Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Kodama - frail echoes

by geekdrums - Jam Entry

Oh my god, how can I say this game...?

It's kind of a narrative experience, but I think it's close to insane art.

Kodama means echo in Japanese.

Use keyboards, and just... echo.

Please enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#4Audio(Jam)4.49
#8Mood(Jam)4.42
#75Innovation(Jam)3.89
#84Overall(Jam)3.87
#134Graphics(Jam)4.12
#155Fun(Jam)3.62
#334Humor(Jam)3.24
#770Theme(Jam)2.97

Comments

surpent says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

Nice mood. :-)
cute illust.

Yudaidhun says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

it took me a bit while to understand how to play.
the music is awesome and it is well synced to the progressions of the game.
while this game is very simplified, it does not make me feel boring, as the background is always moving and i always get comfortable "response" from the game (zoom / de-zoom).

btw, thx for building win x86 binary, mate!
that really makes my day :)

oinariman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Good illust, effects, cryptic letters and sounds.

Whether you are good at rhythm gaming or not, this game will play fine sounds.
The birdcall-like sounds due to my repeatedly mistakes were also comfortable.

Great work!

reheated says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:21am

Beautiful art and sound.

(I had to rename the file to "kodama.zip" to open it in Windows)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:45am

Both the audio and visual aspects were fantastic. Absolutely superb job all around crafting the whole atmosphere for the game. Everything works together well and compliments each piece. Your team did an excellent job fitting everything together cohesively into one little package.

I can't find a lot of faults with the game. I suppose the interactivity was a little weak, but I did enjoy the concept of echoing voices... and it all wraps up into a sort of beautiful experience by the end when you feel like you're communicating with the partner that joins you on-screen. And in retrospect, it felt compact and simple out of design decisions rather than because things didn't get in on time. All considering it feels complete, and is one of the few Ludum Dare games that I've run into this time around that has that well rounded feel to it.

I do think there was a bug where the letters for one sound actually got stuck on-screen... gah, I wish I took a screenshot to show. But all considering it wasn't actually that intrusive to the experience.

I'm not quite sure why you call it "insane art" in the description. I thought it had a beautifully drawn look, both the handrawn background and the character and other effects.

Very nice job all around, pat yourselves on the back for this one! And please play and rate other games so you receive more feedback for this! This game really deserves more attention than it has gotten so far. Also consider posting something about the game on the Ludum Dare main page so that this doesn't fly under the radar.

geekdrums says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:19am

>>CriticalMammal

Thank you for your lovely comment!

I don't know why I called this as an "insane art", I think it because we didn't know what this game is like until the last minutes, and the result went beyond our imagination.

We are now playing the other games a lot! and will post some blog.

Boberro says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice art style and great idea. I'd "only" like to see more musical gameplay, something bit-trip like, because right now it feels like a tutorial.

goerp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Lovely experience!
The artwork is great, the colours make everything come to life and the music fits (except maybe the end music, which sounds a bit dramatic to me)

I like the difference in the end level. It feels right.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

I LOVE it, so beautiful.
A very different experience, top ART.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:26pm

I was really entertained while playing this. The way audio and visuals are presented, the zooming, the shaky background and sound landscape fit very well together and create an awesome mood!

jplur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Ah wow, this one was beautiful, really powerful game!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:34pm

This game was fantastic, I absolutely loved everything about it. I just wish I could play the last level a little more, the harmony between the two creatures sounded fantastic. This game really brought a smile to my face :D

nihilaleph says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:41am

Such a beautiful game! Loved the art, sound and concept!! Congratz!

Park says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:59am

Hey, this is really good.. I think it's the only game that provides an emotional response besides humor so far. You made a beautiful game. I hope more people can play it.



I also needed to add .zip to the Mac download, maybe you could add that to the source file for future players?

23 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:52am

Nice work! I enjoyed this - the transforming scenery was cool, and I appreciated the forgiving difficulty. Since you could use sounds outside the ones on screen it'd be interesting if remembering the keys for old sounds was part of the game.

I really liked the runes, too, though the one for key 2 looks a lot like the Tumblr logo :P

Dixbit says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Fantastic experience, I wish I could give you more than 5 stars for audio :)

tmpxyz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:27pm

nice mood, not quite a conventional game.

May 5, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
Very-very unique lil' sound-based puzzle game. I'm really fond of it. The music fit well, imagery was trippy, and interesting. Shortness is present, but not really an issue, since we had little time to make something. I loved it!

Keep on making stuff, I really like to see more games from the team! :)

May 5, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very nice experience overall

randoman says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Indeed a amazing experience. Really loved the sound of the last echoes. Kept playing them for a while after the game finished :)

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:50am

You always make the best audio-visual games in LD. =)

I'm not sure how "An Unconventional Weapon" works in this, but it was a really beautiful experience!

rojo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:32pm

The game had a really nice, coherent aesthetic between the audio and graphics. It was fun to match up the echos as well as to goof around at the end. I also enjoyed the changes in the backdrop as things progressed. My main criticism is that I'm not seeing a strong connection to the theme. Still, great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]