Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blockade Arcade

by Supernaught - Jam Entry

Survive as long as you can!

______________________________

Controls:

Movement- Left and Right arrow keys

Jump- press 'Z'
Smash Blocks- Jump then 'X'

______________________________

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER:

https://twitter.com/momorgoth

https://twitter.com/_alfonzm

https://twitter.com/_supernaught

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#106Audio(Jam)3.74
#124Graphics(Jam)4.15
#181Overall(Jam)3.63
#290Fun(Jam)3.35
#330Mood(Jam)3.32
#489Theme(Jam)3.39
#524Innovation(Jam)3.08
#717Humor(Jam)2.45

Comments

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53am

From: http://momorgoth.itch.io/blockade I get "The developer has not uploaded a game"

SonderWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

I see the same thing... Hope you guys can get it straightened out. I just like how the title screen looks. lol

Anikki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I get a donkey kong vibe there.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The music, the grungy pixel graphics and scanlines and very solid controls. I love it! A tiny but polished package.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Fun and addictive, a bit buggy when you restart a level but ok

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

windwos version is missing data folder

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Music is fantastic, but the game seems to run a little sluggishly, especially when pressing R to restart. The entire thing freezes for a bit while the music keeps going. Not bad! :D

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

good game but i realy dont like the audio

Mase says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Hitting enemies with blocks doesn't feel satisfying enough; maybe if they exploded or something instead of just sliding off the stage it would be cooler.

Praron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I really like art and music, but this game in my browser is so laggy, that I had to restart the computer :c

bernardery says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:14pm

THIS
GAME
ROCKS

The music, with good headphones, is INSANELY sick, the graphics are cool, and the mechanic is really solid! I don't have much to say about this game except good job! However, I do have one compliant: it does NOT run well on my computer, which is a somewhat-old (but not ancient) mac desktop. The first time I played it, the load time after resetting my first death took ages, and the second one took so long I think the game was frozen, so I had to force-quit it. I turned the graphics down to medium-level, which helped, but on my second run the game often slowed to a crawl (occasionally just freezing for like thirty seconds). I could have force-quit again and set it to the lowest graphics setting, but I don't need to because I'm giving very positive ratings anyway ;)

I would take advantage of Ludum Dare's patching policies to make it run better as soon as possible, but otherwise you've got an excellent game here, something that could definitely be developed beyond just this jam!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:34am

Tried 3 times but couldn't get around to playing your game. Sorry :(

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:36am

Windows version not working. "Should have a Blockade_Data" folder next to the executable.

Zak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:39am

Very nice audio and glitch effect, I liked the game a lot, even though I think power ups/modifiers would have made it a great little thing with cool replayability

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Trying to rate web version, still unplayable. The keys do not respond.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Cute little game, the graphics work nicely

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Like Victor RENE, I can't play this game on Chrome due to the keys not responding.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Wow really nice game! I love the concept. The art and the visual effect are really cool. However, I'm not a fan of the music but it's just a detail.
Well done!

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:35pm

This is fantastic. Like in Doctor-Who-Fantastic

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:33am

Nice game, a good work on polishing the user interface, effects, ... But I find it quite difficult to play

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:23am

Not really fun (overly simplistic), but audio and mood is good, and especially graphics.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:37am

Great stuff.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Music is the best aspect of this game. Controls seem to me a little bit awkward. I like the minimalist aesthetic. Your project reminds me some old games on GameBoy. A good vibe. Neat ++

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:36am

What a nice, glitchy visuals that makes consistent sense...then actual glitches that makes the game less fun. It's weird that slamming through the blocks is randomly possible, when it doesn't happen any other time. It makes the game terribly unpredictable and difficult to enjoy at times. Very addicting, though, I really liked it. Has some excellent replay value.

May 6, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Fun game! I Really like the concept. Art is on point and so is the gameplay. Well done guys!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]