Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Peon Pusher

by koujaku - Compo Entry

A game about herding sheep! Chase the sheep around and blow them into smithereens! Or just... scare them off a cliff.

Peon Pusher does have a VR build for those of you with a Google Cardboard! I may upload Oculus or something later, if I can get it working =D But don't worry, PC version is just as fun!

Controls - Web, PC
Right mouse - move the view.
Left mouse - direct your peon!

Controls - Google Cardboard
Use your head as a pointer!
And, click the washer-thing-doo to appeal to your minion~

Software used:
Unity 5
Photoshop
Blender
Audacity
Bfxr
NanoLoop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#137Humor3.64
#206Graphics3.70
#232Fun3.48
#286Mood3.26
#314Audio3.14
#336Innovation3.42
#411Overall3.32
#675Theme3.19

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38am

Love the artstyle :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54am

Excellent job. Very polished. A couple of things: I was really confused at first, and I wasn't sure what to do even after reading the directions, but after figuring it out it was a lot of fun. My only other gripe is the the camera is really not great. I think a camera following the little red dude would have been better. Great job though! Graphics were killer!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Couldn't really figure out the controls. The LMB didnt seem to do anything sometimes and using RMB to change the view was kind of stiff. Still, I love the art style. Super cute!

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Nice artstyle, very humorous and fun game to play. My only complaint is that the sheep sound got a little annoying after a while. Other than that, great game!

Boodog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Nice! I like the graphics and your sounds :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

Wow, what did I just play!
Haha weird idea, but it works!
Had a lot of fun even if I'm not quite sure what I was doing, haha.
Also didn't get you had to look around first. Cool idea having the menu up there, but maybe not the best in practice.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48am

The directions arent very clear. But once you learn it it gets really fun. Great simplistic artstyle. There is room for improvement though. Im not sure why you have to use teh Right-Mouse to look around, but once you know that you have to do that its fine. Good game :) Really enjoyed it

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15am

Pretty fun game! Good job.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

props on the VR inclusion, wish I had a cardboard to try it

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Love the artstyle, and the way UI is implemented inside the geam. Neat gameplay, the sounds get boring though :) Great job!

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Hahahahaha this game omg i laughed so much playing this :D

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:30pm

One of the best i ve played so far.At last a really funny aproach!5 stars incoming ;)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:31am

Having the menu be physically there was a nice touch, though it was kinda annoying how all of the levels started with you looking at the menu. Pretty neat game though. Good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:56am

If you alt-tab out, very bad things seem to happen :-( :-( it would be nice if windowed mode were default.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:17am

It was okay. Needs a lot of polish.

jk5000 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Hilarious sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]