Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Hugger

by jormungandr - Compo Entry

Ohh no! A rampaging monster is loose! It's up to you to calm it down with the only weapons you have, your arms! Hug the monster until it calms down, and dodge its vicious attacks.

Made in c#/monogame. If it doesn't run, you can try installing monogame:
http://www.monogame.net/2015/03/16/monogame-3-3-2/
But hopefully you won't need to do that

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#59Theme4.11
#84Humor3.78
#141Mood3.56
#194Graphics3.72
#327Fun3.33
#368Overall3.37
#395Innovation3.33
#506Audio2.78

Comments

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:23am

Love the "deviljho", despite trying a few times and landing a ton of hugs he didn't fall down, oh well.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:46am

Very cute game, very hard though. I got it on my fifth or sixth try (I just got into a pattern of landing 2 or so hearts then run up until after the attack was performed. Took a long time.

Additionally, found an entertaining bug. If you were holding shift when you lost and kept holding shift, hugs will register on the monster when it walks over you. You can eventually get "Monster Calmed" even though you lost.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51am

Ah ah, the sfx made with the mouth :p.
Take love TRex ! :3

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:06pm

All monsters fall to hugs in the end...

It's a very cute and simple game! The spinning attack was very hard to dodge; I suppose that comes with practice. I like the rolling/movement - it's very fluid.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very hard. I failed many times and I am not even sure that I was trying the right way.
But cute monster and really nice animation !

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Really fun, though I cannot calm the monster =/. I would agree that the bite is very hard to evade. Good work!

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Insane job! Great animations and so intuitive! The controlls could be better placed but is awsome anyway.
6 stars for animation!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Very cute graphics, animations are lovely, and the concept is really funny :)

It is very very hard. I've tried for more than 5 minutes now, dying maybe 6 times, but I was never able to calm the beast down. Still, gameplay is very fun and I really like it.

Only complaint I have is that when the monster turns it is very hard to predict so I end up getting hit. Also, a two hand configuration would feel easier to play with.

Zo0MER says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Very goos idea with cuddling monsters, i love it. But it's very hard.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Takes a lot of hugs to take down the monster but I guess thats a given if its influenced by Monster Hunter haha. Love the monster and the dodge!

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Cute. Great animation. I should have used the mouse for one action. To huge, for example. But great little game !

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Simple, but very funny and interesting! And graphics is good.

By the way, I fixed my game, now it should run for you. Thanks for commenting.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I just ran away from the monster. Feel like an evil person :'(

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:07pm

The only thing I can think of to add is some thing to actually show you are making progress(if you actually can make progress I have not looked through the source code yet). If you can't make progress I don't know what to Impove, perhaps some music and some better and some more sound effects.

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Like others I also had some problems with the bite at first, but after switching to right shift and a two hand setup it went pretty smoothly. The tells were good, but because of my somewhat bad reaction speed I rolled away even before them just to be sure I didn't get hit by that bite.

Great animations and sfx, some kind of a background track would've been nice (maybe some ambient made by slowing down a sentence by 800% or something :P).

I think it was a good choice to focus on polishing what you had, but of course more monsters wouldn't have hurt. Good job!

Pietdagamer says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Quite hard, in my opinion, but it's a nice concept and the game looks great.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]