Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Liquid Cryogenics

by gamedevBear - Compo Entry

Hordes of hideous experiments have escaped from the lab. Trapped with access to nothing but a high-powered hose connected to a vat of liquid cryogenic fluid, keep the monsters at bay!

Controls:
The entire game is played with the left mouse button: click and hold to charge, then release.

Your projectiles will freeze enemies on contact, but will eventually break out of their icy prison. You'll need to drop a frozen flying monster onto another monster to permanently take care of them.

Pro tip: Don't freeze a flying enemy directly above you!
Pro tip 2: You can chain longer combos by shooting really high

Note that the OS/X and Linux ports are untested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#188Innovation3.69
#282Fun3.38
#547Audio2.71
#629Overall3.09
#763Theme3.09
#1036Graphics2.07

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

Wow, that is about the most unique control scheme I've ever seen for a game like this. Really challenging to line up, and the fact that you need to hit the flying enemies so they land on the ground enemies adds to the challenge. Solid entry and with some work could probably make for a pretty good full fledged game.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

I like a lot the controls, it feels very nice! the idea of the ships falling on the ground enemies is also good. I think the game is quite enjoyable!

Keep up the good work! :D

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

While it's not the most polished game, the core mechanics are fun. I like how you can fire towards the ground to slow enemies down further. I feel like it would be more fun if there was more variation.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Wow, control scheme was really unique and much more fun than I anticipated. Nice job!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

Cool idea. It's a little slow, and took some time to figure out how to aim properly, but a cool idea and I had fun.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17am

Really interesting mechanic, really unique.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Very neat controls and gameplay - really enjoyed solving the "puzzle" that the ground enemies present - the way you can control their positioning to set up big combos is so satisfying. This is an excellent game and with a bit of visual spit and polish would be a great project to take forward post-LD

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59am

Quite an interesting mechanic, but a bit slow. With little more content and graphical polish could make a nice little game! Have to admit I played ir for longer than intended :D

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

You have the elements of a good game here. The tension is real when the orange rectangles get closer and closer. It looks weird to see the purple arc under ground while the charge is very low. It would help to have the controls on a help screen within the game, and to have a pause before immediately resetting the game for another round, I never got a chance to read my score before it was reset to 0. The graphics could use some work, and the GUI font could be upgraded beyond the basic Ariel included in Unity.

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34am

I dig this control scheme, and dropping flying enemies for combos is a cool mechanic. With some art and a bit of polish this could turn into something really neat :)

handkor says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:35am

Nice gameplay, really fun mechanic. Good job

d3garcia says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:39am

Nice idea, but takes too long to fire for my taste

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Getting the wave control aimed is challenging and I like the game's premise. When the screen starts to crowd full of enemies it feels like patience and targeting is the game's most important mechanic.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:56am

Reminds me of missile command. Simple yet difficult. Nice game.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Really interesting controls! I wished it filled up faster more like a quick-shot power meter just so it wasn't quite so frustrating.

After awhile I realized the flying guys can't hurt you and just focused on the ground guys -- feel like I could play forever difficulty-wise. Does it get harder?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]