Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Big Freakin' Ball O' Hurt

by LMT - Jam Entry

I didn't have the weekend I wanted for the Ludum Dare. Instead I only had 3 hours on Monday evening. This is what I came up with - nothing innovating - arrows to move.

I had time to implement few of the things i wanted - but I find it reasonably fun and hopefully it won't do too badly (no way I will beat my premier 25th from last LD)

You really don't want to be touching those spinning blue things - perhaps use the spiked ball you control.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Fun(Jam)3.43
#300Innovation(Jam)3.41
#546Overall(Jam)3.18
#610Graphics(Jam)3.10
#728Theme(Jam)3.05
#811Mood(Jam)2.62
#836Humor(Jam)2.17
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

diiq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

I love this idea. Challenging, but in the same way as a yo-yo or poi -- it's the kind of timing game that forces you into a flow. Super simple, but great work.

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This is cool! This is very similar to the effect I tried to achieve in my game. I'd be interested to see what yours plays like with mouse controls :)

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

really nice litte game (:

vandriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

i'd also suggest mouse controls - as well as trying it on a touchscreen. some audio feedback would go a long way to making it more enjoyable as well.

at some point does the screen just get instantly filled with blue blocks? i always mess up my flow when they spawn in my spot

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Nice little game, I really enjoy small focused gameplay like this

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

An awesome entry for only three hours! It's a shame you didn't have more time than that. The graphics are really cute, and the gameplay feels well polished. I love how the ball's momentum pulls you along when you swing it around.

On a side note, it would be awesome if you could implement a Newgrounds leaderboard! :)

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:35pm

I think mouse controls would suit this a lot better, but overall nice job! :)

torcado194 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

pretty neat! swinging a big weapon like this is pretty fun. though a few things: there should be more feedback when you kill and enemy, and there should be more reason to kill them. right now theres no reward for killing them, and all it really helps for is keeping the screen clear. another thing is you can just sit in the ball and never get hurt (unless one spawns inside you and kills you before it detects the ball)
pretty fun though

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12am

fun and addicting simple game! it works really well :3

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Very enjoyable to play, and music and graphics blend together well. I missed having some kind of squashing sound-effect when killing of the blue squares. Impressive to finish this in one evening!

Shimone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Really fun and challenging game!

Travis Root ! says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:27am

This is good! Those rope physics are FANTASTIC.

It could be better if the contacts (hitting enemies, getting hit) weren't just dissolves; they need to be sharp and punchy. Sound would help. Also, the hatboxes are a little oversized.

All in all, though, pretty darn fun!

May 7, 2015 @ 9:33pm

You undersell yourself in the description, this is an awesome prototype! Even though it's a weird, challenging concept, it's immediately intuitive because it's physics based. I played your game for entirely too long - started thinking of lots of ways it could be used in a bigger game.

Jajo says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:17am

I enjoyed it. As you said, nothing new, but it fitted the theme well. The simple graphics certainly added to the effect. Good game for just 3 hours.

creative630 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:22am

Pretty fun! Simple and challenging. I think the only thing that bothers me is not knowing when the enemies become threatening(damaging).

leffe108 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:56am

It is fun but quite challenging, but not in a way it becomes a problem.

On my previous LD I was also short in time and it drives you to really focus on making things simple as there is no way spending hours on tracing down bugs. I think for using only 3 hours, you managed very well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]