Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Just another sketch on the wall

by TeamFlare - Jam Entry

After a long weekend and at least one birthday party -
Team Flare presents : Just Another Sketch on the Wall

A jump'n'tag puzzle game.


HOW TO PLAY :

In a 2D world, our drawn Hero needs to reach out for every weapon he can find in order to defeat the monsterous creations, lurcking around every corner.



Use the right weapon to get through the game. Not everything is usefull against something.

-Left/Right to walk
-Touch drawings to use them as your weapon
-Spacebar to shoot

TeamFlare:
Renan, Rebekka, Peer and Fred

Happy tagging! :)

Edit : Fixed a nasty webplayer bug. Will work in browser now - except Chrome if don't use the work around.
Edit : Fixed a collider bug that made it nearly impossible to finish the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#5Innovation(Jam)4.36
#13Graphics(Jam)4.68
#52Mood(Jam)4.00
#57Overall(Jam)3.95
#179Theme(Jam)3.82
#292Humor(Jam)3.32
#385Fun(Jam)3.23
#467Audio(Jam)2.88

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

Aww, this looks super cool, but it keeps getting stuck right after the opening montage. I'm looking at half a brick wall. By laptop's fan is going wild, but nothing's happening -- and the arrows do nothing. :(

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07am

Very sorry, it's a bug with the webplayer we just realized now. Please try the other builds instead :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12am

Very diferrent concept, good entry.

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05am

Couldn't get past the tear... I'll give this another try, tomorrow. :)

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06am

I really liked what I've seen so far! It is a great idea!

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

That was awesome - some of the puzzles were a little difficult (I didn't know you could interact with drawings you couldn't grab, and had to look at the screenshots for clues), but the interactions were very clever overall. I felt very accomplished when I beat it!

I really loved the aesthetics; you did a fantastic job with the visuals.

Thor7791 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09am

Super cool. I loved this!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I can only dream about, making a game that is so beautiful. Great job.

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Amazing graphics. Puzzle is a bit to hard sometimes, but the graphics. wow. I really like it.

Could you explain how you did that in Unity? I mean the projection of sprites on the 3D wall?

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Epic art style! I really loved it!

local minimum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I got around a corner with a recycle thing arrow pointing back and a monster I couldn't pass. And I so so dearly didn't want to get stuck. Really interesting feeling and style for a platform game. You should seriously consider extending on this and making it ramp up the difficulty a little kinder so people like me can get further. It wasn't always super-clear what was an obstacle and what was not and since space is kind of a default jump button compared to up it did hinder a bit. I would rather have liked X and C for jump and shoot. The mechanics for throw/shooting was really nice though! Brilliant to have hit, if not hit the catch and if not catch get back to where you started. I think this might be the best game I've played or if not the best then certainly top 3! Get working on a full version. Now! Please

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

It sounds like she says "faen" when jumping :o
Very pretty and overall amazing look and feel of the game!

Headmade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46pm

The idea is super cool and incredibly well implemented. The visuals are stunning!
But I somehow got stuck. The smiley was the only object left and there was this monster in the way. I couldn't interact with the brush and the mirror got lost in a previous section. Don't know if I overlooked something or if it was a bug.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:13am

there is a tag just on the wall wall before the final monster which you have overlooked :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Wonderfull!!! I loved!

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

I love the style so much!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Very beautiful entry !
I tried the Window version, and got stuck after the man into the bath because the character refused to catch any objects despite its hand were empty. (I had the smiley face just before, but did not figure what to do with it)

ztiromoritz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I love the graphical style.

jplur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:36pm

I think you've inspired a bunch of us to start using 3D scanning now :)

Really solid game, quite hard in a fun way! High marks!

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:42pm

holy crap! that was incredible. awesome awesome job!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Really cute presentation and theme usage. Nice work!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Beautiful game! Simply stunning. Hard to believe how great is looks given the time constraint.

someone says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very cool idea.
Unfortunately I also got stuck at that purple monster next to the magnifying glass. I'm sure I tried shooting everything I could grab at everything else but I must have missed something.

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:37am

This is the best looking non-AAA unity game I've ever seen!

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:28am

Very original game !! Rare to see innovative games with Unity. The Mac version doesn't work.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:04pm

really interesting approach to 2D! very nice work

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I really loved the aesthetics - you did a fantastic job with the visuals, but the controls and physics seem to me a little bit awkward sometimes. I can't figure out how I can progress in the level. It's beautiful, very impressive by the visual, but after it - you need to find another gameplay. At end, I am frustrated. A good entry ++

Perjoka says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Great concept, really enjoyed playing it :)

SamH says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:28pm

A very refreshing concept with nice graphics. My major complaints would be 1) the player getting blocked by some slopes that don’t look that steep, and 2) the camera that isn’t very smoothly moving and can be frustrating at times, especially when an interaction is happening and I can’t even see it because of the camera position. But really, that’d be just some polishing to do and doesn’t mean the general feeling isn’t great.

lamogui says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:58am

Amazing wall effect !

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:17pm

There are 2 kinds of games I give medium grades to: medium games that are what they are and great games that don't quite come together. You definitely fall in the latter category.

I really wish I could score you higher, because it's clear what you were trying to achieve was really ambitious and fresh, but it just wasn't all up and running.

I have a lot more hope from you than a dev team I might score similiarly because you are clearly smart enough and clever enough to try new things, I just wish that the end result for me was more playable (I couldn't get past the arrow as a weapon).

Really great work guys, if it came together or your next project comes together you could be winners of LudumDare, your ambition and talent are there, you just need to work on the end polish.

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Awesome! I just wanna know how to make graphics like it. I will play with your source for some time. And there was some glitches. Like player dont pick things up some times for no reason.

Mantlair says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:45pm

And i noticed that your source wasn't there B(

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:01am

We're preparing a making of, about how we did the scanning and the projections :)
Sadly we cannot provide the source, since we're using some third party plugins, especially for post fx ( amplify color and some other shader for the bloom and dof effect )

diiq says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Hey, it works now! I'm not sure I totally understand the logic of all the combinations of objects, but it's a cool idea and it's very easy on the eye-balls.

The camera path was sometimes frustrating -- it sometimes seemed more concerned with showing off the beauty of the rendering than giving me the clearest view of the problems.

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]