Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Command Line Hacker

by bitowl - Compo Entry

Some evil government has started a cyber war.
You broke your mouse yesterday, so you have to use your keyboard.
MorpheusCat, appearently a leader of rebellion forces, contacted you to help him and the others in this cyber war.

You will learn some basics about the linux command line which may be useful.
The game kind of supports saving with the command save, but if you looked at too many computers it will be terribly slow loading the next time. To reset your progress, type reset.

bug fixes:
21.04: game now runs in chrome
21.04: fix backspace and autoscrolling in chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Innovation3.94
#181Mood3.47
#372Theme3.56
#542Fun3.06
#590Overall3.13
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50pm

It's kind of hard to play because when i hit backspace it takes to the last page in my history :(

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Interesting idea. The backspace does not work, and the text does not auto-scroll, making far a frustrating experience.

Also, for someone having experience with actual command-line tools the handholding is annoying.. although I'm sure less experienced people would appreciate it!

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I like the concept of using hacking in a war, and I felt that this game matched the theme quite well. The controls feel a bit clumsy though, backspace coudln't let me delete and when new text is entered, the window doesn't auto-scroll to the bottom. They're two minor issues though, the overall game is quite enjoyable though. :)

Fenaer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55pm

You can't delete what you've typed, making mistakes very tedious to undo.
No Instructions, so hard to know what to do.

bitowl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Thanks for your feedback!
I didn't have motivation to test it in other browsers than firefox.

But backspace and autoscrolling should now work in chrome as well.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:00am

I have seen this concept too many times, but it's great. You must integrate other commands like "help" so as to retrieve all tips. In other case, it's not really easy to play. I liked. Thank you ++

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:41am

Good entry and happy to see tab completion!

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:27am

Nice job. could use a help command,

SoftCoconuts says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:29am

Very nice game! I felt very naughty changing that bank account pin... Hehehe! Very cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]