rate any.

The fact that all enemies move at the same speed and with the same basic AI while the player character moves faster meant that all the enemies turned into a mostly harmless blob that was easily avoidable.

Eventually my down key got stuck, and I couldn't move off of the lower boundary, so I died.

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:43am

Cool idea, but the execution felt a little wonky. Even when I was sure I didn't have a powerup, the effectiveness of my shots didn't seem to correspond to the colours. It seemed random. After a couple tries, I basically just messed with the scroll-wheel at random while firing as fast as possible at everything, and that seemed to work all right.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:59am

Love it! The music is great and the sound matches it very nicely. I only wish there were fewer colour brightnesses so it would be a little easier to match colours. Either way, great job!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:04am

Big thanks for the feedback, guys.
Yeah, the "matching color" is kinda hard. I still have the note that I written down "make few colors to match", but a I totally forgot. I was totally burnout already. Maybe I'll work on this idea someday.

racarate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48pm

that was pretty fun! the animation of the player and nonplayers was very smooth and relaxing. i didnt quite understand what the nonplayer shots were doing, they didnt seem to hurt me. and the deathscreen was very abrupt and jarring, as was the disappearance of powerups. i loved the handwritten font you chose, i felt it matched the palette and the animation. i would have been interested to hear music of your own composition as well. nice nice!

diiq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Cool! Interesting use for the mouse wheel.

I liked the plinky planky sound when I attacked enemies -- I think it would be cool if the music fitted that sound more closely, but the Bach is nice.

Very fluid and pleasant.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:53pm

This is exactly what I needed after the last game I reviewed made me install like 5 python packages and downgrade my java runtime, very serene. Really tough to play on a trackpad, made me wish there were buttons to change color as well. Really nice though, thoroughly enjoyed it.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:22am

Very nice looking. Could use less colors I think, but I loved the look of the little wisps chasing me around. Very fluid and cool. Hard to play on a trackpad, but still very nice.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:52am

kinda hard, or maybe tricky is better, but a cool idea for sure.

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:12am

Wow that's an incredibly good looking game.

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Relaxing and shooting'feel in the same game with a smart mechanic! Excelent music choise and graphics, very Smooth! :) Good job! - couto!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Original idea, but did not like that you could exit the screen. A little too hard to match up colors correctly with that much going on.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:48am

Pretty cool game~! good job~!

ftvs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Could not change colour on Web Player for some reason. OSX 10.9.5 Chrome 42.0.2311.90 (64-bit)

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:36pm

+ Graphics
+ Music
- Could be more challenging

defacid says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:50am

It's awesome that you made a game called Color Blind that uses colors for people who can see color AND is still playable for people with color blindness! I feel like the game could have used a faster pace or more variety, but overall a solid, good looking game.

yuigoto says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Great game! Soundtrack is relaxing and the concept is really good too! Would become a nice twin-stick shooter if expanded upon. :)

Loved how you handled the trail on both player and enemies. But would be nice if different colors/sizes had different behaviors and speeds. ;)

The only hard part for me is matching colors, but I really have a small problem with this in the real world so that's fine (I guess?).

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Simple but well executed idea. I loved the minimalistic graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]