Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crayon Poke

by Raiyumi - Jam Entry

Collect skulls and use the power of "crayon" to venture your way up toward new beginnings!

Objective:
Find your way to the very top!
Exploration platformer.

Controls:
Arrows - Move
S - Jump
D - Throw


Programming and art by: Raiyumi
Sound and Music by: potato-tan


Note: Updated file with social links!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#11Audio(Jam)4.30
#11Graphics(Jam)4.70
#15Overall(Jam)4.22
#20Mood(Jam)4.20
#26Fun(Jam)4.03
#266Innovation(Jam)3.48
#342Theme(Jam)3.61
#350Humor(Jam)3.20

Comments

Lucho9 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53am

awesome dude! the animation is very soft and i love it. The way you can use the weapon is clever. There were times very challenge but you can get through easily. It was short but a nice experience!
(i noticed some kind of reverse cliff there haha)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:42am

great one

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57am

Wow. Amazing. Everything is absolutely top notch. Would rate 10/5 if I could.

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Awesome graphics, fun gameplay and great music!

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38am

I'm playing and rating and this is the first game that I think deserves 5 stars (also, easily). Congrats, your work is awesome!

team_towel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07am

Amazing work due. The crayons are a bit late for my taste, but I believe that makes the overall experience much better. Congrats!

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50am

Amazingly polished for an LD game. I never understand how people manage to do something like this in so little time. What did you use to make it? Did you have an editor?

Great music and sound effects. Great graphics.

Puzzle design is neat, but when climbing up to and interacting with the pig to get to the door in order to get the double jump, well... I have enormous patience (I'm a programmer, after all), so I pushed through it for the 40 or so tries it took, but most of my friends would definitely have given up at that point. It was a down in the design. Overall it was really good, tho.

Eventually I got stuck, tho. I absolutely couldn't figure out what to do. But I got pretty far and I liked it!

As always, I love seeing games without combat, and it's especially admirable with a theme like this. I got pretty worried about the pig when I first got the crayons, but I was soon happily surprised and kept playing with joy.

The only thing I really can't see is how to stretch any of this to any definition of 'weapon'. Neither the crayons nor the pig. So I'm not sure about that, but disregarding that, it's a great game and an absolutely jaw-dropping one given the time constraints. Can't stress enough how polished this is for a jam game.

Good job!

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Your game is really wonderful, and the frustration tremendous!

klbrazil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

nothing to say. 5/5

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Awesome pixel art, Audio and game mechanics. I really like the level design and the difficulty. Amazing game overall :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Probably the best game I've seen so far actually!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

It's so good!

Top notch animation, idea, execution, sound, everything. Has a very Mario 3 feel about it with some of the backgrounds but that's not a bad thing at all.

Gorgeous, challenging. The many things don't entirely make sense (collect skulls?? why crayons?), but it's too cute and pretty to mark it down for that.

It lags a fair bit from time to time and I have no idea why. Dunno if it's me or you.

So good!

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Love the pixel work.
Music sets the tones wuite nicly.
Pace is good and puzzles not too difficult.
Somtimes it wasn't clear where I was supposed to go but just randomly wondering seemed to work well :)
All in all a good game.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Awesome game! loved it!
gorgeous art, great music, fun gameplay; just great overall
the music also reminds me of Chrono Trigger a lot

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

@Avant-Marde
Thanks! I used Stencyl and GraphicsGale to make it.

We did have a weapon idea of throwing food(ramen) at enemies to make them grow bigger, but we couldn't flesh out the idea enough during the jam. So, in a last day stretch I gutted the idea and switched it out with throwable crayons. (Fun fact: Residue from the prev. mechanic. Throw crayons at the pig enough times and they'll eat it, bloat, and die.) :)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I really loved the graphics, 5 stars! Awesome music and awesome game overall! Well done! I supported the game by the way :D

mantisda says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

The music and sound effects are stellar. The animations, enemy collisions, and environment collisions are so smooth. Fantastic job for such a short time frame.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:00am

Wow! This is so good! The graphics are lovable, the music is cute, and the gameplay is difficult, but fun. :) Very polished for a three-day entry!

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33am

Everything is so perfect and I like it very much!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:35am

Holy moly this is impressive. Love the fluid animation, the kirby-esque music, the main crayon mechanic -- everything. Super cool and inspiring. Great job!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:17am

absolutely love the art style, the checkpoint system kinda hard tho, the everything is reset and all, and when we're making a lot progress and suddenly died by touching pig butt lol (frustrating and hilarious at the same time). overall it's a good execution~! well done!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:39am

Good looking game. Felt pretty polished which is important. Thematically it all fit together well. I played until the end, (little bug: if you jump as you cross the ending your player runs in air)

Overall I enjoyed it a lot, good work.

SarahFrisk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Very well done, I love it!

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Man, you did it again. Best of the LD I've played so far! Have to say, thanks for your amazing work, your Valley Rule entry a couple of LDs ago inspired us to make our own Metroidvania/platformer this time - hope you get a chance to try it out! :)

Again, well done and please continue to create more amazing games for me to study!

MonoS says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

WOW if this game looks and sounds good :D!

Loved every piece of this really polished game, doesn't look like a 72h game.

My compliments to both the authors :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very very awesome game! Incredible polish. Very charming graphics and audio. It got way too difficult for me though. 5 stars!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Nice entry for the LD32. Graphics style is very polished and music is really enjoyable. I have just one criticism - it's maybe too slow and it seems to me that there is a tiny delay when the player jumps. I need to anticipate some movements. Neat. One of my favorites. Thank you ++

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:56am

Cool idea, got kind a lost after i found the crayon.

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:53am

This artwork is really fantastic! It looks incredible, especially for a LD entry. I also like using the crayons to climb walls (reminds me of Quack Shot). A couple of things: 1) The gameplay and movement could be a little faster because it feels like you move too slowly and 2) maybe this is just me, but the music seems off key and I didn't care for it too much. Still, very awesome work overall!

Managore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:24am

Absolutely gorgeous! Fun puzzles, great creatures, and lots of attention to detail, I really liked it!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:33am

Amazingly polished, only complaint being that the difficulty curve is quite steep :)

TheCams says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Really nice graphics and good music, nice job!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Decent game. Good level design. Like your art style and flair for animation.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:37am

Felt like a complete game, great graphics and the music works really well. Liked everything about this entry and impressed how much you got in, in the short time.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Great work with art, animations, audio and gameplay! The level design is also balanced enough to provide a challenge while still being a pleasant experience.

The soundtrack is really a nice one and the sound fx blend so well into it that its great for the ears.

Great teamwork here, really! :) Plan on turning this one into a full game? If so, that would be awesome! :D

Carduus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:57pm

You did an incredible work with stencyl.
I hoped pencils come sooner in the game:)
Nonetheless, its a very nice game.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:59pm

This game is awesome, the exploration nature of it takes it to the next level, I really like the way you can go back and forth between areas so fluidly and the crayon mechanic is implemented perfectly.

Some explanation when you're first introduced to the crayon may have been useful.

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:28am

Neat game. Are you planning on posting a PC port?

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:33am

A beautiful visual aesthetic, a really striking soundtrack, and a cool central mechanic. I had a smile on my face the whole time playing through this. I wish the main character moved a little bit faster, but it was still a pleasure to play this. Great work!

Mase says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:34am

I was about to give up and then I accidentally figured out that the crayons can form bridges.
The background elements which spin with the walk buttons are interesting.
Sprites look polished but expressive.
Good work.

Minor Bug: The game doesn't fully reset if the page is reloaded and a new game is started. The door to the first skull (crayons) remains open for example. I only noticed because after playing I read the comments and wanted to make a pig explode with crayons.
Maybe the pig should fall asleep instead... I felt sad when it disappeared.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:12am

amazing graphics. the gameplay got a little tedious after awhile. the whole feel of the game is great though. its really satisfying to see the pigs squish when you jump on them!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:48am

I got stuck after getting the double jump without having an idea about where to go next. Still, this is an excellently crafted game, the music/audio in particular has a very unique feel to it.

rubna says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:04am

amazong

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Amazing! Very polished, very enjoyable. I did not reached the end, however, I'm stuck in a place with a pig and two buttons, and the "D" button does nothing (I have 0 "crayon" yet, I think?). And it seems to have saved my ip, so I can't try again from the beginning.

rxi says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Absolutely wonderful.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:57am

Amazing art and music. Everything fits well and is very polished and smooth. It really feels complete. I also liked the slower-paced feel of this. I was stuck forever on the switches before the first skull, but finally passed it. Very good job!

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:21am

This was a lot of fun! Good job! Finishing the game was a fair challenge.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice done! Really liked your entry!
It's pretty simple at first look but your puzzle is clever as a whole level design! Thanks for this aesthetics kawai game =)

ghenoroc says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:36am

Very well done. I had fun all the way through.

Photon says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:21am

I like how you did a lot with a little (crayons and double jump.) Very nicely polished and great platforming as usual, though the music albeit very good did get a touch repetitive for me. There were a couple parts I actually had to think about!

renatopp says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:35pm

My only tip to this kind of "create your platform" game, please make the platforms more easy to jump above, sometimes you create a crayon some pixel above where you had to (the char's feet pass over the crayon) but the char doesn't go to to platform. In any way, this is a great game, solid art style a awesome sounds (I really really like the sound style). Congratulations!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Maybe I'm missing something about my abilities, but I am stuck between two large pits. I feel compelled to see the ending, though. I also want to know the story behind the character, pigs and crayons. Really love how you convey the heaviness of the pigs and how backtracking with new abilities changes the level like true metroidvania.

VDZ says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:10am

Completely amazing. If this game doesn't reach #1 I question the community's tastes. I have no criticism to offer here because everything was just perfect.

Is the music available for download anywhere?

Raiyumi says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:18am

Hey everyone, thanks! I'm working on a free mobile version of this game for android!

@VDZ - I'm not sure, you could try asking potato or check soundcloud. (https://soundcloud.com/potato-tan)

panurge says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Lovely game with a perfectly pitched difficulty curve, beautiful visuals and smooth controls. I really enjoyed playing this.

Namide says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Great game!
I like gameplay, sounds and graphic design!

drludos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Woaw, very impressive entry. I'm amazed to see such a polished game created in such a short time - it looks like a commercial GBA game! :)

My only complaint would be in the way-too-furstating level design and overall difficulty: it's nice that the game offers a nice challenge, but some trap feel a bit unfair (like that pig that must crushes blocks, then that you also have to avoid to climb up to to the roof everytime of fall, and if he hit you, you'll restart the whole thing. Same goes when you have to throw a lot of crayon to jump over the pikes), but it's still amazing that you designed so many different obstacles in such a short time frame. Did you even catch some sleep during the 72h event? :)

Embalaje says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:38am

Really nice game! you took care of every single detail, particles, animation, controls...and a very beautiful music.

geekdrums says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:40am

Great game as always! I loved mechanics, nostargic music and cute animations.

Donni11 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Awesome , I love the music ! A real indie game !!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]